We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
20723 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-3625
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
$90
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/22
Expedia.com
$90
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/22
Vio.com
$67
View deal
Hotels.com$90
Priceline$120
Etrip$67
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (178)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (197)

About

#41 of 59 hotels in Panama City Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sugar Sands By The Sea is a mid-rise, family-oriented, beachfront hotel located on the quiet and desirable west end of Panama City Beach. Just 10 minutes from Pier Park and the epicenter of the beach, Sugar Sands offers beautiful gulf views, a variety of room accommodations with kitchenettes and great rates for family vacations! Spend the day alternating between swimming in the pool and the gulf and then relax on your private beachfront balcony. All By The Sea Resorts properties are 100% smoking free, including vaping. Our non-smoking policy includes rooms, balconies, pool areas and public areas. #ByTheSeaResorts
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Vending machine
Beach
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
373Reviews5Q+A76Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 99
  • 84
  • 39
  • 51
  • 100
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Stacie G wrote a review Aug 2022
Oakville25 contributions11 helpful votes
What an amazing getaway! We wanted to avoid the the hustle and bustle of large all inclusive hotels so we stayed at Silver Sands Villas, Jamaica, in a large Villa called Arawak By the Sea. And really, you can’t get much closer to the sea, which is just steps from the front door! The 4 bedroom home has a lovely tropical feel and is well appointed, as each bedroom has its own bathroom. Everything is clean and comfortable so that you can just relax and enjoy your stay. Carol is so helpful and a magician in the kitchen, cooking up authentic and favourful Jamaican dishes for breakfast and dinner. I’ve never eaten so much or so well!! Wifi allowed me to get my work done in the mornings, relaxing by a beautiful white sand beach in the day and eating dinner on the veranda overlooking the beach at night! The beach is pristine and you can always find a beach chair at any time of the day as the beach is not over crowded with throngs of people although it is lively. The ladies in the beach club helped us to book excursions to Martha Brae and Dunns River Falls. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Arawak By the Sea! It was an excellent getaway that was much needed! Book it! You won’t regret it! I
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Allison P, Marketing at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded 27 Oct 2022
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We hope you will return soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chris wrote a review Jun 2022
Louisville, Kentucky1 contribution2 helpful votes
I’ve stayed in Panama City beach two times before and this is my first in this hotel, the inside was nice, everything worked as intended and was clean. The one thing that I was NOT a fan of was how when you had the glass door to the balcony open, the entire room would accumulate massive amounts of condensation, so much that it basically looked like we filled water bottles and started dumping it on the floor. We wanted a place where that beds were next to the window where we could see out to the water and listen to the ocean at night. And the covid policy where housekeeping wouldn’t go in your room didn’t bother me at all, we set the trash out in the hallway and it was picked up and when we needed new towels we went down to the front desk and asked (same for a broom if you needed it) otherwise a pretty good stay for a simple place, don’t expect too much.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking was never a problem for us, you can wash your clothes in a building across the street.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Allison P, Marketing at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded 27 Oct 2022
We appreciate you bringing those challenges to our attention. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jay h wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Pretty disappointed in the overall stay here. 1st with the Covid-19 protocols they have in place. I firmly appreciate what they are doing by not having their staff enter the rooms during a stay but just dropping off towels when requested. The problem I have is still charging the "resort" fee but not getting the services for it. We had to take out our own trash and deal with sand in our room everyday since they didn't sweep and there were no brooms provided. I believe the price should have reflected the lack of service provided with the protocols. Next, this is suppose to be a non-smoking resort and there were people smoking on balconies next to me and NOT JUST cigarettes! Very annoying and could not sit on our balcony very long or at all due to that! Don't think we will recommend here or be back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking wasn't bad but the parking lot is TINY
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Allison P, Marketing at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded 20 Apr 2022
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are working on these concerns internally.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Expedition558046 wrote a review Oct 2021
5 contributions9 helpful votes
We were here for a girls getaway. The rooms are outdated, the tv didn’t work, but it was relatively clean. What ruined the trip was the elevator was broken the entire trip. We checked in and signed the paperwork then they told us the elevator was broken, we were on the 4th floor, and the room is non refundable. They were full so we couldn’t change rooms. Everyone we asked had a different answer about when it would be fixed. Not someone I’d recommend doing business with.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t stay here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Allison P, Marketing at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded 27 Oct 2021
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are addressing your feedback with the appropriate departments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Road27792 wrote a review Aug 2021
Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia1 contribution1 helpful vote
i have stayed at Sugar Sands for over 17 years. This is the first year i have seen black mold at the pool. They are not maintaining the property. The rooms are upgraded. The price is okay. The views are incredible. When arriving you could not find a cart to help with luggage. The staff didn't seem to concerned.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Allison P, Marketing at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded 20 Aug 2021
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are addressing your experience internally.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelingFamily wrote a review Aug 2021
31 contributions38 helpful votes
Where do I begin-WiFi doesn’t work, room flooded, no AC in front room or the bathroom, housekeeping says no clean linens available on our second day, no available luggage carts, parking is terrible, beds are old and you can feel the springs, balcony is filthy, area around pool is dirty and has areas where the concrete is sunk in, room keys have to be constantly reprogrammed, infants/toddlers in pool with no swim diapers, elevator has no air movement and inspection has expired. What happens when you tell staff, apologize. What happens when management hears of your complaints-he keep his back to you and never acknowledges you or your concerns.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Allison P, Marketing at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded 20 Aug 2021
