We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Expedia.comUS$ 238*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 293*
US$ 238*
US$ 293*
US$ 238*
US$ 293*
US$ 238*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,115: English reviews
Start your review of Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
 Click to rate
Mendon, Vermont
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We originally started in room 202 in J. It was 2 queens and we had asked for a king so we moved to 201. Nice condo. Very clean, nice linai, and a good view of the ocean. No complaints on the room EXCEPT, the wifi was horrible. I used my phone as a hotspot to check emails and the news....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harpoonalt
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Harpoonalt, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay! We apologize for the mix up with the bedding, but are happy to hear you were able to be moved to a unit with a king bed to meet your preference. We have called the WiFi provider for a service appointment to follow up on your feedback,...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Made reservations through Expedia for a one bedroom condo with two double beds--I have a husband and child going and the pull out couch from my last two experiences at Sundial has been awful, Soooo called ahead this time to ensure I would get two double beds as confirmed in my Expedia reservations. Front desk guy said I didn't understand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Beth B, Thank you for reviewing you experience, again we sincerely apologize and understand your frustration. It is my understanding you spoke with Marina Bloetz, our Assistant Director of Services yesterday and resolved this matter. With the room type you booked, an Island Suite, the only options of bedding configurations are one Queen or one King with a Queen...

pa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our stay from Thursday until Sunday was wonderful experience.The staff were just among the mostly pleasant people you could meet.From the moment we walked in the door everyone so friendly.Greeting us with smiles! A special young lady ( Valerie) working at the pool was just a completely doll.We enjoyed talking to her. The food was just delicious and plentiful and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank coconutman
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear coconutman, Thank you so much for the five star review and for choosing the Sundial for your mother- daughter weekend! We are so glad our team was so friendly and took such wonderful care of you! Valerie has only been with us for a short time, but we can already tell she is a service superstar. Thank you for...

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Overall good. Although we were at Sundial during Spring Break - very crowded! Many families with children all having a good time. Accommodations ( 3 bedroom - gulf view ) were OK - a little tired - for the $$'s. Beaches fine; pools fine; resort - in general - fine. Food/beverage ok. Staff - courteous/professional. Housekeeping was EXCELLENT!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tklu3
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your family vacation to Sundial! We are glad to hear our team was courteous and professional and that the Housekeeping team provided such excellent service! We hope to see you again soon for another Sanibel getaway! Phillip Starling General Manager

Plymouth MA
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We traveled here recently with a friend who had stayed here last year with her husband. What a beautiful spot! We took advantage of the restaurant for breakfast both mornings and what a great way to start the day!! We enjoyed dinner at the Hibachi restaurant one night. That was lots of fun to see the expression on the kids...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WhiteHorseBeach
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear WhiteHorseBeach, Thank you so much for the five star review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed all of our onsite dining options! We do apologize for the late seating at Shima, but are happy to hear our team compensated for the inconvenience. We try to offer something for everyone as you said, from bikes and kayaks to beach...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If i had to use one word to describe my stay here at sundial it would be amazing. The room was amazing (2 bdrm coastal suite) it had plenty of space for my family,and was furnished beautifully. The food was top notch. It was the freshest of the freshest ingredients. Plus the breakfast with the ocean view is a must...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Quentin C
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Quentin C, Thank you so much for the five star review! We are absolutely thrilled to hear your family's stay was so amazing! We try to locally source as many of our ingredients as possible and take great care in selecting vendors that provide the freshest of the fresh as you said, we are glad this doesn't go unnoticed....

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit to Sanibel Island and the Sundial. The hotel was lovely and the service was amazing. The staff did not just point and tell you where to go, they escorted you which was so nice and very refreshing. The 2 bedroom unit we had was terrific: spacious, with two full baths, full kitchen spacious living area....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SBC0811
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear SBC0811, Thank you for the five star review and for choosing to stay at the Sundial for your first visit to Sanibel! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team truly cares about our guests and are always trying to go above and beyond, thank you for recognizing their commitment to providing top notch service!...

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and i spent two nights here, the room was clean; however, photos of room showed a divided between living room and bedroom, ours was one big room. The best part of this resort was the food, we had lunch at the pool bar twice and food was excellent, we also ate dinner in one of the other restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DBoone_11
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear DBoone_11, Thank you for taking the time to review your weekend getaway. We do apologize for the miscommunication. Our condos do vary in layout and configurations with some having an open concept between the living area and bedroom. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food at our various dining outlets! We hope to see you again for...

Sanibel Island, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sundial - from booking to checkout - exceeded our expectations. Our booking agent (Sharon) was extremely helpful in explaining all of our options, resort amenities, the island itself, and she made very insightful and creative recommendations that suited our occasion (25th wedding anniversary) perfectly. It was if our arrival and stay was awaited and happily welcomed. We spent every morning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Butterscotch18901
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Butterscotch18901, Thank you so much for the excellent review! We are thrilled to hear your high expectations were all exceed from booking to check-out! Sharon is a service superstar; we are so glad she was so helpful though we certainly are not surprised! Shelling is obviously a favorite activity on Sanibel, and as you said, the best spot for...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Sundial was a perfect spot for a long "ladies weekend." The price was right, the property was gorgeous. Staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. Michele at the front desk was an absolute pleasure to work with. There was a mix up with our reservations in terms of the number of beds requested along with the specific promotional rate -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Badwoman36
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Badwoman36, Thank you for the five star review! We are thrilled to hear you and your friends enjoyed a wonderful ladies weekend with us! Our team truly cares about our guests, so glad that everyone took such great care of you! Michele, Jason, and Mike are all great assets to our team, so glad that they went above and...

1,016 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (504)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (220)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (482)
Viewed
Amenities (184)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (PRE-RENOVATION) (54)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Apartment (PRE-RENOVATION) (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.7 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,244 reviews
2.8 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
661 reviews
16.3 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,664 reviews
19.6 km away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,256 reviews
1.7 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sanibel Island's most luxurious resort has completed a multi-million dollar renovation. Voted "BEST FULL SERVICE RESORT ON THE ISLANDS" and "BEST STAYCATION IN SOUTHWEST FLORIDA" for four years in a row, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is the centerpiece of this unique barrier island off the southwest coast of Florida. Sanibel is two-thirds nature preserve providing visitors with an experience of Florida the way it used to be. Sanibel Island is a natural playground where you can feel the white sand between your toes, take a refreshing swim in the blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico or one of Sundial's pools and bike the miles of paved paths around the island. The Resort offers a wide array of activities and amenities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, HydroGrid tennis courts, 12 new pickleball courts,cabanas, kayaks, paddle boards, bike tours, golf, organized activities, a marketplace, spa and sea school. One,two and three bedroom residences feature options for views with the conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's world-renowned, pristine shell-dotted beaches are just steps away. Voted Best Waterfront Dining in Southwest Florida, the resort's award winning restaurants offer indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selections. Look forward to an authentic experience as your dinner is artfully prepared right before your eyes at Shima Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, the area's only Japanese steakhouse. Shima's Grab N Go provides take out sushi for those on the go. Sea Breeze Cafe offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair over looking the Gulf of Mexico. Sundial's tiki-style poolside eatery, Turtle's Pool & Beach Bar, serves up delicious signature drinks at the bar and family-friendly patio. Slice of Paradice provides the perfect poolside venue for tasty treats such as pizza, ice-cream, hotdogs and salads- perfect for beach-goers and sunset strollers. A daily resort fee includes the use of beach umbrellas and chairs, beach towels, kayaks, paddleboards, bicycles, beach volleyball, fitness center, wifi, organized activities and tennis & pickleball court access. In addition to being voted Best Full Service Resort and Best Staycation, the resort has been regionally recognized for Best Event Facilities, Best Chef, Best Server, Best Happy Hour, Best New Restaurant, Best Sushi, Best Tiki Bar, Best Waterfront Dining and Best Tennis on the Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6521
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: ₹ 13,765 - ₹ 27,918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sundial Beach Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
79 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (79)

Questions? Get answers from Sundial Beach Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for gulf view or gulf front”
SBC0811, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Make sure your room has Gulf view, they are the best.”
DBoone_11, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Request an updated condo. Oceanfront is the best!”
Jenmade2travel, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front and or ocean view are always my favorite.”
, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in building "O" on the second floor and we had a partial ocean view . I would request a room closer to the beach front.”
LieverK, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 238* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$ 238
Orbitz.comUS$ 238
TripAdvisorUS$ 238
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates