We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 149: English reviews
Cocoa Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff was excellent, very friendly, helpful and professional. Clean rooms, good breakfast and Wifi. Overall good stay. Very good location for visiting the area. Would stay again and recommend to others.

Helpful?
Thank Susan D
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight after attending a show at Anderson Music Hall. Which was just a 5-10 minute drive from the Holiday Inn. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I didn't see examples of poor housekeeping that were referenced in other reviews. I absolutely loved the shower it had lots of water pressure and plenty of hot water. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
Monroe, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We travel to Hiawassee several times a year and I choose to stay at this hotel. Sometimes I travel with just my 4 girls and I and we do not worry about anything while we are here. The staff is fabulous and very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is enjoyable! My girls enjoy the indoor pool. It gives them something... More 

Helpful?
Thank kadsfamily
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee, responded to this review

Dear kadsfamily, Thank you for providing us feedback regarding your visit. I am pleased that you found our hotel and rooms to be sufficient for your needs even though you found it to be a bit worn. Your comments are essential for us to further enhance what we can offer to our guests. I hope the next time your travels... More 

Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
311 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

This place is in need of an makeover. Many items are worn frayed and abused. They seem to keep things clean none the less. The staff is outstanding. Very friendly and caring. The breakfast was typical for HI Express.

Helpful?
Thank g8trman
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee, responded to this review

Dear g8trman, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hiawassee, GA and providing your thoughts about your stay. We value your appreciation of our hospitable hotel staff members and our clean rooms. On the other hand, it is regretful to learn that you find our amenities to be outdated. We value your feedback and rest assured that... More 

Little Rock
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

This was awful. Just AWFUL. I hardly slept at all on the ancient double bed mattress, while cradling terrible, lumpy pillows. Carpets are stained and the wallpaper is falling off the walls and ripped. The tv didn't work and we had to have someone come from the desk to reattach the connection. The remote control didn't work either, so that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becky R
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee, responded to this review

Dear Becky R, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for writing a review about your experience. It is regrettable that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience due to the unsatisfactory quality of room amenities, cleanliness, and general condition of the hotel. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality... More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Ceiling in room growing cobwebs and dust bunnies, trash found on carpeted floor, peeling wallpaper from walls,room half cleaned,half dirty still, stripped faucet dial unable to close wayer flow off in coffeemaker area of room ,busted porcelain leaking,hole in bathroom sink, and to top it all off,the One Breakfast Nazi Lady... So I go downstairs next to lobby to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harry B
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee, responded to this review

Dear Harry B, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is regrettable that some of our amenities and services did not live up to your expectations. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Please allow us to follow up on your concerns and have the... More 

Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

The staff was courteous and helpful. The room was clean and spacious just what we needed. We arrived in Hiawasee early about 11am of our check in the room was ready and we was able to check in before 11:30.

Helpful?
Thank GregSelf1
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I've stayed at this HIE a number of times over the past few years. The staff are always very welcoming and nice. The location is great for exploring the north Georgia and western North Carolina mountains. The rooms are big, and parking has never been an issue. However, the decor could use some updating. A picture was missing over the... More 

Helpful?
Thank WSW64
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Staff overall is A+, but I had some issues. Phone in room didn't work. Reported this 2 or 3 times...NO response. Biggest complaint...Wi-Fi useless! Three or four front desk personnel claimed IHG or Holiday Inn was responsible...BS! I had two iPhones and an iPad and NONE had service. This is an onsite, hotel issue. If Wi-Fi is important...it is to... More 

Helpful?
Thank rbcomprop
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee, responded to this review

Dear rbcomprop, Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. We would like to apologize for the experience you had with our WiFi and the service you received fell below your expectations. We also apologize that the condition of our hotel was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to ensure our... More 

Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016

After an exhausting, and useless, day of searching for retirement property near Blue Ridge, Georgia we were forced to drive to Hiawassee for lodging. We have stayed at numerous Holiday Inns nationwide and this is by far the WORSE one we've ever seen. As the "extremely dated" review mentions, this place needed an update 15 years ago. From the smell... More 

Helpful?
Thank DonnaSC62
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee, responded to this review

Dear DonnaSC62, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had with the room accommodations you received, especially the amenities and furniture. We also apologize that the condition of our property fell short of your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable... More 

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
1.7 km away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#3 of 6 in Hiawassee
245 reviews
5.9 km away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#1 of 6 in Hiawassee
633 reviews
20.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Milton Inn
BEST WESTERN Milton Inn
#3 of 3 in Blairsville
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
29.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
28.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Hiawassee is located in the beautiful North Georgia Mountains near the growing towns of Blairsville, Young Harris and Hiawassee. Our Hiawassee hotel is in close proximity to Lake Chatuge, the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds, Brasstown Bald, and the Appalachian Trail. We host groups for the Schedule of Stars and the Rhododendron Festival, and welcome hikers exiting the Appalachian Trail. Enjoy North Georgia hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hiawassee. Be sure to ask about our golf, spring break, and romance packages! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee

Address: 300 Big Sky Dr, Hiawassee, GA 30546
Region: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Price Range: ₹ 7,091 - ₹ 9,410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee Hotel Hiawassee
Holiday Inn Hiawassee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Plumsteadville, PA
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles EnjoyYourTrvl, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Close to the music park and almost on Lake Chatuge”
 of 5 bubbles Mike_W_Stock, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“I do not know if it was typical of this Inn but the room I had was worn out.”
 of 5 bubbles DannieMontana, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing hills.”
 of 5 bubbles jetstar727, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ask for 3rd floor at end of hallway...great views. We also asked for non-smoking.”
 of 5 bubbles kayp326, 1 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay