We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sunset Beach Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunset Beach Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

670 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunset Beach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 615: English reviews
Clarkston
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is by far one of our favorite vacations. The view was magnificent and peaceful and the grounds were beautiful. The room was nice and just steps away from the beach. The staff was friendly and extremely accommodating. They provided us with a beach blanket when we arrived which was a wonderful, unexpected surprise. It was a nice touch and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lucy J
toronto
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here in March and were bitterly disappointed. Having had to book late, there wasn't much left so we hoped that this place would be OK. It sure wasn't. Got horrible, smelly, below ground level room 142.When we objected we were told that it was all they had left .It felt and smelled grubby. Bathroom small and very tired. not...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank gailandnorm
LuxuryResorts, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to relay these comments to me. I am taking to heart the information you have stated. I am planning immediate corrective action to resolve the comments as you have reported them. Please do not think this is indicative of our resort and we hope to have the opportunity to regain your confidence in the...

Normal, Illinois
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is our third time visiting this hotel - and without some updates will be our last.The view from the beachfront room is incredible, you can't beat waking up and seeing the gulf/ocean from your wrap-around screened in porch! Now the negatives: 1) The carpet is dirty with stains and frayed around the edges 2) The room lacked any kind...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa S
Blue Springs, Missouri
Reviewed 4 April 2012

For the price, this hotel falls incredibly short. We reserved a 2 bedroom condo for one weekend. The accomodations were clean, but that's about all they had going for them. Large pieces of furniture were squeezed into the condo and made it very tight. The one bathroom is even tighter. For the amount of people this condo is expected to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KCloyde
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The room was a decent size. The beds were comfortable. The room was very quiet, you couldn't hear anyone else unless you were on the screened in porch. I didn't like the sink or stove in the kitchen- sink handle was kinda broken and hard to turn off, the stove was tiny and outdated. Fridge was clean and worked well....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissSierra75
Chisago City, Minnesota
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I think this was our 6th stay at Sunset Beach. It was a Best Western the first 2 times we stayed. On the plus side- beautiful grounds, large swimming pool that is not crowded, free bike use, lounge chairs and umbrellas placed on the beach by staff, most staff in all areas are very friendly and helpful and lastly, it's...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Gary K
LuxuryResorts, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you goes out to this past guest for trusting us over the years by making us your vacation destination. We appreciate your feedback and it is truly valuable to us to see where we are lacking the level of service we strive for each day with each guest. Please know we do value your alliegence to us and allow...

NYC, USA
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We booked our room through Expedia, so although we should have known, the basement room was a bit of a letdown. The room itself was large and spotless, but the bottom floor is semi below ground and very dark. On a brighter note, the hotel is directly on the beach and they provide umbrellas and lounges - although if you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kika2000
Spencer,Ia
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We only spent a night here, and opted for one of the "Sanibel" rooms, which meant it was a basement room. They were the cheapest. No big deal. The room was actually nice, had some minor wear and tear issues, but overall good. The pool area looked nice, and they bring chaise lounges out to the beach for visitor use....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jeff K
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Had high hopes for this hotel, considering the high rating. But was quite disapointed, it was our Honeymoon but didn't even get a congratulations. Breakfast was included, but was just a few things in the lobby and nowhere to eat it. Not even fresh juice or bread. Also it included free high speed wifi, well it was high speed when...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dutchies_2012

793 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (395)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (68)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:51
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (139)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (381)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Standard King Room (51)
Viewed
Standard Room (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
4.9 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,990 reviews
7.5 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
641 reviews
6.6 km away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,202 reviews
12.8 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sunset Beach Inn includes forty-six guestrooms and suites nestled on 4.5 acres of tropical Sanibel Island. Our 360 feet of beach along the Gulf of Mexico offers beautiful shells, tranquil sunsets and pristine sand. Relax by the pool with the Gulf of Mexico across the horizon.Each morning prepare for an activity filled day with a complimentary Continental breakfast, with an assortment of fresh fruit and breakfast breads. Play a set of tennis or ride a complimentary bicycle and explore the 23 miles of bike paths throughout Sanibel Island. Play a friendly game of volleyball with the beach just within view. Two shuffleboard courts await a challenging game near the picnic area. The resort offers two gas grills and picnic tables-perfect for a family dinner out under the graceful palms. Whether relaxation or fun filled activities are in your vacation plans, The Sunset Beach Inn provides the perfect beach getaway for families and couples. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Inn

Address: 3287 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5611
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: ₹ 13,285 - ₹ 33,280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Sunset Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Hotel
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Beach Inn staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Beach Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from rooms 140 through 145. Those are in the basement.”
 of 5 bubbles WheelingWVMarty, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“3rd floor near the beach”
 of 5 bubbles K390FBsteveb, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in 209. The rooms with the higher numbers, up to 219, have the better view (closer to beach as the number goes up.)”
 of 5 bubbles Libby_travels_alot, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“look for surrounding area hotels that have better customer service which there is West Inn, Sanibel Holiday Inn ISLAND INN much better”
 of 5 bubbles normal563, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“there is a guest laundry room”
 of 5 bubbles 280kh, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5