We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
205 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-8105
Update from hotel: This property is temporarily closed until 01/10/2022.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$88
View deal
Booking.com$88
Travelocity$88
BestWestern.com$88
Hotels.com$88
Priceline$88
Lol.travel$105
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (410)
Room & Suite (232)
Pool & Beach (35)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 23/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 23/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 32 hotels in Ormond Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in Ormond Beach,FL, the Best Western Castillo Del Sol is sure to provide a peaceful and comforting home away from home for any traveler. Each Best Western hotel provides free internet access, giving guests the opportunity to check emails and surf the web, all from the comforts of their room or the business center. With cleanliness and value being our top priority, we ensure a restful and productive stay. On top of that, our superior customer service will ensure that we meet all your needs and go beyond your expectations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Water sport equipment rentals
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, German and 2 more
1561Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 499
  • 523
  • 259
  • 143
  • 137
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
charlie32606 wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
thinking that this would be an ok place to stay just goes to show I shouldn't think. There is so much neglect of simple maintenance that I will not be back. It was musty smelling. There were areas of the walls that had no paint and/or poor repairs of wall board.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Melissa W wrote a review Jul 2021
Bremen, Georgia74 contributions77 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
Read the reviews and was very skeptical, the room was clean ( it needs some renovations but had a fridge and microwave), large balcony, we had bottom floor so the balcony was huge, and close to the pool and beach. Breakfast was good, lots of choices, eggs sausage, waffles, muffins, fruit, cereal. The parking was tough at night but we just made a spot. Overall great stay, lots of pillows on the beds
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Think outside the box when it comes to parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western, General Manager at Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Responded 13 Jul 2021
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tammylou3 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
This facility is very dated, dirty, and needs major repairs. I was moved to three different rooms and finally settled with the third room because it was very late and I couldn't find availability at another hotel. There was mold on the ceilings and the shower head in the bathroom. Holes in the walls with drywall cracking and crumbling out onto the floor. The door showed daylight shining in because it wasn't a secure, tight fitting door. One of the rooms I tried to stay in had a non working toilet. This was not a clean place to stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western, General Manager at Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Responded 1 week ago
We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel. Your comments are important to us and we will take necessary steps so that we can provide better accommodations for future guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MLB wrote a review Sep 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Filthy. Only 1 working elevator. Broken locks. Incompetent, uncaring staff. "Challenging times" is NO excuse. I stay at hotels, BW and other brands, often and haven't encountered anything this run down before. Do yourself a favor and do not book here. I booked this this stay using free points. When I checked in I was told I would need to pay over $30 for "fees". NEVER in my many stays using points have I been told this. When I inquired about it I was told "it says you owe money so you have to pay". She didn't bother to check with another staff member or look further into the issue. I left the line so that I could pull up the conformation email then got back in line. The new person who helped me said I shouldn't owe anything since I booked with points. The original lady who helped me stepped away from helping another guest to tell him "that girl needs to pay!". I witnessed this same behavior with other guests. The hotel smells like weed at every turn and you hear other guests yelling in the hallway and slamming doors constantly. A completely run down hotel that should be gutted at least.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western, General Manager at Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Responded 1 week ago
We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel. Your comments are important to us and we will take necessary steps so that we can provide better accommodations for future guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wilfredo M wrote a review Aug 2022
Winter Park, Florida30 contributions11 helpful votes
The place was absolutely dirty my first room was missing a smoke detector and the lamp was an electrical hazard and there were roaches the next morning they gave us a different room it was a bit better but the air conditioner was leaking on the carpet by the patio door leading to the ocean view there was caulking missing all over the bathroom and dust everywhere not a good option choose wisely when staying in Ormond I have included a few pictures
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western, General Manager at Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Responded 4 weeks ago
Sorry to hear your stay with us was not up to par. We are living in challenging times , but we shall do our best so your next stay with us is much better. Regards GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
angelg4782022 wrote a review Aug 2022
West Palm Beach, Florida1 contribution
hotel is at the end of it life cycle. Looks run down and outdated. breakfast is less than burger king the Bad: quality. uncomfortable beds, stains on carpet, mold smell in room. hvac unit not working properly, lighting fixtures on corridors with exposed wires, repair patches everywhere, only one functional elevator for a 7 story building and slow and dirty. this hotel needs to be demolished or do a complete renovation. The good, excellent location, i would say it was clean and friendly staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western, General Manager at Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Responded 4 weeks ago
Sorry to hear your stay with us was not up to par. We are living in challenging times , but we shall do our best so your next stay with us is much better. Regards GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
R W wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Had to review as we stayed here for 2 nights and couldn't have been more pleased. The room was very clean, oceanfront balcony, no bugs, wall patches etc. as stated by other reviewers. Maybe our room remodel had been completed and that is why. The staff was friendly and courteous, full size fridge, microwave, even a stove if you wanted to cook meals. The price was unbeatable for oceanfront. Just hate to see the place trashed by the bad reviews when we were very pleased with our stay. Would not hesitate to book again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western, General Manager at Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking your time and writing your feedback about our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and we are looking forward to seeing you soon again here. Regards MK GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jaz S wrote a review Aug 2022
Miami, Florida1 contribution
Pros-The property is located at a good location SUN rises right in front of the building, the internet is good. Breakfast ok Cons- Renovation work going on, continous drilling, hammering sound will not let you rest in your room or if you in or around the property specially if your kids sleep in the day time. hard to work remotely with that sound. I had lot of good memories staying at Best western properties at different locations, this one destroyed all the good memories. Don't get scared if you find Cockroaches in the room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western, General Manager at Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Thank you very much for taking your time and writing your feedback about our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and we are looking forward to seeing you soon again here. Regards MK GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
15Susan wrote a review Aug 2022
Leesburg, Florida52 contributions9 helpful votes
We were pleased with everything from price, cleanliness, plentiful and delicious breakfast (scrambled eggs, sausage, toast, muffins, Belgian waffles, cereal, yogurt, etc), nice, spacious oceanfront room with balcony, large pool, easy access to beach, clean rooms which is pretty hard to do on oceanfront property, and friendly employees.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western, General Manager at Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Thank you very much for taking your time and writing your feedback about our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and we are looking forward to seeing you soon again here. Regards MK GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sarahnicurn19 wrote a review Jul 2022
Batavia, Ohio4 contributions
No cleaning was done that I saw our whole stay, fingerprints all over doors and table for coffee maker in main lobby. Did not eat breakfast since witnessed a kid smell a muffin and put it back. And the milk was from whole gallons everyone needed to pour from. Only one elevator was working so had to wait a long time. Hotel is very old, blow dryer did not work since outlet did not work. Had to unplug microwave to plug in my straightener. Smelled people smoking weed when sitting on balcony. Just not enjoyable unless on the beach.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western, General Manager at Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Responded 21 Jul 2022
Sorry to hear your stay with us was not up to par. We are living in challenging times , but we shall do our best so your next stay with us is much better. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$88 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western ormond beach, ormond beach best western
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaOrmond Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
147
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Castillo Del Sol?
Nearby attractions include The Casements (1.0 km), Ormond Memorial Art Museum & Gardens (0.8 km), and Rockefeller Gardens Park (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Castillo Del Sol?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Castillo Del Sol?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Castillo Del Sol?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Castillo Del Sol?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Castillo Del Sol?
Conveniently located restaurants include Peach Valley Cafe, Genovese's Italian Café, and Stonewood Grill & Tavern.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Castillo Del Sol?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Castillo Del Sol?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Castillo Del Sol?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Russian, Polish, and Ukrainian.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Castillo Del Sol?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Casements (1.0 km) and Rowallan (1.6 km).
Does Best Western Castillo Del Sol have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.