We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thunderbird Beach Resort

TravelocityUS$ 167*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Thunderbird Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,576 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thunderbird Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,531: English reviews
Floral Park, New York
Reviewed 25 June 2016

A gruop of 20 of us from New York were there in mid June, 2016 for a baseball game. Some of us were also there in June 1999. The hotel staff was very friendly, efficient, helpful, and overall very, very nice. I was dealing with Missi for our room reservations and she was excellent. Thank you for all your help....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglassft
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for all the nice things you said about your visit to the Thunderbird. We hope it will be fewer than 7 years until your next trip to Treasure Island! Your group was a lot of fun to have with us. :) Susan

Lakeland, Florida
Reviewed 24 June 2016

The room was nice. The chairs and table outside each room was a nice addition. The nightly music was fun. I especially liked walking outside our door and eating on the patio. The restaraunt has good food but you will have to add the salt, which is a good thing for us since we are on a low sodium diet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flgrays
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Thunderbird. The nightly music is a must for visitors and locals alike. It is very nice to be able to dine on the patio. When the weather is nice it is a great way to spend a few hours. I agree with you to head back when...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Still love this resort. Have stayed 3 times over the past 10 years. Location is great. Always get the room overlooking the beach. However this time we had a view of the 3 homeless guys that sat/slept on the wall below our room too. They didn'the move for 4 nights! This time we thought that they are very over priced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your repeat visits to the Thunderbird Beach Resort. I am sorry that you had to deal with the vagrants who seem to want to vacation in Treasure Island as well. It is unfortunate that we are unable to have anything done about them unless they are actually on our property and then we can have them trespassed...

Reviewed 22 June 2016

We booked this for a few days for some relaxation. We got a suite on the 2nd floor and it was great! Sure we heard families outside but that's to be expected on the beach and near a pool. While I read that the parking is a bit limited we had no issues at all as we did our shopping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Thunderbird Beach Resort. We are very proud of our updated suites and our staff. You will have to come back and stay longer to try out all of the amazing restaurant choices in the area (but Ricky T's is one of the best!) Susan

Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

This is the worst visit i have had to the beach ever. Let's start by saying i booked my room for 4 adults coming from 2 different cities. I paid $479.00 for 2 nights for 4 adults. I check in and can only get one parking pass so my sister with the fractured pelvic bone had to park 2 blocks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to the Thunderbird, but your version of events doesn't quite match ours. You made a reservation for 2 adults and 2 children under 18, which is reflected in the confirmation letter that was sent to you on June 9, 2016. The room type you booked may only be reserved for...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 17 June 2016

We had to wait until almost 445 to get our room 4pm was check in. They gave us free drink coupons that we were able to redeem for a beer or a well drink with cheap booze. The pool was filthy and I do mean filthy. Debris around where you get in and part of the apron of the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ischurley51
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit to the Thunderbird Beach Resort. Although check in is suggested after 4 pm it is not a guarantee because the rooms have to be thoroughly cleaned and inspected prior to new guests arriving. We do allow early arrivals (who often start trying to check in as...

Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

Tiffany was very sweet and a great help thanks Tiffany .I will forever be grateful for the attention shown by you and your family at the Thunderbird beach resort.It was my first time in sunny Treasure Island and your attention to detail concerning my room and outside my room was refreshing. I truly enjoyed my stay.thanks again to the housekeeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plottu2
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Thunderbird. We appreciate you staying with us and greatly appreciate you mentioning the housekeeping staff and Tiffaney. We are so lucky to have such amazing staff who take such good care of our visitors. Susan

Steele, Missouri
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at this resort. It's location is excellent and we could walk right out to the beach. There was a McDonald's and a couple other restaurants within walking distance. The pool was really good too. If we ever come back this way in Florida we will definitely stay here again. Loved it!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa J
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent visit to Treasure Island. We are so lucky to have such a great location with so many things to see and do and places to dine within walking distance. I hope you will be back this way and will stay with us again. Susan

Lithia, Florida
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Brought the family for a play day in celebration of my 12yr olds bday. Was disappointed at first...wasn't able to have his room ready/staged for his arrival. But the day has been. Great! He is loving his stay! This is one of my favorite happy places!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shernea D
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry we were not able to get the room ready early for setting up for your son's arrival. We are running as busy this summer as we were during Spring Break and summer guests tend to arrive hours before check in time at 4. We make every effort to get our early arrivals in before 4, but with...

Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

The rooms were newly renovated and were very clean, which is impressive for a beach resort. The suite we stayed in was a tad small and it would have been nice to have a table to eat at, but the beds were comfy and the appliances worked well. Their interpretation of a "private balcony" was a little loose - the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amykk727
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to the Thunderbird Beach Resort. I am sorry that it wasn't made clear that the private balconies are only available on the gulffront rooms and efficiencies in the main building. The suites have gulffront views, but no balconies on any of their rooms. We were able to do a lot...

822 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (533)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (55)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (213)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (260)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
Gulf Front Room (32)
Viewed
Gulf Front Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool 1 (11)
Viewed
Pool 2 (12)
Viewed
Poolside Effeciency Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Suite (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.2 km away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
116 reviews
0.5 km away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
514 reviews
0.1 km away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,699 reviews
0.7 km away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#21 of 48 in Treasure Island
441 reviews
0.3 km away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Feola's Italian Ristorante & Lounge
Feola's Italian Ristorante & Lounge
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Price Range: ₹ 10,786 - ₹ 19,376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thunderbird Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Thunderbird Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Depends if you want the sun coming in your front window or not.”
kathyd308, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Going in the off season helped to reduce your costs drastically, but the weather was still warm and lovely. Try their new suites next door”
ttocci, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“We chose a 1st floor poolside room and it was great.”
31charleneg, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Get close to pool !! They have table chairs with umbrellas free”
, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you want to be in the middle of everything, choose a pool side room.”
cholton2017, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$ 167* /night
View Deal
getaroom.comUS$ 176
Expedia.comUS$ 167
Orbitz.comUS$ 167
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates