We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
255 East Portneuf Street 255 East Main Street, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246-7723
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (117)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (18)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Updated 18/04/21

About

#3 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa is a historic, full service adult boutique hotel, spa, restaurant & lounge located in downtown Lava Hot Springs, ID. Features: 18 guest rooms, onsite hot mineral springs & massage therapy by reservation, the acclaimed Portneuf Grille & Lounge (reservations highly recommended with only 36 seats). The Portneuf Grille & Lounge is open nightly with Happy Hour from 4-6pm, dinner nightly from 5-9pm. The Lounge is open nightly featuring a full bar selection. Also located on the lobby level is Cafe & A'more open daily from 7-11am serving baked goods and espresso. Dinner, breakfast and all desserts and pastries are prepared by our professional culinary staff. Available for small meetings. All stays include onsite hot mineral springs soaking, free wifi & complimentary breakfast vouchers for our onsite Café & A'more. The Riverside features 24 hour staffing and service. The hotel features our on private onsite hot mineral springs in addition to our location downtown which is within 2 blocks of the Foundation hot mineral soaking facilities. Listed on the Registry of Historic Places with the National Park Service. Our value added services include 30 minute complimentary private hot minerals springs soaking, 24 hour service, complimentary room amenities, complimentary onsite parking and each paid guest receives a $10 breakfast voucher at Cafe & A'more. Add it up and compare our prices. We are a full service, adult hotel which features quiet and relaxing stays. Give us a call and ask us about our great savings by booking our packages which include lodging, dining and massage therapy.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Spa
Full body massage
Hot spring bath
Massage
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
273Reviews3Q+A73Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 131
  • 78
  • 24
  • 21
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
EliKenoah wrote a review Dec 2021
Bowling Green, Ohio30 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Lava Hot Springs is a “must” stop on our trips from Ohio to visit our family in Oregon, and, after trying several other lodgings, the Riverside Inn & Spa is our Lava home. The rooms are cozy and well-appointed, and the great room and common areas, welcoming. In the years since purchasing the Riverside Inn, Gail Palen’s renovations have brought a quiet elegance to the historic hotel. The private soaking rooms on the lower level have been transformed from dingy, dated hot tubs to beautifully tiled, intimate retreats for guests. The Inn offers full relaxation massages, and though we have not availed ourselves of these opportunities, I am planning “The Works” on our next visit. We highly recommend the Portneuf Grille & Lounge, also on the lower level, which offers gourmet fare along with live music on certain evenings. My review wouldn’t be complete without commending the staff, who over the years have become like family. Whether it is your first visit or your twenty-first, you will feel welcomed to the warmth of this Lava Hot Springs landmark.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gail Palen, Owner at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Responded 3 Jan 2022
Thank you very much for the kind words and for your continued business with us at The Riverside. It is always nice to see you. The hotel has come a long way with it's restorations, continuing to have the historic feel and charm of the 1914 hotel. Yes, definitely try "The Works" next time, you will LOVE it! Wishing you a Happy New Yea and looking forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Elizabeth Tuttle, Hotel Manager
Read more
Michelle D wrote a review Aug 2021
Hollywood, Maryland87 contributions29 helpful votes
We are currently living on the east coast and loved the old west charm of this historic hotel. It was very convenient having the mineral baths available right at the hotel. The tubs were spacious, clean and easy to reserve at the desk. The cafe for breakfast was amazing. Plenty of food and it was delicious; specialty coffees and mimosas were available. The restaurant downstairs was very good too with an upscale menu, great wine selection and specialty cocktails. Most of the staff was pleasant and helpful. It was also walking distance from everything in town and a lovely setting right on the river. We enjoyed sitting on the back porch just reading or having a glass of wine; listening to the river and watching the train in the distance.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Gail Palen, Owner at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Responded 16 Aug 2021
Dear Michelle, Thank you for your review and for your feedback. I am glad you choose our hotel to stay at for your vacation and you enjoyed the Western charm and the charm of our hotel. I sincerely appreciate your business and hope to see you again when you make your way back out West. Sincerely, Elizabeth Tuttle, Hotel Operations Manager
Read more
Valentina wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
We recommend the hotel if you like historic places with charm, like we do. Gayle the owner is super friendly & accommodating. Perfect location on the river, the restaurant is excellent (but overpriced) & the morning breakfast cafe serves just enough. It is nice to have private hot pools, just a step away from our room. Staff seems confused & most are not friendly. Lots of miscommunication from making our reservation to our departure. If we ever went to Lava Hot Springs again, we would stay here because it seems the best in town, but it is not our kind of town so we would
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Gail Palen, Owner at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Responded 12 Jul 2021
Greetings. Thank you again for staying with us. It was great having you as guests. July and August are very busy months and not the normal atmosphere for Lava Hot Springs. Hope you come back during the real Lava months. Thanks again. Gail
Read more
James B wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
The room was clean but they don't have central air, so they put in these window mounts in some rooms. Our room had one that sits on the floor and a dryer tubing runs the hot air outside. It was cracked so unless you were right in front of the cooler it was hot and miserable. Portneuf restaurant downstairs was good but overpriced. I would steer clear of this place overpriced and hot yeah made our vacation suck, besides I wasn't impressed at all with Lava hot springs, alot of the stuff we wanted to do we couldn't. First and last time I ever go there!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gail Palen, Owner at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Responded 2 Jul 2021
Dear James, We apologize for your dissatisfaction, but feel it is appropriate to address a few of your claims in your review. The hotel was built in 1914 and is on the National Historic Register, originally built without air conditioners, without fireplaces, with out TV's and without private bathrooms. Since then, we've remodeled 16 out of 18 rooms, have all private bathrooms, electric fireplaces (to go along with our geothermal heating), individual A/C units (that use A/C venting, not dryer vents) and TV's. However, it is still a 107 year old building which we do our best in to accommodate modern expectations. I am not sure what you mean about "alot of stuff we wanted to do we couldn't" in Lava Hot Springs as it is our peak season with plenty of activities going on: river tubing, hot springs, Olympic pool, various stores and restaurants open, hiking, biking, four-wheeling and zip-lining. We are sorry to hear that you were not impressed with Lava Hot Springs, which is visited by thousands and many repeat people, but hope that in the future you find a resort town that better fits your expectations. Sincerely, Elizabeth Tuttle, Hotel Manager
Read more
Heather M wrote a review May 2021
Hawaii123 contributions72 helpful votes
We checked in early with an upgrade Lovely clean and spacious room Bed comfortable and good linens ....a head board for the bed would have been nice .. A few amenities in the bathroom ...green so good The halls and stairs could have been cleaner ..but in all a nice hotel Staff very friendly and helpful They provide robes and towels to use in the hot pools ... They gave us a $10 dollar voucher for dinner We had dinner in the dining room but we were disappointed in the food and it was expensive But breakfast was beyond five stars and we really enjoyed We would stay again but eat dinner elsewhere
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gail Palen, Owner at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Responded 20 May 2021
Thank you for your review and for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your upgrade and your breakfast. We are sorry to hear about your dining experience and will be sure to share your review with our restaurant manager. Sincerely, Elizabeth Tuttle, Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$139 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesIdahoLava Hot Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Lava Hot Springs (0.2 km), Olympic Swimming Complex (0.5 km), and Sunken Gardens (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include 78 Main Street Eatery, Portneuf Grille & Lounge, and Royal Hotel and Pizza Parlor.
Is Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Lava Hot Springs.
Are pets allowed at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chesterfield Townsite (15.7 km).
Does Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.