We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
146 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
$395
View deal
Booking.com
Priceline
$439
View deal
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com$395
Hotels.com$395
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (837)
Room & Suite (164)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.

About

#1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Located in downtown St. Augustine's historic district, directly on the water, this St Augustine bed and breakfast, Bayfront Westcott House, was built in 1880 as a private residence for Dr. John Westcott who was well known for his prominent military career, interests in transportation and politics, and research efforts in the cause and cure of yellow fever. He was a land surveyor for the St. Johns Railroad (whose tracks spread from the San Sebastian River to Tocoi) and was a heavy hitter in the development of the Intracoastal Waterway that links the St. Johns River to Miami. The house changed hands a few times over the years and saw its fair share of soirees amongst St. Augustine's elite. In the 1970s, it was converted into a guest house and has been entertaining tourists and travelers ever since! Today, Bayfront Westcott House is a 16-room, full-service bed and breakfast. Every room has a private entrance. Most rooms have a Jacuzzi tub, electric fireplace, and outdoor sitting area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Happy hour
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Seating area
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Business
Languages Spoken
English
2013Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,940
  • 55
  • 10
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Chris F wrote a review Nov 2022
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida2 helpful votes
New Ownership is not professional, ethical or customer focused. Tried to remain open after severe flooding from Hurricane Ian without telling new guests about limited service and ongoing major reconstruction project. Also remained open during Hurricane Nicole when same disastrous flooding was expected which put guests and employees at risk and all had to be emergency evacuated in 4 feet of floodwater by rescuers. There’s a black cloud over The Wescott now and you should avoid!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ashley J wrote a review Feb 2022
Fort Lauderdale, Florida3 contributions
Property's Favourite Review
My husband and I are on cloud nine after leaving this place. Absolutely perfect location. You open the front door to the water. The staff is unbelievably accommodating. I have never received such lovely hospitality. Worth every single penny. Ryan the concierge is very helpful and the ladies in the morning are so incredibly kind. The chef, also so sweet. Food is great and the house is very comfortable. They all went above and beyond to help my husband and I celebrate our wedding anniversary. We will be back and we will be recommending to everyone we know.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Warren, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 3 Mar 2022
Thank you Ashley for the wonderful review! We are so happy that we were able to make your anniversary so special! We look forward to having you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thurman Scroggins wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Andre` and Joseph were excellent hosts. Alexa and Sheila were excellent servers. Amber was responsible for the paperwork. The breakfasts were well prepared and very tasty. The evening hors d'oeuvres were very appreciated. This is the second time we have stayed here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Keith H wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Enjoyed our stay although it was only for one night. Staff seemed like they really enjoyed their job. That's saying a lot these days. It was reflected in their actions as they were all very friendly and courteous. Made us feel very welcome! Breakfast was a treat and social hour was a hoot. Will definitely be back and will bring friends! Thank you for making us feel at home!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Terrace J wrote a review Sep 2022
5 contributions
I could go on all day with the professionalism, courtesy, and hospitality that my lady and I received. Andre was Amazing, courteous, professional, and hospitable. We will return, as well as plan for a longer stay. Can’t say enough about how nice the room was, the food was excellent, and we were treated so very well. Thank You!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Westcott House, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 12 Sep 2022
We can not thank you enough for such a lovely review! You both were such a pleasure to have as our guests! We look forward to your next longer visit! Thank you for choosing the Westcott House and we will see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dorothy T wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
On our "Girls Trip" we occupied two rooms, Elizabeth & Rachael". The rooms were up to date and most comfortable. The entire staff was above wonderful. Food was great and if you left breakfast hungry it was your own fault. The "Happy Hour" went beyond cheese & crackers and one evening the three of us didn't even go to dinner. The staff was very accommodating in every way. Location on the Bay had you waking up to gorgeous sunrises. We would definitely choose Bayfront Westcott House again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Westcott House, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 6 Sep 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! We all truly enjoyed having the three of you here with us for your girls trip this year! We are happy that you enjoyed the food, staff, and overall atmosphere of our Bed & Breakfast and we genuinely hope that you will choose us next year for the next annual girls trip!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
slider2181 wrote a review Aug 2022
Sanford, Florida1 contribution
+1
Friendly helpful staff. Everyone and everything was on point! The home and bedrooms were very vintage and charming! The view of the bay hand fantastic sunrises. Our first time at a B&B and was very relaxing, and enjoyable experience! Many thanks to the team!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Describe what to do for breakfast time. IE: have a seat at any table and someone will be by to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Westcott House, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 4 Sep 2022
Thank you for your kind words about our Bed & Breakfast! We are so glad that you felt so welcome and at home here with our staff and enjoyed the accommodations as well! We hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Constance E wrote a review Aug 2022
24 contributions2 helpful votes
The Bayfront Westcott B&B was a terrific bed and breakfast right on the Bay in St. Augustine to celebrate our 50th Anniversary. The staff were wonderful and couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating! The grounds were beautiful and breakfast on the veranda with the lovely fountain and view of the bay were delightful. The only drawback to the inn was that there was no pool. When you are touring all around in the heat all day in Florida, it is nice to take a dip in a pool to cool down. Otherwise, it was a terrific anniversary trip.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We were on the second floor, facing the garden and the room was quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Westcott House, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 31 Aug 2022
Thank you for leaving us a review! We are glad that the staff, breakfast, and accommodations were wonderful for you! We hope that we were able to make your anniversary trip special for you, despite the lack of the pool! Thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dan wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
My wife and I took an opportunity to get away for a weekend. We stayed in the Charlotte. The experience was excellent. The room was very clean, and the staff was great. I'd like to commend Amber for her dedication to the guests staying at the B&B. The location was perfect to all the sites in St. Augustine. The rooms are an excellent blend of old-style traditional furniture and new features such as modern bathrooms. It was a great weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The large shower with double head was our deciding feature.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Westcott House, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Dan, thank you so much for such a wonderful review! We are glad that you enjoyed your getaway here with us, and that the staff could provide such a nice experience! We hope you will come back in the future to stay with us, we enjoyed having you both!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dean b wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Very nice accommodations and clean. Love the breakfast and the evening social. Look forward to returning again! The staff goes above and beyond to make everything the best! Second year in a row visiting and we love everything about it not one complaint I can think of! We will be back again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: If you can’t go up stairs choose one downstairs
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Westcott House, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 10 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking time to leave such a nice review for us! We enjoyed having you and are so glad that you had a wonderful stay here! We look forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$376 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bayfront westcott house hotel saint augustine
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSt. Augustine
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAYFRONT WESTCOTT HOUSE BED AND BREAKFAST (St. Augustine) - B&B Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bayfront Westcott House Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Bayfront Westcott House Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include The Tasting Tours (0.4 km), Magic Hideaway (0.5 km), and Artsy Abode (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bayfront Westcott House Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Bayfront Westcott House Bed and Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Bayfront Westcott House Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Bayfront Westcott House Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bayfront Westcott House Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Kookaburra, Gaufres & Goods, and Harry's Seafood Bar and Grille.
Is Bayfront Westcott House Bed and Breakfast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of St. Augustine.
Are there any historical sites close to Bayfront Westcott House Bed and Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Jail Museum (2.2 km), Castillo de San Marcos National Monument (0.9 km), and National Shrine of Our Lady of La Leche at Mission Nombre de Dios (1.7 km).
Does Bayfront Westcott House Bed and Breakfast have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.