We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

*Dirty rooms and common areas. *Water run out for 2 days, that means 2 days without shower or using the sink. *Cold water (they should tell it before we book). There is hot, but at night is wind and of course you want a hot shower. *Too much stairs, hard to carry your luggage if you don't have a backpack....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kauanasm
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

The staff was not always friendly, depends on the shift. Night shift was ok, morning one a bit rude. The bar is quite nice at night. However, I couldn't sleep as I found little cockroaches on my bed! The ceiling of the room was a bit opened, I guess these bugs came from there. There was a huge cockroach on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolina E
Lugoco2, Manager at El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lamentamos mucho lo ocurrido durante tu estadia, estamos viviendo una epidemia de BB en todo Colombia y luchamos dia a...

North Holland Province, The Netherlands
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Unfortunately there are not many hostels in San Andres that are nice for backpackers. This hostel seems to have it all and seems like a good place where you can meet other backpackers. This is the only good thing about the hostel: the location and the people you meet. But everything else is terrible! Do not go to this hostel!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank red551
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

When we where checking in the receptionist who was showing us the dorm didn't know witch bed belonged to us so she gave us some beds that was already taken... In general the receptionists wasn't to helpful.. either when we found out that our dorm had BEDBUGS! It was bloodstains on several sheets, and we saw a lots of them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emelieelena
Lugoco2, Manager at El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lamentamos mucho lo ocurrido durante tu estadia, estamos viviendo una epidemia de BB en todo Colombia y luchamos dia a...

Carrboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 30 January 2016

Let me preface this review by saying that I had stayed at El Viajero in Cartagena and was pleased with the service I received. Because of this, I expected the same general experience at their location in San Andres, and therefore booked this hostel first for my trip to the island. Sadly as there is no way to beat around...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jeremy R
Lugoco2, Manager at El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lamentamos mucho lo ocurrido durante tu estadia, estamos viviendo una epidemia de BB en todo Colombia y luchamos dia a...

Brasilia, DF
Reviewed 12 January 2016

I won't comment on any positive aspect, due to the fact the entire hostel is full of bed bugs and varied insects and the management does nothing to change this. Stop selling beds untill you can fix this problem. It is so nasty and distasteful being on a place dirty and reckless like this. I would never recommend for anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annyecarol
Lugoco2, Director General at El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lamentamos mucho lo ocurrido durante tu estadia, estamos viviendo una epidemia de BB en todo Colombia y luchamos dia a...

Brasília, Brasil
Reviewed 11 January 2016

This could be a good accommodation, despite the fact it has no lift and you may have to carry your luggage through four flights of stairs. However, the hostel is infested with BED BUGS, and the management seem to do nothing about it. Unfortunately it is one of the few options for backpackers on the island and you have to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 99carolina
Lugoco2, Director General at El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lamentamos mucho lo ocurrido durante tu estadia, estamos viviendo una epidemia de BB en todo Colombia y luchamos dia a...

Bogota
Reviewed 6 January 2016

We booked a private room which was really nice but compare to other hostels it was way to expensiv. We met some other travellers who stayed in a dorm with bed bags - watch out! Since months they have this problem and it seems like they dont do anything against it! Claudia from the hostel was really nice to all...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmen Z
São Paulo, Brasil
Reviewed 4 January 2016

The hostel was infested with bedbugs. I stayed on a female shared bedroom and the girls had bites all over their bodies. When I told the staff about the problem they did not do anything, they offered me to stay in a private bedroom and did not give me any discount.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank luisac54
Lugoco2, Director General at El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lamentamos mucho lo ocurrido durante tu estadia, estamos viviendo una epidemia de BB en todo Colombia y luchamos dia a...

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 2 January 2016

The hostel is ok. We spent 4 nights during our vacation. We got a double room at second floor. Security box was out of service so we asked for a different room. The new room had AC out of service ( with 90 degree it was horrible !!) and it took 2 days to fix it. Room are very very...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willypau80

396 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (338)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres hotels
7.0 km away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 27 in San Andres
215 reviews
0.5 km away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 27 in San Andres
1,421 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Boutique Le castel blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#20 of 27 in San Andres
256 reviews
0.6 km away
San Andres Noblehouse Hotel
San Andres Noblehouse Hotel
#2 of 27 in San Andres
356 reviews
0.7 km away
Sheylla's Place
Sheylla's Place
#12 of 85 in San Andres
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in Downtown San Andres, only a ten minute walk from the airport and a five minute walk from its beautiful beaches famous for its 7 colored sea (Sea Flower Biosphere Reserve), available for Snorkeling, Scuba Diving, Kite Surf, Kayak & Jet sky.All our Dorms and private rooms have AC and have Ensuite Toilet!! Double and Twin Private rooms have also LED TV's with international cable and Safe Deposit Boxes. Breakfast is included in the rate!!The Hostel is located in a 5 stories building and each floor has a thematic design (Rastafarian, Pirate, Sea-flower) and we also have our penthouse Bar & Discotheque!!Enjoy also our common TV & DVD room, common kitchen, internet area with 4 computers and WI-FI available at every floor.We organize daily activities inside and outside the hostel, offering you all the touristic information you need: motorcycle and car rental, diving and kite-surfing courses, boat tours, night clubs and much more!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites

Address: Avenida 20 de Julio 3A-122, San Andres, San Andres Island 80001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island > San Andres
Price Range: ₹ 1,178 - ₹ 5,366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Let the windows open, so the bad smell of the bathrooms wont stay in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles 638mayumid, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I've got the private room and really liked it :-)”
 of 5 bubbles mauromp, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Private, 2 single beds”
 of 5 bubbles 674carmenz, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Not at the second floor ”
 of 5 bubbles Willypau80, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
“You should try and book ahead, especially in the high season.”
 of 5 bubbles Frogtree71, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5