We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
6600 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Get up to 20,000 Bonus Points!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$157
Hotels.com$157
BestWestern.com$156
Travelocity$157
Tripadvisor$156
Destinia.com$282
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (250)
Room & Suite (79)
Pool & Beach (62)

About

#25 of 61 hotels in Sarasota
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
At the Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway you're sure to find that little something extra. With our modern amenities and thoughtful design, the Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway will stand out among other hotels in Sarasota,FL. For the business traveler, a spacious work desk and free internet access are included in all our guest rooms to ensure you don't miss a beat while you're away from the office. For extended stays, each room provides a convenient in-room mini fridge that is ideal for drinks and snacks. We also have an in-house fitness room, so you can keep up your workout routine while you're on the road. As always, the Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway will provide you with the superior customer service that you are used to at Best Western® Hotels & Resorts.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Poolside bar
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Get up to 20,000 Bonus Points!
1905Reviews46Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 790
  • 674
  • 266
  • 73
  • 102
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jean wrote a review Nov 2022
Wellfleet, Massachusetts108 contributions56 helpful votes
The staff was great! Maintenance guys were very helpful. Pool and hot tub area very nice and clean. Nice fire pit by the pool area nice bonus! Breakfast was good! Popcorn in the afternoon. (could use to be cleaned) Cookies at 4:00 pm! The shuttle service to the grocery store, restaurants and beach is a great bonus also. Beds nice and comfortable (sheets could use upgrade very thin). Plenty of parking!!! Would stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
vickydecare wrote a review Jan 2021
Sarasota, Florida21 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We LOVE this hotel. It is clean and has so much to offer.. The beds are Very comfortable and they have the best pillows!!!! The pool is AWESOME , the hot tub is the perfect temperature and the gas fire pit is so pretty to sit around in the evening. There are plenty of lounge chairs and tables around the pool so you can enjoy the day and have a drink from the fantastic bar located right in the pool area. They have live entertainment on Thur-Sat. They provide free taxi service to anywhere on the island of Siesta key ( go enjoy a nice day at the beach or have dinner and a few drinks ) no worrying about parking or traffic. The hotel is within walking distance to several shops and restaurants and don't forget Able's ice cream. The staff are friendly and efficient and go above and beyond to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. They will give you information on local places to go for entertainment , dinner or drum circles. We have been staying at this hotel for about fifteen years and have never had a complaint. We are already planning our next trip !!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Rooms facing to pool are quieter and have a pretty view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tommy Muecke, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Responded 29 Jan 2021
We are pleased to see that you had a fun time while staying with us! Thank you for sharing your experience. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eric W wrote a review Nov 2022
7 contributions
+1
Nice Hotel, impeccably clean, with good breakfast, and well maintained. Positioned within feet for the tiny house event I went to Sarasota for. The only tiny negative came from the day manager and a militant maintenance guy who repeatedly questioned me about parking in a nearly empty parking lot. The night manager was VERY cool and helpful. I had the required parking slip on my dash. Without even looking, they questioned me, and when I informed them I was staying there, they questioned me further. Their attitude and method were UNACCEPTABLE. After showing my room key, they backed down. (I had interacted with the day manager about 15 minutes before this, so not recognizing me as a guest was just POOR management.) They marred what would have otherwise been a PERFECT stay. A shout-out to the maids. That room was sparkling clean.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: DIdn't fill up, even during an event next door. Possible negotiation here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Wisconsin4 wrote a review Nov 2022
Wisconsin69 contributions9 helpful votes
This hotel is in a very convenient location if you don't want to pay beach prices. There is a free shuttle to Siesta Key that is only a phone call away. The breakfast was very good and offered a large variety. We enjoyed the pool area daily. The rooms are a little dated, but who goes to Florida to sit in the room??😉
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jason Jeremy wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Overall, not bad. Friendly staff. But I do have one bone to pick with this hotel. When we walked in... first thing we saw was a big TV with FOX news on it. Bad move. I found myself searching for the remote, because the last hotel we stayed at down the coast (for an entire month) the guests had access to the remotes just sitting out there. I spent the entire month messing with conservatives by turning the TV channel to CNN. I guess what I'm saying is: don't put the news on the TV as a default. Especially fake FOX news. That channel has misled countless souls through breeding hate and misinformation. All they do is demonize fellow Americans. And that, to this veteran - at least, is Unamerican.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jime0823 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
The best thing about Best Western is the friendliness and service. It offers a very complete breakfast and the facilities are always clean. Excellent parking always, and Siesta Key is located 10 minutes from the beaches, and with many options for dining at night. Excellent!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria B, Owner at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Responded 4 weeks ago
jime0823 - Thanks so much for your 5 bubble review! We are happy to know that we exceeded your expectations and hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cathie J wrote a review Nov 2022
henderson, United States49 contributions6 helpful votes
Bed was comfy. Breakfast was good. Pool was very relaxing and the pool bar made great drinks. The bartender was super nice too. They have water and coffee out all day for guests. Nice pool towels too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria B, Owner at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Responded 4 weeks ago
