We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 154: English reviews
calgary, alberta, canada
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We arrived with no reservations and were warmly greeted. The fall special was a nice surprise as was receiving a $20 rebate for eating at the attached restaurant. The room was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed both the attached deck and the patio off the main reception area. There are a wide range of room styles from rustic cabins...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank solo-traveller1209
elkwater, Public Relations Manager at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

Hi - we're glad you enjoyed your surprise. We are so pleased when people come to see us outside of the regular summer season, as we pride ourselves on being a four-season Resort. Thank you also for the kind words for Neeraj and Patel - they indeed work so very hard to ensure our guests are well taken care of....

Edmonton
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We highly recommend this quiet, clean and friendly accommodation. The attached restaurant serves tasty food at a reasonable price. Very friendly and helpful staff. Our room on the second floor had a balcony with 2 chairs. There was also a large central balcony area on a lower level with chairs and tables with umbrellas. Wished we could have stayed longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fellowwebsurfer
elkwater, Public Relations Manager at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back again real soon (and hopefully you can stay longer!). Warmest regards, Gail - Public Relations

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We stayed in Room110 for two nights and wish our stay had been longer. Every member of staff was polite and courteous. The room was immaculate with a new carpet , comfortable furniture, two bathrooms , a mezzanine bedroom a very comfortable bed and a fully equipped kitchen area.I have done a lot of travelling and this hotel was as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia H
elkwater, Public Relations Manager at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

We are SO pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. All of the areas you described are ones we have focused on to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay, so to hear that we have achieved our goal is very gratifying. We are a four-season Resort, so be sure to come and visit us when it is even quieter...

Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Spent 4 nights in a rustic cabin. Area is gorgeous. Staff are very nice. Unfortunately, cabin was not terribly clean. Floors need a good scrubbing. 1 firepit for 3 cabins so if someone else is using it, too bad. On Wednesday we discovered BBQ was broken, told maintenance on Thursday. He said they would replace it that evening. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kyla C
elkwater, Public Relations Manager at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

Hi - thank you for alerting us to your concerns. We pride ourselves on offering our guest the best in cleanliness and service, and to hear we did not meet our own expectations is troubling. We will look into the matter and thank you for bringing it to our attention, and hope that the next time you stay with us,...

Reviewed 1 September 2016

We had an interesting stay at the Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort. We booked an Alpine Cabin using their online reservations two months prior to our stay. According to the website, and pictures found online, the Alpine cabins were newer and looked decent. When we got in they had no record of our reservation. Apparently they were having problems with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steph H
elkwater, Public Relations Manager at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this review and indicating to us where we can better devote some of our resources. We indeed did have a most troubling summer with the system crashing, and have taken steps to ensure that a proper backup system is now in place. Similarily we will be taking steps in the future to upgrade our older buildings...

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Elkwater Cyprus Hills Alberta is wonderful, But! the Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort is what brings us back the many times we have visited. The New Management has made improvements and upgrades. Our visits are always an enjoyable experience. The Manger and his staff are friendly, efficient and accommodating. The Rooms are nicely decorated, modern and very clean. We enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _engel_creations
elkwater, Public Relations Manager at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for this most glowing wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that your experience was so enjoyable as it is truly what we are aiming to bring to each and every guest! We'd love to see you again this winter if time permits! Warmest regards, Gail - Public Relations

Calgary
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The wilderness trip from the Saskatchewan to Alberta side of the Cyprus Hills Park should not be missed --except that if you all go, it would not be wilderness anymore. So don't come (i could say it louder, but why?). Slow drive on washed out, gravel, dusty, road. But wow. Arrived too late to set up a tent, so booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HankDenver
elkwater, Public Relations Manager at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Hank for your kind review. We love our oasis in the prairies and are pleased you did too! We look forward to welcoming you back! Gail Kesslar

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Spent 5 nights at the Lodge and plan on going back next year, maybe even for a winter trip. Staff was fantastic, friendly and efficient! Our loft suite was great, comfortable, clean and roomy. There were a few minor things but nothing to hinder our stay. The pool was a descent size and the salt water was nice. Lots to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tia N
elkwater, Public Relations Manager at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

Hi Tia - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for the great review. Gail Kesslar

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 14 August 2016

I originally called to book two cabins at the end of August. The person that I spoke to told me that they were too busy and could call me back (?!?!). I did not receive a callback. So, thinking that I wouldn't blame the hotel for one employees mistake, I decided to book online. The entire process seemed fine -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoomzoomweregoin2016
elkwater, Public Relations Manager at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

Hi - we are so sorry that you had such a negative experience. We will speak with the employees in question, and work harder on training our staff to handle all issues in a better way. We will also look into the reasons for why your booking was lost in the first place, to alleviate any issues like this in...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Overall a great experience. However, because they don't have much competition in the area, the service is a little below average. The staff make it seem like they care about your needs; however, service is slow and lagging. I had to ask three times for fresh towels before I finally gave up and went to get them myself. Otherwise, apart...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karol K
elkwater, Public Relations Manager at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

Hi Karol - we are glad you enjoyed your stay, and the beautiful Cypress Hills, but are sorry to hear that you had slow service with regards to getting towel service, and will work to ensure that our staff can better meet our clients needs. Thank you again for your review, it is appreciated. Gail Kesslar

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort

Address: 401 4th Street, Elkwater, Alberta T0J 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Elkwater
Price Range: ₹ 7,307 - ₹ 7,910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkwater Lake Hotel Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a balcony on the first floor on the corner so we could easily get to our car in the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles A6838ZDlauram, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on the outside, main floor so we did not have a deck or a view. The inner side offered a view of the treees, hills, etc.”
 of 5 bubbles dorothym506, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Most of the condos have a view of trees and hills, while the hotel rooms look out onto the street or at the condos.”
 of 5 bubbles JPD1957, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A room in the lodge with a deck is a great place for morning coffee.”
 of 5 bubbles solo-traveller1209, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would recommend the rooms with the mezzanine bedroom and fully equipped kitchen”
 of 5 bubbles 567patriciah, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5