We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hostelling International Chicago

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostelling International Chicago
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

738 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostelling International Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Showing 467: English reviews
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Just stayed for 3 nights and I was dubious having never sGaye's Ina hostel. However I was very impressed and would definitely stay again! Friendly staff, clean, spacious rooms & bathrooms, and the building/rooms felt very secure. The price is the best deal downtown and includes a very generous breakfast. The best part is its centrally located, within walking distance...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy F
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback.

London
Reviewed 12 June 2015

During a 9-day visit to Chicago, I stayed in three hostels – IHSP, Hostelling International, and the Urban Holiday Lofts. The reason for staying in 3 different places was that the holiday was booked at the last minute and no single hostel had the full 9 days available. Hostelling International, or 'HI Chicago', was the second hostel I stayed in,...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank gummyphill
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback.

Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Reviewed 9 June 2015

I was there in October 2011 and i don't regret my stay. They offer a great service with a smile, clean bathroom, clean rooms and a good breakfast. It's centrally located and that's perfect. Not far from the millennium park.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Guidzi
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights over Independence Day and had a great stay. I was in a 8 bed female dorm, which was clean and comfortable. The rooms are much more spacious than most hostels which is an added bonus! My only issue was given the size of the hostel they had a very large group of school aged children...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katyhh21
Paul C, Owner at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback.

Reviewed 5 June 2015

The private room is very spacious for two people, I definitely recommend it, if you are looking a affordable private room. With the rates it's included breakfast, and I have to admit It's very good for a hostel. One thing that bothered everyone was the two or three groups of high-volume kids, using the quiet and common areas of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alejandro B
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback.

Reviewed 5 June 2015

The private room is very spacious for two people, I definitely recommend it, if you are looking a affordable private room. With the rates it's included breakfast, and I have to admit It's very good for a hostel. One thing that bothered everyone was the two or three groups of high-volume kids, using the quiet and common areas of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melisa C
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback.

Indiana
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Corrina T
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Reviewed 3 June 2015 via mobile

I've been there for 4 nights. Rooms are clean, breakfast is good and the hostel is close to everything you wanna visit: I never took the subway 'cause I went around on foot! Friendly and nice staff!! A good place to relax!!!! Enjoy the city!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tosaz
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

I am reviewing based on the communications done just yesterday with HI Chicago and I have decided to not even stay with them after receiving such rude response! I contacted them to check on pricing for non HI members as it was not stated on the website. After the second email, they responded so rudely saying "be specific now, how...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hwei36
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

My apologies for the communication error. Not all our staff speak english as their first language and therefore from time to time is misunderstood. We have retrained and did some reassignment of responsibilities to avoid such further misunderstand in communication. Thanks for your feedback.

Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed with my two friends for two nights in this hostel and we had an awesome time in chicago!! We took the blue line from the airport and had to walk just 5 min from the metro station to the hostel. We were so early before check-in, that we could leave our suitcases in a safety room without paying...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LauraGrwr
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback.

531 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (317)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (117)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (213)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Group Room - Eight Beds (28)
Viewed
Private Room (15)
Viewed
Private Room with Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Standard Room with Shared Bathroom (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#13 of 185 in Chicago
1,949 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 185 in Chicago
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#94 of 185 in Chicago
8,191 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown / The Loop

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown / The Loop
Often visitors' first stop in Chicago, The Loop is a good starting point to sample the city's energy and flavor. This central business district boasts Michelin-rated restaurants, upscale hotels, premier shopping, and enough arresting architecture to keep your camera busy for hours. You won’t find too many photo galleries of downtown Chicago without a shot of Millennium Park and Cloud Gate (“The Bean”), one of the most iconic landmarks in the city. A stunning skyline coupled with cultural attractions like the Art Institute of Chicago present a Downtown where work and play peacefully coexist.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hostelling International Chicago

Address: 24 East Congress Parkway, South Loop, Chicago, IL 60605
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Price Range: ₹ 2,655 - ₹ 10,621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International Chicago 1.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Hostelling International Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Chicago Summer Hotel Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostelling International Chicago staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Hostelling International Chicago staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“they even up-graded to a private room!”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All the 09 sets of rooms, room 4 are the furthest away from the L”
 of 5 bubbles materago, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The bigger the better (the more roommates, the less awkard it is for me)”
 of 5 bubbles gummu, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closer to the elevator are quieter than out rooms, because of the Metro line outside.”
 of 5 bubbles TonyA56003, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms higher up from the L are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles pamelal333, 28 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay