We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Trough Ivy House

TripAdvisorUS$ 104*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 104*
US$ 104*
US$ 104*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Trough Ivy House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 176: English reviews
Start your review of Trough Ivy House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Myself and Charlotte stayed here for our visit to Alton Towers. Terry emailed us to say hello and for us to let him know our arrival. He even for us to leave the car at the hotel during our visits to the park. Breakfast was served on the dot to our room each morning and was of great choice. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This place is in a amazing location from room to the park turnstiles in 3 minutes! No monorail or parking faff! The rooms where amazingly clean and everything was well thought out. My only criticism is we had the downstairs room and I could hear everything which was going upstairs. It thankfully didn't wake me but laying in bed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I never actually had the chance to attend this hotel which im quite glad about. But I rang to cancel my booking as I was unable to attend due to a change in circumstances. When I was speaking to the owner she was extremely rude! She was really chewy with us on the phone and just downright horrible. I must...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maisie R
TroughIvyHouse, Owner at Trough Ivy House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is a pity that you were unable to stay with us and experience the hospitality that numerous other guests have enjoyed. It is unfortunate that your review does not accurately reflect our conversation or indeed how our business operates. As you made your booking through Booking.com, you will recall...

Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2017

On arrival we were greeted with a lovely friendly lady. Our room was beautiful and clean, with a lovely view. The bed was comfortable. We walked to Alton Towers which was a 4 minute walk to the entrance. For dinner on the first night, the lady suggested a lovely pub with amazing food which was only half an hour walk....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Molly L
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend Only Stayed here at the Trough Ivy for one night and wanted to stay for a second. A fantastic little house making it like a second home. The owners are very welcoming and the rooms are cosy and very relaxing. The offer of breakfast in bed which is brought up by the owner shows how caring...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeterJBrown1
Ware, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Warm welcome on late arrival we stayed in self catering apartment which was ideal and only 5 mins from ticket office . Hosts were great and there if we wanted anything a perfect break. Rooms where spotless and kitchen a great asset. Will definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Legend1937
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We have stayed at the Trough Ivy House multiple times and will continue to return. Terry and Carole make sure you are looked after and the full english breakfast sets you up for the day. We had good weather so enjoyed a couple of drinks in the garden when we arrived which was really nice. Alton Towers is a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brighton34
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

I only had one night at the Trough Ivy House, but it was absolutely superb! Carole is a lovely host, the little touches of heart-shaped homemade shortbread biscuits and homey furniture truly made me feel at home. Deep into the country the property is situated, right at the entrance of Alton Towers. The colours in Autumn is beautiful this time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hester F
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

This guest house is situated right by the entrance to Alton Towers Theme Park, so one can walk to the turnstile in 5 minutes. However, we were entirely undisturbed by either park traffic or the park itself during our stay. It is not cheap, but is very clean and comfortable. This coupled with its location make it an excellent choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

This is a fantastic place to stay if you are going to Alton Towers - it is less than a 5 minute walk away. Trough Ivy House was homely, clean & comfortable. Terry and Carole was just lovely - from the moment we arrived they made us feel so at home. The room was spacious and comfortable. We had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatieJane1991

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farley
2.1 km away
Alton Towers Hotel
2.0 km away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
10.4 km away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
1.3 km away
The Laurels B & B
The Laurels B & B
#1 of 5 in Oakamoor
223 reviews
2.2 km away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 11 in Alton
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated by Alton Towers main gates! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Trough Ivy House

Address: Trough Ivy House Farley | Alton, Farley ST10 3BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Farley
Price Range: ₹ 6,617 - ₹ 7,526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Trough Ivy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Trough Ivy House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Trough Ivy House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are ground floor rooms available a couple of stairs to other rooms. parking available. Wi-Fi but not always good reception.”
lyndab961, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room was extremely comfortable”
Rosiej63, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“your in the country so no high speed wifi - put away your devices and relax.”
DannyP700, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Self catering room if you don't drive”
Amy-AnneJ, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are easy access and quiet”
R8339QTangelam, 1 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 104* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 104
PricelineUS$ 104
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates