We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Panoramas (56)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,636 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,185: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Breakwater South Beach
 Click to rate
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When you want to sit in the middel of the "Miami spring break", this was the one! Roads closed, mega youngsters, dressed to the minimum, eyes wide shut! The hotel in the center of the closed area. We, from Belgium, barely know what's "spring break", so whe didn't check the date. Even though we had a room with sea view,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lunel5
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location, right on ocean drive, room is clean, staff is friendly, lots of restaurant nearby, the restaurant onsite is not very good, breakfast is provided but very limited selection, we end up eating somewhere else

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kxz255
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Hello kxz255, Thank you for choosing the Breakwater South Beach during your recent visit to South Beach. We're extremely pleased that you found the location, staff and accommodations to your satisfaction. We certainly look forward to servicing you again and would very much appreciate you contacting us directly at reservations@breakwatersouthbeach.com to prepare your next visit at the Breakwater. Yours in...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location was perfect, in the middle of the vibrant part of Miami. South Beach! Very very near to the famous Mango's. The room was clean when I arrived, but housekeeping was not great afterwards, the room had a good view of the beach. The staff was friendly. But breakfast was poor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette G
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Greetings Annette G, Thank you for sharing your stay at the Breakwater South Beach. We're delighted that you found the location to local entertainment such as Mango's was to your satisfaction. I apologize that housekeeping did not meet your expectations thereafter. If there is anything specific you can recall about the breakfast being poor so we can forward to our...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I loveddddd this hotel. Loved it. It was my first time visiting Miami and it's right in the heart of south beach. If you are young and like the party atmosphere I definitely recommend this location. It is not really family friendly so I would not advise having children here but for a bachelorette trip or getaway to have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Taylor A
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Hi Taylor A, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Breakwater South Beach. We're all excited that you have already booked your stay for this May and look forward to your return. If you would be so kind to forwarding your booking details to info@breakwatersouthbeach.com to my attention so that we can make sure your next visit is...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was an exceptionally nice hotel with great people right from our first step inside, a wonderful room, updated bathroom and superior view of South Beach and the ocean. The continental breakfast was very very nice and we will stay at The Hotel Breakwater again on our next visit to Miami. Thank you for a lovely stay.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LaurieSorochan
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Hello LaurieSorochan, Thank you for taking a moment of your day in sharing your recent visit to the Breakwater South Beach. The entire staff will be extremely delighted that you found your stay Wonderful and will return to the Breakwater again during your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department directly to prepare your accommodations for...

England
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Whilst the staff at the hotel were lovely, the hotel for over £215 a night was disgusting. The bathroom fan clearly hadn't been cleaned in months. The bathroom sliding glass door didn't shut properly and my husband had to close it as much as possible as it was so heavy I could't slide it. And the shower tap fell off-would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KittyinLondon
United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I normally don't write poor reviews but feel that at almost £300 per night, per room (and that was with a so called 50% discount) this one deserves it. The property is in itself a beautiful art deco building and that's what first attracted me to it. I booked for a family of 10, all of us of different age...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1love2travel7
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Hello 1love2travel7, We're sincerely sorry that your stay was disappointing and not what you anticipated. I'm uncertain if you are referring to the elevator in the North or South Tower as there definitely 2 elevators in our South Tower where the Front Desk is located. I do apologize that you were unaware of this. Rest assure that we are in...

Englewood, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I recently stayed at the Breakwater and arrived with high expectations. It is located in a hip section of South Beach and presented itself well as we approached and made our way up into the hotel. That is when things began to turn south. We were a bit early and were told that our room would not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kpeter0127
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First of all. If you want to stay at Ocean Drive in the middle of where the nightlife is, this is the right spot. Beautiful Art Deco buildings, close to the beach. Perfect from this point of view. Even in second floor above the bar it's not too loud in the rooms. The design of the rooms is nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonas P. P
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Hello Jonas P. P, Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Breakwater South Beach. We're delighted that you found the Art Deco buildings and location to your satisfaction. We are preparing to RE-fresh the shower tiles in our guest rooms. I apologize that the cleanliness of the bathroom was less that stellar which will be addressed with our...

Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First, was to have an early check in. Got there and was told room was not ready to come back at 4 p.m. Did so and the room that was suppose to be ready at 1 p.m., still was not ready. Did not get into the room until 5:15 p.m. The room was suppose to have a beautiful balcony. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Janice C, We're terribly sorry that you did not find your accommodations and our service satisfactory. We certainly hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you and show you the level of service you expected during your first visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservations@breakwatersouthbeach.com to allow us to prepare a more...

703 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (481)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (101)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (103)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Other (144)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (207)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
Oceanfront Room (22)
Viewed
Penthouse (40)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 206 in Miami Beach
993 reviews
0.2 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#24 of 206 in Miami Beach
1,122 reviews
0.4 km away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#41 of 206 in Miami Beach
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#51 of 206 in Miami Beach
2,320 reviews
0.2 km away
Congress Hotel South Beach
Congress Hotel South Beach
#125 of 206 in Miami Beach
1,346 reviews
0.1 km away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#45 of 206 in Miami Beach
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range: ₹ 10,874 - ₹ 42,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Breakwater South Beach staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Breakwater South Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for ocean drive, and yo will haven seaview too.”
  • room
  • sunrise from room
  • room
  • bathroom / shower
  • terras
 of 5 bubbles lunel5, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Noisy rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 386annetteg, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“View of the ocean is noisier, but far more interesting.”
 of 5 bubbles LaurieSorochan, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Where ear plugs”
 of 5 bubbles 1love2travel7, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Find another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles kpeter0127, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5