catherinej59 - We are glad to know what worked well for you at our property and that you enjoyed some of the unique amenities we offer to our guests. Thank you for the 5 bubble review and we do hope you will consider staying with us if your travels bring you back to Sarasota.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KCKATT wrote a review Nov 2022
Troy, Alabama1 contribution
I will NEVER stay at this hotel again. I’m very very familiar with with operational aspect of BWI. 3 of our family members are in the area working Storm Cleanup and this hotel could have cared less (other than the 4 I mentioned earlier) Gas cans were stolen off of my husbands work truck and reported to the FD (Troy) and we were advised to DOUBLE PARK my personal vehicle so that we would be able to keep our eye on his work truck only to be locked out of our room for doing so. When I went down to get our keys re-keyed, the FD agent that afternoon said that the owner told him to lock us out of our room for DOUBLE PARKING. He also said “well if you want to file a police report we will look at camera footage”…he said nothing else other than there’s nothing I can do about it. The next morning, our storm crew went down to try and at least get some juice and were told “We don’t open until 7am”. JUICE for their 1 1/2 hour trip to the cleanup area was all they asked for.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria B, Owner at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Responded 4 weeks ago
KCKATT - I have a picture of how you parked your "truck" which wasn't a truck; it was an SUV with the vanity license plate MOOCOW on it so clearly, not a work truck. It's too bad that hoteliers who have been working very hard around the clock since the hurricane, trying to host so many crew and workers have people like yourself who really don't travel much nor have any concern about anyone else. I wish I could upload the pic here for the traveling public to see since you do not have any common sense nor do you have any concern for any of our other guests who also need to park at a full hotel. Your vehicle straddled 2 parking places at the front of our hotel near your room, and no one on our staff ever told you it was okay to do so. You also failed to mention that your gas cans, etc., were NOT STOLEN being on our property. It will be a pleasure to NOT host you again so no worries about not coming back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
raef862022 wrote a review Nov 2022
Ventnor City, New Jersey1 contribution
Hotel in a great location, with restaurant with bar on site. It was a brief drive to beaches, and destinations. Considering location, it had reasonable rates. The pool area was wonderful and bar with music in the afternoons. Has a delicious breakfast with choices for any age, dining area was clean and comfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria B, Owner at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Responded 5 weeks ago
raef862022 - Thanks for your 5 bubble review and sharing your comments! Great to know that we exceeded your expectations and hope to host you again when returning to Sarasota.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
471mandier wrote a review Nov 2022
Bowie, United States2 contributions
I fail to see how this hotel is a Best Western "Plus." The price was far to high for the room and amenities provided. It had a desk, but we used this for luggage, since there was no other place for it that didn't block the pathway to the door or bathroom, other than a fold-out luggage stand for one suitcase. The room had no closet, just a narrow curtained niche next to the bathroom counter with a curtain rod and a narrow shelf, too narrow for luggage. The bathroom counter space was also tiny, especially since it also held the coffee pot and the stand for the "stylish bathroom amenities" (citrus scented soap, shampoo, and conditioner). One sink. Dark spots on bathroom grout (mold? mildew?) Noisy below-window AC unit; the person next to it was cold, while the person farthest away from it was hot. Poor sound insulation--we could hear every word of conversation next door, even though they weren't talking loudly. Not enough electrical outlets. We had no internet the first evening or next day. I wasted lots of time talking to the front desk and on hold with the internet service provider. A hotel tech guy rudely and unhelpfully suggested we should have iPhones and iPads instead of Android devices, and that internet wasn't really a necessity for us or a driving factor in our choice of hotel. Even with an AARP discount, we paid over $150 a night for our stay, which I feel to be vastly overpriced for the 2-star quality. I will definitely not stay here again, and I'll warn my family and friends to steer clear.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria B, Owner at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Responded 4 Nov 2022
471mandier - As you continue to post the exact same information across social media platforms, this is a Best Western Plus and rated as such due to its upgraded amenities which include a tiki bar poolside with live music; an extensive, complimentary hot breakfast; upgraded guest accommodations with lots of space if you choose to reserve; free shuttle service; its location 1 mile from the #1 beach in the US among other things. The internet was your issue and was not an issue with any other guests during your recent stay. We do not have an internet tech on property; our staff was just trying to help you which unfortunately you fail to recognize. Your guest room was a pool side room with 2 double beds, but you stayed with us for 3 nights. If you were dissatisfied, you were free to depart our property free of charge. We fail to understand why you wouldn't do so and I would ask the public to question your motives as well. We encourage all of our future guests to visit our independent website for this reason and do their own research before visiting not only our property, but others as well. We hope you decide to do so prior to becoming a guest in another property in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$157 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express sarasota-siesta key area hotel sarasota, holiday inn sarasota, holiday inn express siesta key
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Express
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSouthwest Gulf CoastSarasota
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN PLUS SIESTA KEY GATEWAY (Sarasota) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway?
Nearby attractions include Escape Room Sarasota (0.09 km), Scandinavian Gifts (0.5 km), and Lady Brigade (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a poolside bar, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway?
Conveniently located restaurants include Abel's Ice Cream, Dutch Valley Restaurant, and LongHorn Steakhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Historic Spanish Point Campus (7.0 km) and Phillippi Estate Park (1.6 km).
Is Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.