We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Aparthotel Paul do Mar

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Aparthotel Paul do Mar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 53: English reviews
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well, what can I say........ Stayed there in April 2016 and it was very nice, that's the reason why we returned there. But this time very disappointing, the Hotel in just about 8 months, got very badly maintained, interior pool and jacuzzi not advisable, it had a lot of product (chlorine) and you could smell it at a distance. Went... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jorge R
Management response:

Dear Guest, We wanted to acknowledge and apologize for the short comings you had pointed out in your review of the property. We pride ourselves on our level service and product that we have to offer but clearly we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. However, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced... More 

chesterfield
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved this place, good hotel and would definitely return. We travelled as a party of 2 adults and 1 child on a dinner bed & breakfast basis. Very impressed with the huge room, very spacious, excellent balcony with glass fence, sea view, superb. Really good value and quality. Mini kitchen and fridge in the room. Not much parking but we... More 

Helpful?
Thank jo t
Management response:

Dear Guest, It is a big pleasure to know that your stay atPaul do Mar Sea View Hotel was as positive or better than your expectations. We want to thank you for the time that you spent give these positive comments on tripadvisor. We kindly hope to see you again at Paul do Mar Sea View Hotel for another amazing... More 

Port Dover, Canada
Level Contributor
332 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This hotel is located right at the end of Paul do Mar and sits at the foot of a mountain. I loved the fact that the room is spacious, has a kitchenette and a nice view of the ocean and the most stunning sunsets. It is also quiet at night, far away from noise and night life. Definitely a haven... More 

Helpful?
Thank KathleenR_28
Management response:

Dear Guest, It gives us an huge satisfaction to know that your stay at Paul do Mar Sea View Hotel served your expectations. Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for the election to an ideal stay. We want you to know that your opinion is very important for our improvement. It was a pleasure to have you... More 

South Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

I was desperate for quiet holidays and this hotel (and in fact the whole island) delivered beautifully. The hotel appears to be in need of some modernization, although the former glory is still very much visible. It's spotless and the staff were incredible. The apartment was spacious, comfortable and had massive terrace overlooking Atlantic. There's no kettle in the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna_in_Wales
Management response:

Dear Guest, With our heart full of joy, we see that your stay at Paul do Mar Sea View Hotel was a good one and it served your expectations! Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. We want you to know that reviews like these make our days and make us better everyday. It was a... More 

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel is in a quiet, beautiful spot. It's not very touristy in this part of the island and its a place to get the sun. The sea here is crystal clear and there is a great view of the sunset from Maktub bar next door every night. The hotel is well equipped with activities such as indoor and outdoor... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GMAOLY555
Management response:

Dear Guest, With our heart full, we see how pleasent your stay was and that it served your expectations. We thank you your kind comments about our Hotel and our facilities. We want you to know that your opinion is very important for our improvement. Thank you very much for sharing on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again... More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2016

This is a lovely hotel weather fantastic but disappointed there is no entertainment on at all in the hotel. could not hire a scooter you are better off hiring a car or scooter at home before you go only one mini market in the town centre There is only two buses a day to take you to the next resort... More 

Helpful?
Thank GlasgowAudrey
Management response:

Dear Guest, It gives us an huge satisfaction to know that your stay at Paul do Mar Sea View Hotel served perfectly your expectations. Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for the election to an ideal stay. We want you to know that your opinion is very important for our improvement. It was a pleasure to have... More 

Lyon, France
Level Contributor
177 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

2 good nights Confortable and clean room Professionnal staff Wifi free of charge but not everywhere Good pool for swimmers (more than 20 m lenght) Breakfast is ok Buffet for dinner is all right, not fantastic but good Room in floor 4/5/6 recommanded for sea view and quiet. Good choice for money

Helpful?
1 Thank TCARBONNEL
Management response:

Dear Guest, With our heart full, we see how pleasent your stay was and that it served your expectations. We thank you your kind comments about our Hotel and our facilities. We want you to know that your opinion is very important for our improvement. Thank you very much for sharing on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We stayed here for 9 days and couldn't be more satisfied with this Apartment: Our Studio room was spacious ,equipped with everything we needed. The view from the balcony is breathtaking ,during the night we could hear the waves washing the shore. There are plenty of Levada walks around you can choose from. The breakfast delighted us every morning with... More 

Review collected in partnership with 7Ideas.com

Helpful?
2 Thank doraf14
Management response:

Dear Guest, With our heart full, we see how pleasent your stay was and that it served your expectations. We thank you your kind comments about our Hotel and our facilities. Thank you very much for sharing on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again for another amazing stay at Paul do Mar Sea View Hotel. Kind Regards, Paul... More 

Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Very friendly staff, suniest part of the island. Whereas the rest of the island was overcast we all got nicely sunburnt. Buffet not that great, not recommended for kids. Needs paintwork but the furniture seems new. Very popular with the locals didn't notice a lot of tourists around. Clean. Not a lot of activities if you looking for sun and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo A
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Situated to the SW of the island, within the sunniest part of Maderia, this basic hotel ticked all the right boxes for a quiet bit of winter sun and a trip in which most pf our time was spent out of the hotel touring and walking around the island. The decor looks a bit downcast and it needs an overhaul... More 

Helpful?
Thank mitiros

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paul do Mar
8.2 km away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
809 reviews
13.0 km away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
282 reviews
31.5 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sao Vicente
149 reviews
7.7 km away
Savoy Calheta Beach
Savoy Calheta Beach
#2 of 8 in Calheta
643 reviews
34.1 km away
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
#1 of 1 in Santo Antonio da Serra Machico
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ApartHotel Paul do Mar, situated in the picturesque and tranquil village of Paul do Mar is a very special hotel, ideal for those who want to feel the real Madeira. With such a wonderful setting, the building of Hotel Paul do Mar was carefully designed. It's a lovely hotel just a stone's throw from the sea and next to the Nature Park. It is a perfect place to find yourself in harmony with nature, surrounded by the most spectacular cliffs and sea views. Hotel Paul do Mar enjoys one of the most impressive locations in Madeira. It is located at the base of a cliff on a gentle slope towards the sea in the quiet village of Paul do Mar... Quiet but lively with several local restaurants and bars, a small supermarket and a pleasant promenade by the sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aparthotel Paul do Mar

Address: Avenida Pescadores Paulenses 168, Paul do Mar, Calheta, Madeira 9370-545, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta > Paul do Mar
Price Range: ₹ 3,563 - ₹ 5,380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Paul do Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Aparthotel Paul do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paul Do Mar Hotel Calheta
Aparthotel Paul Do Mar Calheta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aparthotel Paul do Mar staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Aparthotel Paul do Mar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the 3rd floor are great with large private balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Jorge_Reis, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Good see views rooms”
 of 5 bubbles GlasgowAudrey, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go for the sea view option, you will no regret it! ”
 of 5 bubbles doraf14, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms have better views of the area”
 of 5 bubbles mitiros, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Upper floors for better view”
 of 5 bubbles 177traveller177, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay