We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Anchor Inn & Cottages

Expedia.comUS$ 172*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 180*
US$ 172*
US$ 180*
US$ 172*
US$ 178*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Anchor Inn & Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 174: English reviews
Start your review of Anchor Inn & Cottages
 Click to rate
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have enjoyed the accommodations of a 1 bedroom , efficiency. Very clean, a little dated but the bathrooms & Kitchen areas were great! Helpful staff is always available. Easy walk to some good restaurants & a perfect place if you like to bike.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy A
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am only leaving 1 star because the website requires me to. Our family chose this as our destination for our yearly sisters trip. Booking the room was a hassle and even tho the website has a special rate listed we were not given it. We checked in to cottage 22 on May 8th and checked out the 10th. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Amanda C
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Anchor Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your review. We apologize that you had a less then pleasant stay with us. As this is not our intention for any of our guests. I do believe that when you spoke to the staff on site, they wanted to speak to the manager to get their input on the items you brought to our...

hartlepool
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights in April in an A frame cottage Number 22. This is a very pretty Inn with motel style rooms and the A frame cottages situated right on the roadside. Colourful and full of character, there is a pool onsite and behind the property is a river with grassed area for games and barbecues. Bikes are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smallluxuryitem
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Anchor Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your review. The owners are working on getting bids on renovating the cottages to bring them up to date. However, even when they do get a face lift, they will still be designed with an ole' Floridian twist. As we try to stay true to the historic qualities of the property. We will definitely look...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went to Sanibel island this past weekend with my Lady, How lucky I was to book this Cottage Anchors Inn. The Cottage was very beautiful and we'll manicure to make a long story short I recommend this Cottage to anyone I'll give it a 10. Ed

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eduardo P
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Anchor Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your review!! We are pleased to see that we have made a such a wonderful impression on you! We hope you decide to stay with us again when you come back to Sanibel! The Staff at Anchor Inn and Cottages Sanibel Island, FL

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 4 April 2017

If you looking for a reasonable stay on Sanibel Island Anchor Inn & Cottages is it. My husband and I have stayed several times over the last couple of years and just love this charming place. We have enjoyed the accommodations of staying in the studio, efficiency and the A-frame cottage. Every unit has always been very clean, nicely decorated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2013LisaH
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Anchor Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review!! Too many times people only want to point out when we have failed them and not when we have helped them have a great stay. We strive to have every guest happy!! We are pleased to see that you keep coming back to see us!! We look forward to seeing...

Mount Sinai, New York
Reviewed 2 April 2017

A motel-like place that I would not stay at if it were not at a vacation spot that we wanted to explore. No shampoo or conditioner, no iron or hair dryer, carpet stained, floor gritty, and pool had algae. Nice people but just not worth the price.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank george366
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Anchor Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I apologize that you experienced issues during your stay. We could of gotten you any of the items that you mentioned had you just asked the staff for assistance. We don't stock these items in the rooms but we do have some on property if you need them. I...

Ballston Spa, New York
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We enjoyed one of the A-Frame cottages and it had everything we needed for a great stay with my parents, nothing fancy but very comfortable. Only issue is the traffic and getting in and out. There wasn't a lot of noise from it, just difficult to leave and explore. Shell washing stand was a great bonus. Staff was very welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 518Karen56
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Anchor Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review! We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future!! Be sure sure to check us out in off season for better prices and less traffic!! The Staff at Anchor Inn and Cottages

Olympia, Washington
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Basic, clean accommodation. Not fancy. Small tight bathrooms, no shampoo or conditioner. Air conditioner is mounted on the wall near the floor. Almost impossible to read the controls unless you get down on your knees. Price should be 1/3 of what they charge. The prices for accommodation on Sanibel are insane. Would never return.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank high_standards_4_me
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Anchor Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

We apologize that our accommodations didn't live up to your expectations. We strive to do everything in our power to make sure every guest has a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us each and every time. Sanibel Island is a very seasonal island. If you are looking for cheaper rates the best time to visit the island is during the...

Reviewed 26 February 2017

The A framed cottage was very nicely done in seashell décor. It had everything we needed for a short vacation. However, the bed was a box spring with a 1 inch pad on top which was not very comfy. But, we did get tons of shells! Fun!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica P
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Anchor Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review! We are sorry to see you experienced issues with your bed, we will definitely look into the mattress in your room, and will make sure that this one gets replaced. We are pleased to see you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and hope to see you...

Piqua, Ohio
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Rented an A frame cottage. Besides being absurdly overpriced, their claim of a 10 minute walk to the beach must assume you are an Olympiad at a full run. If I wanted to drive to a crowded public beach, I could have stayed in Ft Myers at a $300 a night discount and only added 10 minutes to my drive....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Fouga_Guy
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Anchor Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

We apologize that our accommodations didn't live up to your expectations. As you can see by our numerous reviews, your experience is definitely not the norm for our property. We strive to do everything in our power to make sure every guest has a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us each and every time. We just wish we had been...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.5 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,179 reviews
1.0 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,240 reviews
1.9 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
676 reviews
5.9 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,654 reviews
1.0 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on beautiful Sanibel Island, Anchor Inn offers affordable accommodations in a lush tropical setting. Private A-frame cottages, standard hotel rooms and fully equipped 1 and 2 room efficiencies are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor Inn & Cottages

Address: 1245 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-4720
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: ₹ 7,452 - ₹ 18,209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Anchor Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn & Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Anchor Inn And Cottages
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchor Inn & Cottages staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Anchor Inn & Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“our A frame number 22 was really cute and quirky but in need of a bathroom and bedroom update”
smallluxuryitem, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“OK if you can rough it and don't mind an old motel”
george366, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“"Next vacation we will pay more to be on the beach and get a comfy bed to stay more nights."”
J5216RRmonicap, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Although they were all booked, the three "cottages" looked very nice!”
catherinebQ8745KP, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“away from the family game area on north end is quieter”
237danam, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 172* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$ 172
PricelineUS$ 178
TripAdvisorUS$ 172
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates