We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District

Save
Share
1835 W Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60612-3771
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$257
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Booking.com
$257
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hyatt.com
$226
View deal
Hotels.com$257
Travelocity$257
Priceline$257
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 21/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#150 of 217 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Experience urbane comfort in the Chicago Medical District with spacious standard, studio, and suite guestrooms at the Hyatt Place Hyatt House Chicago - Medical/University District. A short distance from upscale urban neighborhood, West Loop, provides guests with shopping and renowned cuisine on Restaurant Row. Catch a Blackhawks game or concert at the United Center or one of the many entertainment venues in the area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Street parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
67Somewhat walkable
Grade: 67 out of 100
66Restaurantswithin 1 km
8Attractionswithin 1 km
86Reviews0Q+A0Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 51
  • 13
  • 8
  • 3
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Miranda S wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
The hallways are very loud. You’ll hear it in your room. Otherwise it was very clean and the staff were kind. Wish there was a continental breakfast and better parking. You do get a complimentary drink from the bar.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A K, General Manager at Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District
Responded 4 days ago
Thanks for the review, Miranda S! We are glad you had a great experience with us! We are disappointed to see some of your concerns, and we will let our team know about them. We always work very hard to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant stay. We look forward to hosting you again for an even better experience. Thanks again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mlchic wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
The only reason to visit this hotel is to catch a show at the United Center! The staff is very unfriendly and are not interested in making you feel welcomed. God forbid if you have to visit the food court! I had to wake a restaurant worker from a hard sleep to try and order food. When I went to the front desk I was told that there are restaurant s a block away and that was not correct.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A K, General Manager at Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District
Responded 4 days ago
We appreciate the feedback, Mlchic. While we are glad you appreciated our convenient location, we're disappointed that your time with us was less than ideal. Your experience is not on par with the level of service we're accustomed to providing. We regret that we didn't meet your expectations. Your happiness and satisfaction are important to us so we'll be addressing your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope you give us another opportunity to demonstrate the high-caliber service we're capable of sharing with our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
drewwilliams78 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I have been a member of hyatt hotels for years now and I understand you get some bad with the good experiences but the customer service during my last stay pushed me over the edge. Very disappointing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A K, General Manager at Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District
Responded 4 weeks ago
We appreciate the feedback and your continuous patronage, drewwilliams78. It's unfortunate your stay in our hotel was less than ideal. We're disappointed you had such challenges with our team and that we couldn't assist you in every way. Your experience is not on par with the high-caliber service we're capable of providing so we'll be sure to discuss your review and feedback moving forward. Thank you again for the valuable feedback. We do hope to see you again soon so we can share a more positive experience with you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sillyg wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
I loved this place! It's an old turn of the century building that was converted into a Hyatt hotel. I was somewhat confused because it seemed like there were two hotels within the hotel, which is kind of true. One side has kitchenettes and the other side is more of a standard hotel room. I was in the kitchen side and had a microwave, mini fridge, cooktop, cooking and eating tools, coffee pot, sink, dishwasher, living room area, bedroom area, bathroom. The television rotates between the lounge area and the bed so you can watch TV from whichever side you prefer. The ceilings are also crazy high and the hallways are incredibly wide, so if anyone happens to suffer from claustrophobia or is very big, this is the place for you. The location is incredibly convenient because it's right next to the Blue Line stop, and it's only a few minutes walk from Little Italy, so I never had to take a Lyft and it was easy to get all over Chicago without a car. They also have a food court in the bottom of the hotel so there's a nice bar, and a few food options. You can also take away drinks, so if you prefer to drink in your room you can. Given the pandemic a few of the food stalls are empty, but I have no doubt those will fill up quickly. If you happen to be going to the hospital this is going to be your best bet by far. Also, the windows do open some, so there is some fresh air flow possible. The hotel also feels secure because you need a key card to get to any floor.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A K, General Manager at Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave this wonderful review, Sillyg! We're thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay at Hyatt House Chicago – Medical University District so much! We strive for excellence so we're pleased to hear you appreciated not only our spacious, varied and plentiful accommodations, secure property and perfect location to main attractions within the city, but also our delicious food court and tasty drinks! Your feedback regarding our current food offerings is helpful and will be discussed with our management team moving forward. We can't wait to host you again for yet another unforgettable visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cindy H wrote a review Sep 2022
Rossville, Indiana2 contributions
Housekeeping walked in our room after knocking at 7:30 am! My husband was just getting out of the shower! Coffee pot didn’t work. Wi-Fi didn’t connect on the tv for us to watch a movie. The restaurants listed on the lobby level weren’t even there, and some not open. There isn’t any restaurant close by so an Uber is required if you don’t have a car. Billiards weren’t in use, this could’ve been mentioned on their web site. Bottom line, don’t waste your time at this Hyatt. There is a Marriott close by that looks very nice, I was there for doctor appointments. I will not be returning, and wasnt offered any compensation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A K, General Manager at Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback, cindyhU8887IZ. It's unfortunate to hear you weren't completely satisfied with your recent experience, as we strive to provide all of our guests with a wonderful experience from beginning to end. Please know your feedback regarding the condition and quality of our accommodations, as well as the availability of our amenities, will be addressed with the appropriate members of our team so we may improve for the future. We hope you'll give us another chance to provide you with the quality experience we're truly capable of sharing with our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lobatomo wrote a review Aug 2022
Grand Rapids, Michigan1 contribution
The room was nice but small. One staff member was sort of rude at check in. Parking wasn’t available after I reserved 2 months in advance and it took an hour and a half to find parking 30 minutes away.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A K, General Manager at Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District
Responded 4 weeks ago
We appreciate the feedback, lobatomo. It's unfortunate your time with us was anything less than ideal. We strive to offer quality service and convenience for all of our guests. We're happy you enjoyed the ambiance in your room despite the problems you had with our room size and parking availability. We regret the experience you had with one of our staff members and this issue will be addressed with our management team. We endeavor to offer the best experience possible and your feedback will help. Thank you. We do hope to see you again soon so we can share a more positive experience with you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
heatherg172022 wrote a review Aug 2022
Southwest Michigan, Michigan1 contribution
My daughter and I stayed at the hotel after an event at the United Center. The front desk staff were awesome, helpful, and courteous, and answered all my questions about the area, parking, etc. I would definitely stay there in the future. The room was clean and comfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A K, General Manager at Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing this wonderful review with us, Heather! We're thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable experience at Hyatt House Chicago – Medical University District! We also appreciate your kind words regarding our team. We're pleased to know that you felt valued by each member of our top-notch team. We strive to provide our guests with the warmest hospitality and most efficient service, so this is fabulous to hear! Your praise is not only rewarding, but also encouraging. We'd love to share yet another unforgettable visit with you someday!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
symishi wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
The room was very spacious and the location is close to downtown, but very quiet. The breakfasts were great, but I did find the room where you pick up food very small, which is not great for social distancing. There was a small grocery store in the lobby where you can buy food and common medicine with a relatively affordable pricing. The TV in my room is facing the living room. I wish it could turn around to face the bed room as well. The AC vent is blowing air to the headboard. Loved the little kitchen area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A K, General Manager at Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for the 4/5 review, symishi! It's excellent you enjoyed your time with us at Hyatt House Chicago – Medical University District! We're delighted you appreciated clean and comfortable accommodations as well as our hotel's proximity to downtown Chicago. We care deeply about the happiness and satisfaction of our guests so we'll address your concerns regarding our dining area with our management team moving forward. We strive for excellence so we look forward to sharing an even better experience with you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lmpaterson2022 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Nice staff and a large and modern room overlooking a park in a quiet neighborhood. I looked forward to returning there each night. What more can you ask for? My only very slight concern was that there seemed to be very few stores or restaurants nearby.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A K, General Manager at Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District
Responded 25 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your 4/5 review with us. We're thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable experience with us. We care about the comfort and satisfaction of our guests so we appreciate you letting us know what we can do to make your stay perfect. We're looking forward to sharing a more enjoyable experience with you soon. Thank you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynn34561 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
The historic hotel has been transferred into a beautiful modern hotel on the inside while keeping the historic facade on the outside. Food court was convenient and fast, with a bar. Breakfast was good and the coffee was excellent. Although in the Medical area, a close uber ride to most tourist areas.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from A K, General Manager at Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Thanks for the great review and rating, Lynn34561! We're happy that your overall stay at Hyatt House Chicago – Medical University District was enjoyable. It's great that you appreciated our refreshed facilities and amenities and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another wonderful visit! Thank you again for sharing your feedback!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$187 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoNear West Side / West Side / Illinois Medical District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
210
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District
Which popular attractions are close to Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District?
Nearby attractions include United Center (0.8 km), Hawkeye's Bar and Grill (0.9 km), and Epiphany Center For The Arts (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Rosebud, Sweet Maple Cafe, and Stax Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Garfield Park Conservatory (3.9 km), The Rookery Building (3.4 km), and Macy's on State Street (3.9 km).
Does Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Hyatt House Chicago - Medical / University District accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.