We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Top of the Gulf Suites

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Top of the Gulf Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 137: English reviews
Start your review of Top of the Gulf Suites
 Click to rate
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our booking was for a two queen sized bed room with a pull out sofa as well it's the only reason we booked the hotel in the first place. The bathroom is extra small you can barely move around in it and was visibly dirty! The ceiling fan remote didn't work so we tried to turn it on with the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lucasjourdan93
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went for the new emerald coast car show at Pier Park and stayed at Top of the Gulf #802. Place was fantastic, all newly remodeled. Owners were great to work with. Door uses a door code which we liked instead of having to meet somewhere to get a key. Loved the area of the beach as it was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buttercup_ts
ResortCollection, Manager at Top of the Gulf Suites, responded to this review

I am excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Top of the Gulf, we are always glad to hear when someone has a pleasant stay! We have a beautiful beach and the weather has been beautiful as well. Thank you for your positive feedback!

West Point, Georgia
Reviewed 15 March 2017

When we got there, much to our surprise, ANOTHER fee was placed on top of what was paid in full ($168.00) which was to pay for parking and clean up fees. There was no convenient access to the beach and it was spring break NEXT to all the spring breakers, Club La Vela, No balcony and you can not leave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gdottielucy
ResortCollection, Manager at Top of the Gulf Suites, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay while staying at Top of the Gulf. When booking through a third party, your third party company is responsible for notifying you of the fees due upon your arrival as well as inform you that the units are privately owned and the bedding for each unit is not...

Dothan, Alabama, United States
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I want to address issues discussed on this board. Top of the Gulf is not a hotel. It is a complex of 199 units owned by different individuals. I own 4 units at Top of the Gulf and have family and friends who own. We strive to make our places nice and enjoyable. There are some owners who do not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank imasunbum
ResortCollection, Manager at Top of the Gulf Suites, responded to this review

I can only represent the on-site rental management company; we value guests’ opinions so we can pass the information along to our owners to make improvements when needed. Every unit is different which sometimes causes confusion with guest since they do not understand since the units are privately owned condos and not a hotel. Thank you for your comments and...

Reviewed 21 February 2017

My wife and I stayed in room # 811 which was in poor condition with rips on both bed comforters, an ancient t.v. with a VHS player, missing screen over the window, missing pictures on the walls with the hangers still in place, and broken, unretractable shades with missing slats. Oddly, we were charged a $45.00 non-refundable damage deposit upon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neal E
ResortCollection, Manager at Top of the Gulf Suites, responded to this review

I am saddened to hear that you did not have a good experience during your stay here at Top of the Gulf. I can only speak on behalf of the on-site rental management company. We hope that you give us another chance and book your stay with us during your next visit to Panama City Beach, Florida.

Reviewed 15 December 2016

I stayed over Thanksgiving and it was great to be right on the beach. The downfalls I had was internet was only available on the first floor, the cable went out for 24 hours and I had a child with me so we had to rent movies, my cell got terrible reception in the building. Besides these things we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanette s
ResortCollection, Manager at Top of the Gulf Suites, responded to this review

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Top of the Gulf. The property does have access for WIFI on the ground floor in the internet café. I can only speak for the on-site management but I can pass your concerns along to the HOA. Thank you for your invaluable comments.

Alabama
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

The complex is an older complex and therefore it does not boast some of the frilly amenities. There is no hot tub, or designer pool area. However there is a pool area and kiddie pool and both are adequate for the most part.I'm not sure they would be during peak times. I was not impressed with the complex as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Salty-souls
ResortCollection, Manager at Top of the Gulf Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at Top of the Gulf, HOA has done some improvements to the property since your stay that we hope you find appealing the next time you visit. We look forward to you staying here again and we enjoy your positive feedback!

Dequeen Arkansas
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

when I recerve, it was for two beds, on arrival was just a bed and a sofa bed, the toilet flushed water, had to put the bucket of the garbage so that the bathroom not overflow, when they went to fix the problem, all the dirty papers put the tub, was disgusting you want to take a shower and take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gluzmd4
ResortCollection, Manager at Top of the Gulf Suites, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Top of the Gulf; I can only speak on behalf of the on-site rental management company. All of our units are privately owned and we try our best to accommodate any request made for the reservation which depends on availability. If you choose to stay in Panama...

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Good price but outdated. Nice being on the beach though. Has pool on site with a food and beverage stand on site as well. A bit ugly and could use paint. Not a lot of space either inside room. Kind of small but convenient for a couple or very small family

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John M
Kentucky
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We booked this efficiency condo through vrbo. Wonderful location, decent price, but won't be back. Pros: Location was right on the beach, and close to restaurants. Pool and beach area were extremely well maintained, with ample seating. Room plenty big enough for 2-3 people. Laundry room on every other floor. Staff was friendly. Room was fairly clean. Cons: No patios....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kygirl73

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#35 of 48 in Panama City Beach
106 reviews
Sunbird Suites
#72 of 83 in Panama City Beach
183 reviews
The Summit Condominiums
#62 of 83 in Panama City Beach
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Origin Beach Resort
#22 of 83 in Panama City Beach
626 reviews
Boardwalk Beach Resort Condomini...
#24 of 83 in Panama City Beach
286 reviews
Long Beach Resort
#17 of 83 in Panama City Beach
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Inn at St Thomas Square on Panama City Beach is a truly unique vacation destination. The Inn is located just across the street and sits along the magnificent Grand Lagoon. The Villas and Plaza are not a busy, crowded high-rise condominium. It is actually a European Villas and Plaza with all the comforts of home set in a quaint, relaxing atmosphere. The Inn is one of only a few locations with a boat dock along Grand Lagoon. Grand Lagoon will give you easy access to St. Andrews Bay, The Gulf of Mexico, and Shell Island.There are several floor plans to choose from that accommodates 2 to 8 people. If you are traveling as a couple, family or group, rowers, triathletes, baseball, softball, cheerleaders, divers or bikers, we have rentals to fit every budget. All Villa’s and Plaza units have fully equipped kitchens and all but the studios have a washer/dryer. Though The Inn is across the street from the beach, it only takes a minute to walk across the street to the open sugar white sands and pitch your gear for a fun filled day of sun. We are within walking distance to Club LaVela, Spinnaker, Emerald Falls Family Entertainment, and Hammer Head Fred’s. There is a Mexican bar and grill on the property, a hair and nail salon and Panama City Beach Winery, Gift shop that has a large selection of the best Florida Citrus wines available. They have wine tasting daily – our top pick is the Mango. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Top of the Gulf Suites

Address: 8817 Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-4029
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Price Range: ₹ 6,593 - ₹ 14,027 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Top of the Gulf Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Top of the Gulf Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Of The Gulf Hotel Panama City Beach
Top Of The Gulf Panama City Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Top of the Gulf Suites staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Top of the Gulf Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I wouldn't recommend anyone!”
  • view of blinds inside
  • another roach on the counter when we came back to the hotel
  • when they attempted to fix the blinds after several angry calls
  • another view of broken blinds
  • Throw up on one of the pillows
  • roach crawling on the wall
  • roach outside our door
  • more or the dried blood stains
lucasjourdan93, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are owned by different owners. Make sure you see pics and get info before going.”
buttercup_ts, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Older complex, family atmosphere”
imasunbum, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Beware of extra charges and fees before making your reservation. $140.00 in additional fees above our initial booking fees.”
408neale, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“be sure to get a ocean view!”
412jeanettes, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5