We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sanibel Island Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sanibel Island Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,079: English reviews
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is not your five-star establishment. So if you're looking for that you should head elsewhere. But, it's Sanibel Island at what I think is its best. A little old school, a bit of a throw back. The motor lodge-type build actually works really well for beach properties. And this one is right on the beach. It's hard to beat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank themaser
Naples, Florida
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent position on the beach, just the "sand in your toes" vacation we wanted. Rooms, spotlessly clean, no smokey smells, the staff were very amiable and attentive. Bicycles available right inside the hotel, bikes with comfy seats too, a perfect way to see the island. Nearby restaurants were more than adequate with prices to suit all budgets. The only pimple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CTonline
Weston, Florida
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here with my family over the Memorial Day weekend. Beach location at a more reasonable price. Room was nice and clean. Nothing fancy. We came for the beach and shelling ... It was perfect. Plenty of lounge chairs available on the beach. You need to be out there by 9 if you want an umbrella... They go fast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Picabo228
west palm beach
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel felt more like an all inclusive resort(without the all-inclusive perks). The grounds were well kept. Personnel was friendly and accommodating to our needs. The beach is well kept and there are always chairs to relax by the pool or beach. Rooms are kept clean. This place never felt crowded and is wonderful to enjoy with your significant other...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank papazotti
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Ok, all I can say here is: thank you! We sure hope you are able to come visit again. Danny Adams, Director of Sales danny@sanibelbeachresort.com

Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location right on the beach and was reasonably priced. The beach, pool and grounds were well maintained. Our room was older...a little dated but clean and had everything we needed. We were there for the beach and that met every expectation we had. It was very nice to have chairs available on the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessie H
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks very much for staying with us and sharing your comments. Danny Adams, Director of Sales

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great location, older building. Rooms were clean and housekeeping did a nice job keeping up with the sand. However, there wasn't a working exhaust fan in the bathroom which resulted in uncomfortable conditions in the room once everyone showered. You advertise the room has a mini fridge and microwave, our fridge did not work. We asked for a replacement, twice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MommyDearrest
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

So sorry for the issue with the refrigerator(s) in your room. It is a refrigerator and yes, should work like one. Very sorry for that. Our employee's should not question your needs, no one knows your needs better than you. Again, I apologize. Happy that you did enjoy your stay with us, in spite of our shortcomings, we'll work on...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My stay here was great. With friends that I love. But from the moment I checked in, the front desk manager was so rude. You could tell he hated his job. Upon check out. They ran my card wrongly, without my signature or any authorization. And refused to write a letter saying so for my bank. He was extremely rude...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M71031
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Sorry to hear you had an issue with the payment transaction; a rare occurrence here. Please do contact us if there is an error. We are very careful with credit card(actually all) transactions and have documentation of very transaction with time stamp and cashier ID on our audit reports. If there is an error...

Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

After arriving we were very pleased with the appearance of the property. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed having access to the beach which was never overly crowded. There was always plenty of chairs. The pool area was well kept. We did have one issue with our room which we felt was not a property wide problem more likely a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt U
Athens, Alabama
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed for four nights at the Holiday Inn Sanibel and loved it. The entire staff is wonderful, food is excellent, rooms are cool, clean, and comfortable, and there are lots of little amenities--like a special bag for shell collecting and plenty of beach lounges and umbrellas. We were happy to be steps away from the beach and in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PenneElk
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is in a wonderful location on beautiful Sanibel Island. The beach is first-rate, as are the grounds near the beach and pool. The pool is excellent, and the Tiki Bar and snack bar (operated by a third party) are very good. The overall property is well-kept and very clean. However...be aware that this is a 50-60's era set...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank travelot13
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for being a multiple-time return guest; we appreciate that! We also appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. The hotel was built in 1977 and has been refurbished many times over the years, and true, that doesn't change the size of the rooms, there are limitations as to what we can do in the same footprint,...

1,029 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (556)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (146)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (131)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (207)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (449)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Beach (44)
Viewed
Pool (76)
Viewed
Poolside Double Room (67)
Viewed
Poolside King Room (72)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.7 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,058 reviews
2.1 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
648 reviews
1.1 km away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
5.7 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,572 reviews
1.0 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A tranquil boutique hotel nestled amid swaying palms and sandy beaches Sanibel Island Beach Resort is a cherished gulf-front retreat for nature lovers - shell collectors and those who enjoy outdoor recreation mixed with great shopping and dining. Guests enjoy private beach access as well as an outdoor pool and sundeck bike rentals tennis courts hammocks and lounge chairs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanibel Island Beach Resort

Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6729 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sanibel Island)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: ₹ 12,511 - ₹ 30,591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Sanibel Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sanibel Island Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Sanibel Island Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a pool/ocean view. Otherwise you're looking at a parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles patriciabZ5456KS, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We avoided the "overlooking pool" option; our corner room added to our light and privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles CNYLaker, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room facing the Gulf if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles tfagerskog, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want a view close to the beach and pool then ask for a view room”
  • View from hotel at beach access
  • View from door from a view room
  • View of trail to resort from beach
 of 5 bubbles 972stephenp, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pick up some food at the grocery to save on dining out. We did & loved our savings & not putting on pounds while vacationing.”
 of 5 bubbles JoL883, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5