We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Breakwater South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,107: English reviews
Malta
Reviewed 14 January 2015

I staid only one night (12th Dec 2014) on this hotel however I was very pleased by the perfect location and its relation quality/price. For the room rate we got free wifi and breakfast in the morning. The buffet was very limited for a 4 stars hotel, holiday Inn or Ibis or B&B have better buffet. However comparing with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I have shared your observations about the breakfast with the restaurant management. We value your sharing your experience to help focus our efforts to always provide an excellent experience for our guests and patrons. We loved having you here with us. The Team and I look forward to having you here with us again very...

Reviewed 13 January 2015

Esplendor is located in the heart of South Beach on the corner of Ocean Drive and 10th St. Yes, it can get loud at times but what else do you expect from SoBe? If you want to avoid the noise, ask for a room facing away from the courtyard/pool. (However, you may end up walking outside to reach your room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelica P
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The Team and I loved having you here with us! Robert, Pablo and I look forward to having you visiting with us again soon. Best regards, Chauncey

Parma, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 12 January 2015

I stayed here for one night recently and when i came home from my trip i found a $282.50 charge on my credit card. At first i thought they double charged me for the one night room since i prepaid through hotwire. I called to find out what the charge was and i was told it was for smoking in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joe B
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

The Hotel Breakwater is a non-smoking hotel and it is stated clearly in all our literature and the registration material that there is a fee when we discover there has been smoking in one of our accommodations. This sound like what happened with you. Please contact me directly at the Hotel and I will look into this personally to see...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 11 January 2015

There is a reason why they have over 100 terrible reviews and that's hard to do. It's so loud you simply can't sleep at night. DO NOT STAY HERE. I honestly don't know how they are even allowed to rent rooms with the music blaring until 3 in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren D
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

I am disappointed you did not enjoy your visit with us. Our location here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean drive with all the non-stop bustling activity and entertainment can be noisy. We are in the process of modifying the windows to help reduce the noise. Please accept by apologies for your inconveniences. The Team and I hope to...

Mellieha, malta
Reviewed 11 January 2015

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights we had 3 rooms which were nothing special. It is very much over priced for what you get. As we arrived the 2 beds in both rooms were not ready for the children and had to wait for linen and they are not even beds just a very thin mattresses with springs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Xerri87
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

I am sad to learn you were inconvenienced during your visit with us. Our non-stop location here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive with all the bustling activity and entertainment can be noisy--especially for families. We are in the process of completing a project modifying our windows to help reduce the noise for our guests. Thank you for...

Reviewed 9 January 2015

Planned to spend New Years Eve on this hotel and had the worst experience ever. We arrived on the 30th of December at 4 PM only to find that our room was not available until 4.30 PM. After waiting 45 minutes the room was still not ready so we were offered a drink on the house and the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonas H
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

I am disappointed to learn this was your experience while visiting with us. Your observations are very important to focus our efforts to always provide a wonderful guest experience. Our non-stop location in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive with all the activity and entertainment around our hotel can be noisy. As to the long wait you had for...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Stayed for 5 nights here during christmas great hotel location right where the action is on south beach. Make sure to get room 222 amazing unobstructed view of the ocean and south beach although it can get a bit loud at night but definitely worth it. 1 star deducted for the terrible restaurant on site but other wise fantastic stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sleepypanda88
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We loved having you here with us! I will share your observations about the restaurant with their company to improve the experience there. The Team and I look forward to having you visit with us again soon! Best regards, Chauncey

Miami, FL
Reviewed 1 January 2015

My wife and a friend went to South Beach for an early New Year's morning breakfast and ended up at this restaurant affiliated with this hotel. When we ordered a simple egg and bacon breakfast, the waiter came back with two of the orders and asked me what I had ordered (I had ordered the same as my wife). He...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill M
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Your comments about your experience at the restaurant are very disappointing. That is not the way to start the new year. Our restaurant is leased to another company, but I will bring this to their attention so they can make the necessary changes to improve their patron;s experience. Thank you and the Team and I hope to have you visit...

Reviewed 30 December 2014

The location is great but beds are horrible and chairs were stained as well as the couch. Music all night and garbage trucks at 6:00am every morning.I would not go back there and we are experienced travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pthurow
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

I was very disappointed to learn of your experience while visiting with us. Our location in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive is very active with non-stop entertainment and can be noisy. We are in the process of completing a window modification project to help minimize the noise for our guest's comfort. What you describe is not the typical...

Reviewed 26 December 2014

My wife and I stayed here for the first time last weekend and will be back! Have stayed at other art deco hotels in the past that felt dated, but the Esplendor gave the art deco vibe along with a modern feel as well. At the front desk Marisol and Natalie went above and beyond and Pablo was a big...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SIGuy130
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It was wonderful having you here visiting with us! The Team and I look forward to having you here with us again soon! Best regards, Chauncey

858 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (445)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Other (124)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (398)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
City View Room (33)
Viewed
Courtyard View Room (38)
Viewed
Oceanfront View Room (37)
Viewed
Oceanfront View Room in Edison Tower (44)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room (44)
Viewed
Penthouse (33)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)
Viewed
The VIP Penthouse (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
1,075 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#73 of 206 in Miami Beach
814 reviews
0.1 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 206 in Miami Beach
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#40 of 206 in Miami Beach
449 reviews
0.3 km away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#45 of 206 in Miami Beach
2,229 reviews
0.5 km away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#92 of 206 in Miami Beach
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range: ₹ 11,231 - ₹ 38,660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Breakwater South Beach staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Breakwater South Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't pay extra to have breakfast included in your room rate.”
 of 5 bubbles Rbrmjs, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We chose a beach view. We wish the pool/bar music was played a little lower but it's MIAMI so we understood.”
 of 5 bubbles 42melaniev, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room up high and in the back if you don't like to listen to music until late - but the music was great!”
 of 5 bubbles O2604ILkerrys, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room was larger, bed was very comfortable (king size), bathroom updated. Found to be nicer than anticipated. Been to Miami Beach many times to visit, take in the night-life, stayed at many different places, found the Breakwater Hotel to a great location, reasonably priced. Weather was great too!”
 of 5 bubbles josephbE1980HB, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“please don't book no good spots”
 of 5 bubbles RC_1_13, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay