We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 369: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Where to start, how about with the staff folding laundry on the dining tables. Gross. Our room was a pets allowed room and only had a child's table and chairs (chair height 14", see photo of my husband looking like a giant) and I was given a really hard time when I requested 2 adult sized chairs from the conference...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank winnifred n
Shirley, New York
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff very friendly. Clean rooms nice size.. they were doing so renovations but nothing to bad.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeccamA1427GS
East Derry, New Hampshire
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had booked this hotel for three nights in April. When I made good time traveling from New Hampshire to Florida, I called to add-on two nights earlier.After being in the room for a couple of hours, I laid down on the bed. I immediately had bugs itching my arms and saw a bug on the bed. I brought it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albert P
Central Florida, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Decent room with 'free' wifi. The staff is mostly good, especially Heidi. But the management is horrible. Their billing practices are questionable at best. My CC was, in my opinion, charged inappropriately, and they won't admit it. I'd never go there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 846jeff
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

Mr. Petrie, Thank you for staying with us the past several weeks. As I have gone over your credit card statements with you, the charges for your stays are accurate and complete. The holds to your account have been expired before your checkout date on 4/17. That was up to your credit card company as I've explained. I'm sorry you're...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I called here after turning around from the other place I had my reservation at, nice clean rooms, bathrooms are up to date, new carpet, nice breakfast and they even have a restaurant. I will definitely stay again. Great customer service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lupercio A
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

Thank you for your response to our property. We are still making many changes throughout the property. We hope to see you again!

Regina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

Saginaw, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

We ended up here after another hotel we had booked online was disgusting. Front desk staff was overly accommodating & even helped us carry luggage up stairs since there is no elevator. Hadn't booked earlier because a refrigerator wasn't advertised. There was a fridge but no microwave. Kids liked watching pancakes being made for breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cdoll_23
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear you had a nice experience staying with us and we were able to be accommodating for you. We hope to see you again!

South Florida, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernie M
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I just had the worst experience ever at this hotel. I actually called the wyndham customer service twice and was told a manager would get back with me, that's been 2 weeks and have not heard a thing! First off I booked this hotel online, and online it says there is a fitness center on their website. When I arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle D
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

Mrs. Dilts, we have spoken to you about this incident and with Corporate. Our solution to your complaint of the first room was to switch you to a different room. You were satisfied with that. Then you came with a complaint of bed bugs, this after you inspected the room before agreeing to the switch. We offered a full refund...

Greenfield, Indiana, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 4 nights during a recent trip to Winter Haven. We got in earlier than expected, and had been in the car for 24 hours with three children. The room was not ready yet, but they did clean it so we were able to run to the gas station and return for early check in. It was nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again!

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winter Haven hotels
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
#3 of 16 in Winter Haven
235 reviews
4.2 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Winter Haven
0.1 km away
Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
#2 of 16 in Winter Haven
562 reviews
4.4 km away
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
#1 of 16 in Winter Haven
718 reviews
2.0 km away
Budget Inn of Winter Haven
Budget Inn of Winter Haven
#5 of 16 in Winter Haven
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Howard Johnson Winter Haven is an older property that has been renovated. We offer smoking or non-smoking standard rooms with a 1 King/Queen bed or 2 Queen beds with a mini-fridge, coffe maker, flat screen TV, and free WIFI. The property also has an outdoor pool, complimentary continental breakfast, and a family restaurant located off the lobby area. Howard Johnson is only 3.5 miles away from Legoland, and only a short walk or drive to many shops and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL

Address: 1300 3rd St SW, Winter Haven, FL 33880-3913
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Haven
Price Range: ₹ 4,060 - ₹ 6,509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven Hotel Winter Haven
Howard Johnson Winter Haven
Winter Haven Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look at the room you'll be staying in first to see if it”
  • No adult size chairs in room, just 2 kid size chairs and kid size table.
winnifredn2017, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Keep looking”
  • microwave and coffee maker
  • bed
  • bathroom
  • desk and TV
  • Wait till you see the inside of this
  • The inside of the dresser. Unacceptable.
Ramblingman163, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 128 was a good room for our pets and they loved having access to the back yard; close to the end so hardly any noise.”
branchs2864, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms have sliding glass doors to the outside. If you like to have your curtains open request to be away from the parking lot.”
janebC1903KG, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“go to another motel”
kenyons_13, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5