We sincerely apologize for these issues you experienced during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will address your experience internally.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shane a wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Sugar Sands By The Sea Panama City Beach Family reunion 794402490 This place sucked as did the service. Never swept room. My wife finally went to office and got a broom. They overcharged my sister and others for rooms that were already paid for. Then charged her for smoking as well as other family members and they were all smoking at designated smoking area. Not family friendly as they let guys parade around in gowns and show their behinds and junk while kids were out at pool. They were reported but nothing ever done. They were smoking dope everywhere but smoking area. The rats were terrible and everywhere not to mention pretty big. We used to go every year for family reunion but not anymore. My sister reserved our rooms in March and the front desk was very rude and could not find anything not to mention the rooms were paid for also in March hence the double charges on check in day. One guest told us her husband fell through the bathtub and nothing was done to accommodate them either. Everyone that day had problems with their room. Some rooms were even given to other people. I do not recommend this place
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Allison P, Marketing at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded 13 Jul 2021
We have brought your experience to the attention of management and will be looking into this internally. Thank you for letting us know.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mandy g wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Do not waste your money. J Check in was aweful. I booked 2 rooms in March and paid for them. I booked a first and second room floor. Got to check in on the Sunday we arrived we had no rooms assigned to us. The lady Laytoya at check in was awful. She kept calling me honey and had the audacity to tell me to relax honey. Hence I am here for a family reunion with a lot of reserved rooms. Instead of getting the rooms that were assigned to us by Lindsey we were all displaced. Now comes Tropical Storm Claudette. Rooms are flooded the motel has no towels. You not dare ask for a mop. You aint getting one. Never again will I be back!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: do not book here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Allison P, Marketing at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded 13 Jul 2021
Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are addressing your feedback with the appropriate departments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KelleyM wrote a review Jun 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We just left this morning from a 7 day stay. Overall we enjoyed our time at Sugar Sands, and our room was very clean and we had fresh towels daily and they cleaned our room every other day. The view from our room was unbeatable. We were in 514 on the far end with no hotels next to us on the top floor. The balcony was large and the furniture was in good shape (both inside the room and outside the room). There were also beautiful views from the bedroom and living room area. The walk to the beach was short and the beach was SO peaceful and not packed which I love. We never had to wait on the elevator which was great as well. We loved using the grills at the pool for dinner, which was really nice. CONS - the price was really quite expensive to have literally no amenities other than the pool. I’ve stayed at 2 bedroom condos with a lot of amenities for several hundred less than what we paid for this trip. The roof in several places was missing huge chunks out of it and hanging down, especially above the balconies of the top rooms. There were birds living in the roof of our balcony. (We also saw rats scurry across the pool deck twice, but I think that is standard for the beach). The walkway to the beach on our side was closed for 2 days because someone was painting the gazebo so we had to walk past that to the other side then back up through the sand to get to the spot on the beach where there weren’t jet skis. The pool deck has pretty decent sized sink holes that my toddler tripped in multiple times and I tripped on once. The wooden chairs at the pool didn’t all have cushions on them and I swear at least half of them were broken, with only one piece of wood holding the backs together, one even had a piece of wood laying on the ground next to it. The employees park right in front of the buildings so we had to park in the overflow parking a few times behind the buildings across the street. The lady that checked us in was far from friendly, and a little condescending, but the other front desk staff we came in contact with we’re pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Allison P, Marketing at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded 13 Jul 2021
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback. We are addressing your feedback internally.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ndavis9027 wrote a review Mar 2021
Trussville, Alabama118 contributions59 helpful votes
Sugar Sands has a great view of the beach and a nice heated pool. But that's about it. The property is in dire need of repairs. We spent five days and four nights killing bugs and roaches. We ask that the room be sprayed and all we got was a good cleaning of the bathroom. If you're going to stay at Sugar Sands, take your own cleaning supplies and a can of bug spray. You'll need it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Breena Cocco, Marketing at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded 22 Mar 2021
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have notified upper management and will be addressing this with our pest control company.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$67 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sugar sands hotel panama city beach, sugar sands motel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sugar Sands Motel
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida PanhandlePanama City Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUGAR SANDS BY THE SEA (Panama City Beach) - Motel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sugar Sands By The Sea
Which popular attractions are close to Sugar Sands By The Sea?
Nearby attractions include Selfie Museum PCB (7.5 km), Axe Throwing Pier Park (7.2 km), and Conservation Park (4.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sugar Sands By The Sea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Sugar Sands By The Sea?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sugar Sands By The Sea?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Sugar Sands By The Sea?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sugar Sands By The Sea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paula Deen's Family Kitchen, The Back Porch Seafood & Oyster House, and Bayou Bill's Crab House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sugar Sands By The Sea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sugar Sands By The Sea have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Sugar Sands By The Sea accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.