We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Penguin Hotel

CancelonUS$ 111*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 230*
US$ 111*
Great Deal
US$ 132*
US$ 129*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Penguin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 810: English reviews
Bronx, New York
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed at the Penguin last year Mother's Day weekend. When I got there I was kind of disappointed because I was told I had to leave a deposit but the the clerk there spoke to the manager and I wasn't charged the full deposit. My room was on the first floor, I only had a bed and table with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ebonys115
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ebonys115, Thank you for your continuous loyalty, and taking the time to review your last year stay at the Penguin Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had a good experience at our property. Thank you for choosing our property for coming Mother's Day weekend as well. Please feel free to send me an email to volhas@penguinhotel.com...

Leixlip, Ireland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had breakfast here the morning we were leaving Miami - the food was excellent, not too expensive and the service was brilliant. Shame we only found it the morning we were leaving but we would definitely recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EmmaReilly0809
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EmmaReilly0809, Thank you for visiting the Purple Penguin Cafe, and taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed, and it is very important to us. We look forward to having you dine with us during your next visit to Miami Beach. Breakfast is served all day long at the Purple Penguin...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

paid 1421 usd us fees for 4 nights in this motel ,elevator not working ,always,nasty rooms ,no closets,no service ,bed sheets never xhanged ,with hairs from other people prices are over the roof for what? food not good ,service worst ..management really don t care but they care about your money as they steal your money ..Well Tourists are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giulio B
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Giulio B, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are disheartened to learn of your experience here at the Penguin Hotel. The genuine care and comfort of our guests is our highest mission, and we apologize for the disappointment you had. Unfortunately I cannot locate your reservation. Could you please send me an email...

Dublin, Ohio
Reviewed 7 April 2017

We loved our stay at the Penquin Hotel. This was a pre-cruise winter getaway. All we were looking for was sunshine. The Penguin provided a reasonably priced room including breakfast. The hotel provides some physical limitations because of its age. . . no pool, no workout room, etc., But, it makes up for it with an amazing location right on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VickyHart
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VickyHart, Thank you for choosing the Penguin Hotel and leaving such a positive feedback! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed, and it is very important to us. It was a true pleasure to host you, and we look forward to your return. Kind regards,

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

I can honestly say that this trip was made amazing by these wonderful employees! Never have I had such great customer service in my life. I am truly grateful for the experience made by the penguin hotel and their staff. Although all staff was fantastic, these are a couple of the people who went above and beyond making us feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah D
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hannah, Thank you for choosing the Penguin Hotel and leaving such a wonderful feedback! It is a true pleasure to read your comments. We are delighted to hear that your stay was amazing, and look forward to hosting you again. Kind regards

Reviewed 3 April 2017

The location was perfect, just in front of the Ocean and close to pretty much everything. The atmosphere was very relaxed and most of the staffs was very friendly and service minded. This hotel charge your card a $250 deposit for your stay, it did take some time to get it back, just keep that in mind. The breakfast café...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Getko
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Getko, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you had an overall good experience at the Penguin Hotel. Your generous comments on the location, the hotel atmosphere and the service culture are greatly appreciated. You have also provided us with the pertinent comments in regards to the...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 151olenab
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Richmond
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Have stayed here before. Big changes in policy since the last time. Forced to pay bill in full on check in. There was a 250.00 security deposit which is understandable but with 3 people splitting the cost it made it more difficult. Good thing my card had enough available on it. Phone didn't work, extra towel request ignored, A/C didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donna, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are happy to hear that your enjoyed a fabulous view from your guest room. We would like to extend our apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the phone and air issues. Unfortunately I cannot locate your reservation, please send me an email at volhas@penguinhotel.com to...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Only stopped for a snack and a cool S. Pellegreno - friendly staff, not over priced for the location and great for people watching/car watching with Ferraris and Lamborghini quite common sights. From the south of Ocean Drive this is a good stopping/ turning point for the walk back down.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stuart b
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stuart B, Thank you for visiting the Purple Penguin Cafe and leaving such a positive feedback. Enjoy our Happy Hour specials on hand-crafted cocktails from 3 pm till 8 pm right across the street from the ocean. Kind regards

Irving, Texas, United States
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We spent 2 nights at the Penguin after a business meeting and were very pleased with the value that we received. The location is absolutely unbeatable, everything we wanted to do was a 2-5 minute walk. The hotel rooms are clean with modern amenities and I thought the size was just fine, plenty of room for our 4 suitcases and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Penguin Hotel and leaving such kind comments on the location and the guest rooms. We are very delighted to hear you had a good experience! It was a true pleasure to host you, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Volha

555 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (372)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Other (163)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Double Queen (46)
Viewed
One King with Sofa Bed (44)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cavalier South Beach
#80 of 207 in Miami Beach
137 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#43 of 207 in Miami Beach
526 reviews
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Price Range: ₹ 7,434 - ₹ 17,582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Penguin Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Penguin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We wanted a quiet room at the top & were given one facing a quiet alley so no view.The front will be noisy”
855helent855, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“best views very clean very convinient location”
2mainetraveler1, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If a view is important, ask for an ocean view. We opted for the better price and no view.”
VickyHart, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“This hotel charge you a $250 deposit for your stay, it did take some time to get it back”
Getko, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The only issue - the hotel next to it has a really loud ac, and you hear those all the time”
151olenab, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$ 111* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 132
PricelineUS$ 129
AMOMAUS$ 230
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates