We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Desoto Beach Hotel

Hotels.comUS$ 225*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 276*
US$ 225*
Great Deal
US$ 276*
US$ 276*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Desoto Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Desoto Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,099: English reviews
North Augusta, South Carolina
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Great location. Easy parking. Rooms were nice and clean. Beds were very comfortable. Pool area small, but adequate for hotel. Staff were very nice and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was simple but plenty of choices and filled us up until dinner.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
Tortilla Flat, Arizona
Reviewed 10 July 2016

The bed in the room was terrible, and the price per night was outrageous. The Beach Towels were not offered for the pool and beach area so we had to purchase the small ones from the front desk at ten dollars a piece.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nicklL3660AN
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Check in went well. Continental breakfast was okay--tons of carbs. Huge dead roach in the stairwell. Small roach got into my makeup bag. Yuck. What bothered me the most was the AC issue. The AC only runs if there is motion detected in the room. Weird, right? Once I realized this, I decided to turn the thermostat down. Negative--you couldn't...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 132kristiana
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review

I have shared your comments with the appropriate Department Managers to ensure corrective measures are taken to help us improve in those areas.

Augusta, Georgia
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Had a great time here..would have got 5 stars but found a $25 charge from the Hotel and tried to call to see what it was and gave up after being on hold for 10 minutes...ended up being almost $400 for one night including the extra mystery charge...I can't afford to stay here again!..HAHA

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrismaddoxsr
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I apologize for any miscommunication you experienced. This is not how we like to do business, and I will follow up to find out why this happened. Follow up, as was explained when you gave your credit card and ID upon check in we authorize your card for $25 for...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 10 July 2016

The hotel accommodation is very mediocre. Motel 6 standard. I would not recommend it to anybody. The only beachfront hotel in Tybee that's why it's still in business. The shower faucet was defective. Either the water is too hot or cold.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SAIBAL S
Hartwell, Georgia
Reviewed 10 July 2016

This hotel is amazing! My family has stayed here 3 times, the service is exceptional, the rooms are very clean, and it is by far the closest hotel to the beach front. The free breakfast is very good and the staff is very respectful. It's a very family friendly place to stay, there's a game room and a pool. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmagracejoness
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review

I love to hear when people really enjoy their stays with us! “Clean rooms and friendly service” are exactly what we do our best to offer everyone who stays with us. Since a large percent of our guests tend to be “Repeat Guests” I feel we are delivering.

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

The staff is great and to have booked two weeks before, they were great accommodations. The ocean view is super and we will be back! The rooms were always very cool and the beds are to DIE FOR! The breakfast is very good and filling. Waffles, bagels, all kinds of fruit, juices, biscuits, Danish... Good stuff!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mahlon G
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback more than you can imagine! We want to be able to provide great service to all of our Guests. It really is the great comments from our Guests on sites like this that give all of our team members a sense of pride! This hotel wouldn't be what it is without this amazing group! We look...

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

For being "voted the best place to stay", this didn't live up to that. In comparison to another property we stayed at, the desk staff was condescending and the parking policy unreasonable. Only 1 spot given to a suite sleeping 8. Beware of booking the Hernando Suite! The front door opens RIGHT in public area at the front desk, store,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MichaelEmily D
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review

I deeply regret your dissatisfaction with your stay at our hotel. We strive to provide award winning service and it is apparent that we did not provide that to you. The feedback that you provided is appreciated because we know it will only make us better.

Reviewed 6 July 2016

The hotel offers greatly valued rooms, reasonable price and tasty breakfast. My family arrived before noon, but the check-in time is 4pm. Staffs in Desoto allowed us to enjoy the beach and pool in advance and offers us towels, they then arranged a good room for us at 3pm. The room is clean with all the facilities in good condition....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Clay C
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback more than you can imagine! We want to be able to provide great service to all of our Guests. It really is the great comments from our Guests on sites like this that give all of our team members a sense of pride! This hotel wouldn't be what it is without this amazing group! We look...

Waldorf
Reviewed 3 July 2016

The hotel is in a great location, with friendly staff, and clean rooms, hotel, pool and everything. I only stayed for one night but it really is an overall nice hotel, that I would definitely stay at again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kng8199
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive comments about our hotel and staff! We really pride ourselves on our Guest Services, cleanliness and staff contact!

325 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (263)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
16.9 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
2.1 km away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
299 reviews
2.0 km away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah Historic District / Riverfront
1.9 km away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
669 reviews
1.0 km away
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only oceanfront hotel on Tybee Island. Direct beach access with oceanfront pool sundeck and game room. Free continental breakfast and WIFI. Voted best place to stay 7 years in a row. Beautifully re-modeled rooms and a heated and cooled pool depending on the weather. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Desoto Beach Hotel

Address: 212 Butler Ave., PO Box 1398, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9794
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Price Range: ₹ 10,205 - ₹ 21,960 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desoto Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Desoto Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desoto Beach Tybee Island
Hotel Desoto Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Desoto Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Conyers, Georgia
1 month ago
Thornton, Pennsylvania
1 month ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Desoto Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room overlooking the beach was fabulous, one of the best Oceanview I have ever seen. Enjoyed every minute of it.”
817candacek, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms have large screen TV, free internet access, refrigerators. Enjoyed free breakfast.”
278Car, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If its just 2 of you I would recommend one of the smaller rooms - less expensive”
twbloom05, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Coffeemaker dirty. dusty Fire Sprinkler Bath floor& Sink area dirty otherwise clean Heated Pool, FREE Breakfast NIGHT CLERK CANDICE AWESOME”
Z7323IAcarolc, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a partial sea view, which was OK. A clear day with a full view would have be better.”
mikesuefle, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 225* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$ 276
TravelocityUS$ 276
Expedia.comUS$ 276
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates