We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1001 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$466
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Booking.com
$471
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Official Hotel
$394
View deal
Hotels.com$466
Travelocity$466
Algotels$527
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (563)
360
Panoramas (55)
Room & Suite (342)

About

#95 of 233 hotels in Miami Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Essex House by Clevelander is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes, and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary wifi, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Beach
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Karaoke
Nightclub / DJ
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Art Deco Style
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
2173Reviews42Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 934
  • 789
  • 268
  • 98
  • 84
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jenny R wrote a review Jan 2023
Clean, great location, friendly staff! Only a few blocks from the ocean, dining for blocks and blocks, and super affordable Uber in all around the area from this location. We definitely stay here again or their sister hotel next-door.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Essex House by Clevelander
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Tour325643, Thank you for the five-star review of Essex House by Clevelander. We are happy to read about your fantastic stay and that you enjoyed our hospitality. We are glad to know you loved our convenient location. Thank you again; we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane G wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!! My credit card was double charged and I've now emailed 2x and called 3x and I'm just told to try back and see if a manager is there. They don't give you a print out when you leave either. No one seems to care at the front desk. Hotel was pretty meh too.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Essex House by Clevelander
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear janeg284, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are sorry you were disappointed on several occasions and that you had a less-than-stellar stay. We are particularly concerned about not being attentive to your billing-related concerns. This is undoubtedly not the level of our service. I would humbly urge you to reach out to me personally via email at bsiegel@clevelander.com so that I may assist you in my best capacity. We will also make sure we are more diligent in our customer service efforts. Your patience is appreciated, and I look forward to connecting with you at your earliest convenience. Bruce Siegel Area General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanya M wrote a review Jan 2023
5 contributions
The rooms was clean, shower hot, wood floors in room, staff were nice! Didn’t get pics of the room! Free complimentary frozen drinks on arrival! The bacon bitch restaurant next door has great food! The elevator was a lil small only fits like 3 people! Thanks for everything
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Essex House by Clevelander
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear I8368QXtanyam, Thank you for your stay at the Essex House by Clevelander and for posting such a kind review of our hotel. We are glad to know how much you enjoyed your time with us and especially our clean accommodations, friendly associates, and complimentary breakfast. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Miami. Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard S wrote a review Dec 2022
Customer service and cleanliness of the facility is top-notch. I recommend anybody stay there-great location in south beach. And the early desk clerk, Carl, was a great help. I needed some flexibility with my accommodations and he came through huge with great customer service and solutions. Good trip made better by Essex (and Carl)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Essex House by Clevelander
Responded 21 Dec 2022
Dear richardsB8307RZ, Thank you for the five-star review of Essex House by Clevelander. We are happy to read about your fantastic stay and how much you enjoyed our clean property, great location, and excellent service delivered by Carl. We work hard to provide an exceptional experience for all of our guests, and we celebrate reviews such as yours. Thank you again for recommending us to future guests; we look forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you a wonderful holiday season. Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cecylia R wrote a review Dec 2022
Amazing Great service , from the moment you walked in .The aroma in the air is so inviting ,to the-refreshing lemon water jug . I’m simple girl who likes small details . Joel otero guest service manger who is excellent if you haven’t had the pleasure in meeting him , with his high demanding role , still has treated us like we were the most important guests here do thank you Joel ⭐️ also Beauce,G you made my trip the BEST always smiling welcoming us in and out to giving us directions you are a wonderful service to the industry . You two are the reason Essex is our new home away from home . Thank you everything was amazing . Thank you for explaining everything we need to know ,all you gotta do is ask 😁thank you guys so much
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Everyone make sure you go to their sister hotel right behind them great place drinks and food...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Essex House by Clevelander
Responded 18 Dec 2022
Dear cecyliar2022, Thank you for the five-star review of Essex House by Clevelander. We are happy to read about your fantastic stay and how much you enjoyed our hospitality. We believe in our team and strive to make every guest feel at home, so it will be a joy to pass along your comments to Joel and Beauce. Thank you again; we look forward to welcoming you back soon. We wish you a wonderful holiday season! Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim B wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
No cream and coffee in the room ? It’s here the coffee machine how there’s no extra coffee or cream ?? The front desk no no we don’t have any. Bad experience never again at this hotel it’s just simple to make your guests happy
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Essex House by Clevelander
Responded 11 Dec 2022
Dear kimbJ7660YE, Thank you for choosing us for your recent visit. We are genuinely sorry for the experience you had with our staff. We strive to provide excellent service from each team member, and we are grateful for the feedback that helps us improve going forward. We have shared your concerns with the appropriate individuals and are very thankful for your patience. We hope you will reconsider and give us an opportunity in the near future to show you the hospitality for which we are known. Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
26Shey wrote a review Nov 2022
Peterborough, United Kingdom25 contributions5 helpful votes
The hotel is clean but very very tired and in need of a spruce. The walls and doors are paper thin. We traveled from the UK so were in bed relatively early... the south beach nightlife doesn't lend to a quiet nights sleep and neither does housekeeping deciding to vacuum the hallway at 10:40pm. Also the fan in the room is like a jet engine. Be sure to check the water bottles in the room, ours were not sealed and the water tasted funny. Spat it out and got fresh bottles. Had to ask for our promised welcome drink as it was not offered. Still it was cheap enough and the bed was comfy
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid of you need a quiet night's sleep. Stay here if you want walking distance access to the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Essex House by Clevelander
Responded 18 Nov 2022
Dear 26Shey, Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience. We regret not meeting all your expectations and apologize for the issues you experienced with your room. Please know our front desk is always available and happy to help make your stay more comfortable. We utilize feedback like yours to improve our guest experience, and we appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. Thank you, and we hope to have you stay with us again. Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Myles C wrote a review Oct 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom28 contributions43 helpful votes
If you could pick a more dated, loud hotel this is the one. South beach is known for the party hustle and bustle of Miami, and is a great atmosphere. Unfortunately this hotel has got it wrong. Rooms were smelly, and had a damp smell. Corridors where noisey all night and temperature systems in the rooms were as noisy as industrial kitchen extractor fans. Showers in the bathrooms only provided freezing cold water and never heated up to the day. Don’t forget the hidden resort charge which was poorly advertised before arriving. Luckily I was only staying for a short night. Won’t be rushing back to return if I would return at all. For the UK travellers, think travel lodge but worse, for a premium price.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Hidden resorts charge for bookings at $20+ a day.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Essex House by Clevelander
Responded 27 Oct 2022
Dear MylesC788, We value our guest's feedback, and we thank you for taking the time to share yours. We always want our guests to enjoy our excellent location, hospitality, and historic Art Deco accommodations, so we are disappointed that your visit did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you experienced with your room and the noise concern you encountered as our guest. We appreciate your feedback and will share it with the appropriate individuals to ensure this is not repeated. We are grateful for your patience and hope you will reconsider giving us another opportunity to accommodate you. We are confident we can replace this experience with a more positive memory! Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shilah c wrote a review Oct 2022
1 helpful vote
👎👎👎👎👎it was me, my husband & best friend who stayed at the Essex. walls extremely thin, can hear everything next door and outside. everywhere smells musty, stuffy and like urine. bathroom extremely small. need to flush 2-4 times for the toilet to work. booking.com said we were getting 2 queen beds, but we got 2 full beds. my husband & I were extremely uncomfortable with the little space we had. the bed also for some reason has wheels on the bottom, so we had to constantly push the bed back against the wall. Heard a loud constant beeping at 6am that went on for an hour, tried calling the front desk 10 times in a row with no answer. never using booking.com again or that hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Essex House by Clevelander
Responded 29 Oct 2022
Dear 396shilahc, Thank you for choosing us and for being our guest. We apologize for not meeting your expectations concerning your room and for the unsatisfactory service you received from our associates during your stay. We never want to disappoint our guests in any way; therefore, we will address your concerns with the appropriate individuals to ensure these issues are not repeated. We are grateful for your patience and hope you will consider a return visit so we can provide you with the stay you deserve. Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Denise R wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
I would give it a 0 if it was available The worst hotel I have ever stayed. Waited 25 min for someone to show up at front desk when I checked in Elevator was broken so had to leave my luggage down. I go up and the magnetic key wasn’t working. Had to go 3 floors back down. Once inside the bedroom I realize there is no mini fridge. I go to the 2nd floor for ice. The machine had no ice. Once again had to go downstairs 2 floors to ask for eye for my medicine. Took the guy òther 20 min to go to their front hotel. The rugs on the stairs and corridors were filthy and rotten. The building feels as if it’s going to collapse as there are weird noises coming from the structure. In short, it should be a 2 star hostel. Dirty, rundown, loud with people drinking and smoking mariguana. Linens are old and just everything about this place was a disaster they don’t even have bath gel, just a cheap little soap .On top they charged me a 35$ hôtel fee when I arrived at like 12:30am and left at 11am horrified by the place
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid going there
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Essex House by Clevelander
Responded 4 Oct 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving a review about your stay at our hotel. We apologize for the disappointment you had at the front desk on your arrival and the trouble you had due to the maintenance issue throughout your visit. Feedback like yours gives us valued insight to improve our guest experience; therefore, we appreciate your comments. We are also sorry for the additional problem you mentioned. We work hard to provide a clean and comfortable environment; therefore, we regret that this issue compromised your experience. We will follow up on this to ensure we are well poised to serve you better during your next stay. Thank you again for your feedback. Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$188 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
essex house hotel miami beach, essex hotel miami beach, essex house hotel south beach, essex miami beach
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaMiami Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ESSEX HOUSE BY CLEVELANDER (Miami Beach) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Essex House by Clevelander
Which popular attractions are close to Essex House by Clevelander?
Nearby attractions include Ocean Drive (0.3 km), Salsa Mia (0.2 km), and Lummus Park Beach (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Essex House by Clevelander?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Essex House by Clevelander?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Essex House by Clevelander?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a free welcome drink, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Essex House by Clevelander?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Essex House by Clevelander?
Conveniently located restaurants include On Ocean 7 Cafe, Starlite Cafe, and Birdcage Cafe.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Essex House by Clevelander?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Essex House by Clevelander?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Freedom Tower at Miami Dade College (5.8 km), The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (1.3 km), and Art Deco Historic District (0.1 km).
Is Essex House by Clevelander accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.