We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Eden Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 411: English reviews
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We stayed here for a weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, all of the staff are so very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable with tea making facilities. The car park has ample parking space. We enjoyed our meals and the restaurant staff are great and will chat to you, we would have no hesitation in returning if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suse1826
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your comments. At The Eden Arms our staff work tirelessly to ensure your break is enjoyable and relaxing. When I pass on such kind remarks it is very rewarding, a little praise always goes a long way. We all look forward to seeing you again when your passing through County Durham in the future. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2015

I feel sad at having to give this review. It is no reflection on the hard working staff; just management's inability to fix it. As others have said, the hotel, staff, room and amenities are adequate for the price we paid. However, lack of staff and the food being unbelievably poor is mentioned so often in reviews and yet nothing... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Big_happy_Ed
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for letter and I would like to take the time to offer you a balanced response. First of all let me thank you for the praise offered to our staff, they really do deserve more than 2 stars though. I read your initial views on the quality of our food with some regret. Only quality food is sent... More 

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Enjoyed a 4 night break at this hotel while exploring the area. Our standard bedroom was spacious as was the bathroom...all very clean. General areas such as reception and entrance all very nice. Very large car park so no worries where to leave your motor. Staff very helpful and friendly. Hotel is approx. 8 miles from Durham I must admit... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SandK71
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

How fantastic it is to be passing on another great review to my staff, they certainly all deserve the praise they are getting. Thankyou for your generous comments, next time you visit I hope you can find the time to relax in the comfortable surroundings of our leisure club, a definate must-do to top off The Eden Arms Experience. I... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Spent 5days break and can honestly say it was a spotless hotel and the staff were brilliant they made our holiday.the entertainment was excellent on the down side the breakfasts were good but the evening meals were very poor the driver was one of the best we have had from sheerings.

Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff B
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

It’s very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and in particular your comments on our staff who surely are a credit to the hotel. . Thankyou for your comments as it allows us to to build on the positives and learn from any negatives. We can then strive to make your experiences more enjoyable each time... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Had a nice few days break at the Bay Eden Arms Hotel near Durham we had a lovely room with a great bathroom lovely and clean and very cosy. The food on the whole was ok don't order the fish pie it was awful the service was very slow between course's and not enough staff on duty the staff that... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Travalled
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the positives, we appreciate all feedback good or bad. I’d like to take the time to address the negatives. With regards to your thoughts on our meals, let me assure you that below standard food is entirely unacceptable and when your concerns were addressed with the catering team it was clear that this was a rare oversight.... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2015

very good stay we had from 3rd july to6th 2015 nice large standard twin room & en suite all staff r very friendly entertainment on two night also very good good bks & dinner .also lots of parking we will stay again & recommend to family

Helpful?
3 Thank reghoare1943
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your generous comments which I will personally pass on to all the staff whose hard work and commitment make the Eden Arms what it is today. We aim to provide exceptional value and quality within our comfortable Hotel and Spa throughout the year. If there is anything that we can do to make our guests more comfortable... More 

Workington, Cumbria
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Good sized rooms, breakfast and evening meals hot and a good choice. Entertainment every night, and small swimming pool, gym, table tennis, darts, pool to keep the kids busy. Good value breaks via Bay hotels, would recommend as a base for visiting the area. Plenty of car parking spaces, need a car as bit away from anywhere. Wi-fi only worked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina70
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. Our aim is to be consistent in the quality of our breaks, so it’s great to hear that you know your stay is always going to be comfortable and pleasant, whatever time of year you book. Kind regards, Laurie simpson General Manager More 

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2015

We stayed here for four nights. Our superior room was large and very clean, as was the bathroom, which looked fairly new. The hotel is next to a busy main road but the double glazing kept out all the traffic noise, so sleeping was no problem. The food on the whole was good (except for the fish pie which was... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Trippie3003
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to post your review and I would like to address some of your concerns, if I may. Firstly you'll be pleased to know that the seasons bar only closes its shutters so that we can open our second bar right next to our entertainment in The Windlestone suite. We gladly offer table service for those... More 

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I stayed here for a weekend break and had a fantastic time. This hotel is warm and friendly, the staff are lovely and the facilities are a huge bonus. After a day out visiting the many attractions of Durham I really enjoyed getting back to the hotel and going for a swim and spa before enjoying a evening meal and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire S
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments which I will personally pass on to all the staff who’s hard work and commitment make the Eden Arms what it is today. We aim to provide exceptional value and quality within our comfortable Hotel and Spa throughout the year. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Laurie... More 

Co Durham
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2015

I didn't really expect much - Afternoon Tea for Two for under a tenner. The sandwiches were minuscule 4 each - 2 cucumber and cream cheese 2 ham on bread that stuck to the roof of your mouth. The scones were not defrosted properly. There was far too much heavy cake. To add insult to injury the tea was served... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bubblesCoDurham
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Me and the team have read your somewhat unkind review with some concern. Chef has developed this dish so that we can offer quality alongside unsurpassed value, every part from the cress to the jam portions have been meticulously costed to get the very best deal for our customers. Our aim is exactly this, to ensure that we can compete... More 

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rushyford
6.2 km away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
7.1 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
2,879 reviews
5.6 km away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
14.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham
16.0 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Eden Arms Hotel is another one of our great character hotels. The building dates back to the 17th-century when it was a coaching inn. Many of our guests use the hotel as a base to explore the city of Durham and the picturesque countryside around. The location, just eight miles from the historic city centre, is the ideal place to relax and unwind for both leisure and business travellers alike. For those who are keen to explore further afield, the city of Newcastle with its regenerated riverfront and great shopping and hospitality is within easy driving distance. The Eden Arms offers comfortable accommodation and also boasts a leisure club featuring a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and spa. It is also a popular venue for conferences and weddings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Address: Middridge Road, Rushyford DL17 0LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Rushyford
Price Range: ₹ 5,425 - ₹ 10,074 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Eden Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Eden Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Arms Durham
Eden Arms Hotel
Hotel Eden Arms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Eden Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
merseyside
3 months ago
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Arnside

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Eden Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room(8) was over the dining room.”
 of 5 bubbles biggles26, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not for people with limited mobility. No Lift”
 of 5 bubbles Elizabeth251, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Corner suites are quieter although we had a room onlooking the main road and the road noise was minimal”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles JoanG827, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had room14 which was nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles smgwest4, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay