We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palmer House a Hilton Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (4186)
Room & Suite (1588)
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Breakfast Included Offer
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#146 of 207 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
"The Chicago Hotel the World Knows Best." The hip & historic Palmer House Hilton has a history of over 140 years and after a multi-million dollar renovation continues to thrive in the heart of the theatre and financial district, just steps from the Art Institute, Millennium Park and State Street shopping. This Chicago hotel features 130,000 sq. ft. of function space with over 77 meeting rooms, seven ballrooms and two exhibition halls. Lockwood Restaurant and Bar, located just off the lobby and Potter's Lounge, perfect for cocktails will enhance your experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking nearby
Paid wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Breakfast Included Offer
11,480Reviews178Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,364
  • 3,697
  • 1,893
  • 956
  • 571
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
miamiair wrote a review 18 Apr
Miami, Florida236 contributions71 helpful votes
I was in Chicago for a Trade show, and this property caught my eye. It is a bit south of the main downtown area, but it was fine as the trade show was at the convention center. It is a historic building, plenty of rooms. I arrived a bit before check in, but they gave me a room. The room itself is a bit on the small side, but functional. Bed was comfortable, and was a good night's rest. The bathroom is a small closet with a tub and shower inside, read SMALL. Amenities are non-existent other than the wall mounted shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. Maybe because it was still cool, the air conditioning wasn't working; leaving the window open was fine. The hallways have a neat decor with photographs of stars playing the Empire Room. The bar is well staffed and stocked, the prices for the drinks were not as bad as I thought. Had the burger at the bar, it was an 8 out of 10. Breakfast is a la carte, it wasn't bad, and it wasn't highway robbery. No complaints really. There is a nice cigar bar across the street.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: There is a Starbucks on the Street Level inside. All rooms are no smoking.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Miamiair, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. While we're pleased to hear you had a good experience, we do not settle for providing anything less than the best, and we are disappointed to hear you did not receive the five-star experience we strive to deliver our guests. We thank you for your feedback, which will help us improve the experience of future guests, and we apologize for any inconvenience. Thank you for your kind acknowledgment of service excellence at Palmer House, a Hilton Hotel. We look forward to regaining your confidence and welcoming you back to the hotel. Sincerely, Henry Dornelas Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lynn S wrote a review Jul 2022
17 contributions13 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Great hotel, perfect stay in a clean, convenient and comfortable historic hotel. Perfect location for walking to tourist attractions. Safe inside and out, great professional knowledgeable and friendly staff. Absolutely nothing negative to say!! Spacious rooms, comfy beds, great air conditioning with easy to control panel, and absolutely spotlessly clean! Shout out to Vanessa, LaShawn, and Courtney! And absolutely superb advice from maybe the best concierge in the city?? Deborah Sawyer was so helpful in helping make our girls getaway perfect! Will definitely return and stay and the Palmer House!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: There are Walgreens everywhere though there’s an excellent hotel grab and go that has everything...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
8 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
VickyBee333 wrote a review 16 Apr
Bellevue, Washington150 contributions94 helpful votes
This is an old hotel in need of some updating. Our room was small and had some odd features: only one nightstand (for a King bed), which meant one of us had to put overnight essentials on the floor; a teensy bathroom in which only one person could be at a time; one full-length mirror on the closet door and a second full-length mirror (different style) mounted to the wall right next to the closet door, and not one, not two, but THREE mini fridges. The room could have been cleaner. The toilet tank lid was covered with dust and hair, and furniture in the room was dusty. (I left a note for housekeeping about the toilet, and when we returned to the room it was sparkling clean.) The afore-mentioned full-length mirrors were dirty. On the plus side, the room was fairly quiet, which we appreciated. And we were delighted when, prior to check in, we received a text asking if we had any requests. We had a few, and although all were promised, not all were delivered. We had to call, for example, to request a light blanket. Staff across the board was consistently pleasant, and our basic needs were met, but if we hadn’t been part of a conference group, we would have stayed somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear VickyBee333, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We recognize some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations, and we sincerely apologize. We have noted your points and are addressing them to enhance our guest experience. We're glad our Team responded promptly to your concerns, and we hope you'll consider a return visit so we can show you an improved stay. Sincerely, Henry Dornelas Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jmtz81 wrote a review 15 Apr
Grand Rapids, Michigan4 contributions
Stayed overnight for my daughter’s birthday, there was a bit of a hiccup with check-in but Adrian did a FANTASTIC job getting us situated! Hotel was very clean and staff were very pleasant. Short walking distance to magnificent mile, but surrounded by great spots to eat and shop. I will definitely stay here again and tell friends and family to do the same!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking is in a near by garage and they charge $62 otherwise you pay for valet which might be...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Jmtz81, Thank you for your comments. We're delighted to hear that you had such a great stay with us for your daughter's birthday! We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and amenities, and we will be sure to share your comments with Adrian and the rest of our Team so they know how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope for a chance to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Henry Dornelas Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Olga N wrote a review 14 Apr
3 contributions
The total expected was wonderful!! Absolutely amazing place! It was a pleasure to meet my fellow team members here - everyone was welcoming, kind, helpful!! Top notch service!! Especially I would like to mention Ms. Jill, Mr. Jorge and Mr. Alberto who kindly served us breakfast, and Mr. Juan at the bar/dinner. I can’t say enough how wonderful they were!!! I don’t want to leave!!! This was one of the best experience I’ve ever had!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear J2346MAolgan, It's an honor to have earned your outstanding review of Palmer House A Hilton Hotel! We're proud that Jill, Jorge, and Alberto provided you and your team members with superior service, and we'll commend them for that. It's also wonderful that this was one of the best hotel stays you've experienced. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Henry Dornelas Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
C B wrote a review 11 Apr
4 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
I've stayed at every heritage hotel managed by Fairmont and some Omni-managed properties, too. While these two operators know how to manage iconic hotels, the same cannot be said for Hilton. My room 21139 was a total disaster, I've had better rooms at lower end Choice hotel brands. The small size of the room is somewhat expected given the nature of the building. However, there is no excuse for the poor state of this room. The furniture was showing significant wear and tear, the desk lamp was rusty, bathroom ceiling falling apart. No coffee maker or minibar. Housekeeping shows zero attention to detail, e.g. the alarm clock had not been changed to summer time, the "you are here" sticker was missing on the fire escape plan, significant dust accumulation under the bed etc. etc. Simple checklist items. This room should either be taken out of inventory, or it should clearly be marked as a "moderate" room during the booking process. I paid a ridiculous amount of money for a room that offered a value of no more than $119 realistically, perhaps $169 if you factor in the season. Will not stay here again and definitely not recommend to a friend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear CB, Your feedback is valuable as it helps us improve. Please accept our apologies for any concerns about the condition of the property. We'll keep your comments in mind, and we hope you'll consider staying with us again should you be back in the area. It would be wonderful to have the opportunity to regain your confidence in us to deliver a stellar experience. Sincerely, Henry Dornelas Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
erica n wrote a review 10 Apr
1 contribution2 helpful votes
+1
I feel like I stayed in a different hotel than some of the reviewers! Prior to booking a hotel, I always do my research, so I expected Palmer House to have tiny rooms and a historic vibe. What I did not expect was my room to be filthy and rundown. Here's a summary of my experience: - It was dirty. There were gross stains on the ceiling, drapes and walls. The carpets were also visibly very dirty and I slept in shoes so that when I got up to use the bathroom at night I would not have to touch the ground. Furthermore, the bathroom was disgusting. The bathtub had not been cleaned and had drops of product in it. The toilet roll was empty upon arrival - which is just weird, because that's something housekeeping would usually check and replace. I truly felt horrified at having to touch anything in that room! - The air in the room was so stuffy. Inside my room was about 20 degrees warmer than the hallway, and adjusting the thermostat resulted in air blowing out that smelled like cat pee but was not any cooler. - The pillows smelled like smoke and every time I would roll over in bed, bursts of smoke scent would come up (and yes, I did have a non smoking room). - The other room amenities were not maintained either. I tried to use the blowdryer and sparks came out when I turned it on. That should have warned me not to use it, but I persevered and somehow, this old hairdryer sucked my hair inside it and I ended up having to cut a chunk out. I use a blowdryer every day and have never had anything remotely similar occur. I will admit that the lobby is really impressive - so go have a drink there if you're in the area! But stay the heck away from the hotel rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Erica N, We appreciate you reaching out to share your thoughts regarding your recent experience at our property. It greatly saddens us to hear we were unable to provide the enjoyable stay our guests are accustomed to and that you were disappointed with your visit. Please accept our apologies if your room had not been cleaned and maintained to our usual high standards and for any unfortunate issues you encountered; we encourage our guests to notify our front desk Team of any problems as soon as possible so we can find a solution and ensure you have a comfortable stay. We will certainly address the items you mentioned internally to ensure these are resolved and improvements are made going forward. Your feedback is invaluable as we continually strive to provide our guests with a positive experience. Given the opportunity, we would like to deliver the stay you were hoping for. Sincerely, Henry Dornelas Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Erlendur S wrote a review 9 Apr
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I booked a King room, but despite two attempts, only narrow bed twins were available. Very disappointing and lobby staff absolutely disinterested in fixing it. Got a table at the restaurant but left after 20 minutes as no waiter had come around to even say hi, let alone take an order It's best to give this one a miss if you're ever in Chicago.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Erlendur, Your feedback is valuable as it helps us improve. Please accept our apologies for any confusion with your reservation and for any disappointment with the service you received. This does not represent our usual standards, and we'll look into your comments further. Should you be in the area again, we'd appreciate the chance to provide you with a more enjoyable visit. Sincerely, Henry Dornelas Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elizabeth wrote a review 6 Apr
Medford, New Jersey5 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel was absolutely beautiful. I was there for a work conference. It’s an historic icon in Chicago. It’s in a very nice area and walkable to the waterfront, the Bean, and many lovely restaurants nearby. The ceilings in the lobby were so beautiful that I got up early for coffee one morning and took a few photos. The service was fantastic even with a large business conference going on.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Far from both airports so just give yourself time. In best part of the city in my opinion. If...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. Our Team is delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us. We pride ourselves on delivering luxurious and impeccably tailored experiences to our esteemed guests, and it is wonderful to hear that we met those expectations during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palmer House, a Hilton Hotel. Sincerely, Henry Dornelas Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lauren M wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My son and I stayed at Palmer House Hilton for a quick spring break trip in March 2024! We couldn’t have chosen a better hotel. Every staff we encountered were fabulous, especially Jillian in the Lockwood Restaurant! We will be back for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Lauren M, Thank you! It was an honor to welcome you and your son for spring break, and we are delighted you had such a wonderful visit. Jillian is a valued team member and will be thrilled to know you enjoyed her kind service. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable getaway. Sincerely, Henry Dornelas Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chicago area.
PRICE RANGE
₹20,189 - ₹29,449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the palmer house hilton hotel chicago, hilton hotel chicago, hilton hotel palmer, palmer house chicago, chicago palmer house hilton, palmer house hilton chicago, palmer hilton house, hilton chicago, chicago hilton
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Downtown / The Loop
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1,641
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PALMER HOUSE A HILTON HOTEL (Chicago) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Art Institute of Chicago (0.3 km), Millennium Park (0.4 km), and Cloud Gate (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Dearborn, Acanto, and The Gage.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Palmer House a Hilton Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Chicago.
Are any cleaning services offered at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Palmer House a Hilton Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.