We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Yellowtail Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Yellowtail Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Yellowtail Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 233: English reviews
Palm Springs, Florida
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Pros: Guest service personnel were very nice and helpful. The guy at the front desk deserves a better gig! :) View from room was nice. Cons: WAY overpriced for what you get (almost $200 a night). We stayed in the so called 2-bedroom suite / with ocean view. It was not 2 bedroom (a queen size bed with a futon),...

1Thank SusanS0914
Rock Hill
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We had a 3 bd 2 br looking out at the water, great view clean place.Nice staff they let us stay a few hours longer on our last day. Furniture needs updated but over all really clean and comfortable. The price was right.

2Thank Wanda G
Valrico, Florida
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

The rooms were comfortable, the central a/c was great in the keys, pet friendly (minimal to no fee), the white beach & iguanas were cute. I loved my view from the balcony and the peace & quite was exactly what I was looking for. Dont leave food or drinks on the counters or the sugar/pharoh ants will invade. Also, dont...

2Thank Tyanne C
Goffstown, NH
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I wanted to write a review to let everyone know what an amazing, wonderful Inn this is. A few friends and myself were taking a trip to Key West and needed somewhere to stay for one night. While we were in Key Largo we went on HotWire to book a hotel around 10:15pm. HotWire set us up with YellowTail Inn...

Thank Kristy G
Naples, Florida, United States
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were bicycling our way down the keys and I chose this place based on its location. We wanted to bike about 30 miles a day and we had started at Tavernier Key that morning.) This is an adorable, slightly campy but lovely ocean side inn. Enjoyed quietly watching the sunrise over their magnificent pier with other guests in their...

1Thank Jen C
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I booked this room on travelocity secret rooms because hotels in the Keys are so expensive(especially on a Friday evening) that I ended up here. I was hoping that the reviews were wrong, but unfortunately they weren't. To start off, the good stuff: It is located off the beach,a nd I found the beach to be quite nice(it isn't sandy,...

Thank Danielle S
Montreal, Quebec Canada
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were looking for a place by the ocean in Marathon, FL. Through Expedia we found Yellowtail Inn. It is over priced. I realize that accomodations in the Keys are $$$expensive, but this one has the potential of being acceptable but it is run-down and not catered too. We are seasoned travellers and know the value of hotels. This one...

Thank Frankpo1814
Dawson, Georgia
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My husband and I were looking for somewhere affordable but right on the water and this place fit the bill. After reading all the reviews, we were a little concerned but decided we wouldn't be at the room much anyway so it wouldn't matter. This place is in a really good location between Islamorada and Marathon. (Closer to Marathon) Honestly,...

1Thank ACooper1180
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words! We loved having you here, and we always appreciate guests who understand the geography, as well as the laid-back attitude of the Florida Keys. Hope to see you again soon!

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We first stayed at Yellowtail Inn some 12 years ago. It was our favorite place to stay, quaint, quiet and the little bungalos offered a private, romantic setting. We just returned from the Keys and had the single worst experience with a hotel ever. The floor under the bed was so slanted that two people could not sleep in the...

1Thank Rick S
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I wish you would've alerted us to your problems while you were here, when we could have done something about it. Hopefully your next trip to the Keys will be more enjoyable.

Flint, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 13 March 2013

my bad-was in the keys last week,the weather was bad---then it broke. we decided to stay 2 more days.should have checked trip advisor first. I called around found most places to be $$$.,this one seemed ok as far as price-as above my mistake!!! 1. was quoted $125 a night + taxes and fees = $295,upon returning home found $22 added...

1Thank Glen B
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

First of all thank you for your feedback, and I’m sorry if you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. This is premium oceanfront property in the Florida Keys, and while we realize that our units aren’t compatible with a 5-star hotel, we feel the price is fair. If your needs are for something more than what we offer at the...

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (213)
View from Room (20)
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Room/Suite (25)
Dining (1)
Bathroom (10)
Other (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (7)
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Room/Suite (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marathon hotels
0.8 km away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Marathon
249 reviews
7.3 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
16.0 km away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.6 km away
Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort
15.8 km away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Yellowtail Inn

Address: 58162 Overseas Hwy, MM58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-6024
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowtail Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Yellowtail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowtail Hotel Marathon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Yellowtail Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Yellowtail Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 105 is an oceanfront cottage where we stayed. Looks like one of the best on the property for scenery and relaxation.”
 of 5 bubbles 831grege, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go here.”
 of 5 bubbles clarkebar99, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles PEFB, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Look at rooms online, then call and ask questions. Different units have different amenities”
 of 5 bubbles Mermaidindisguise, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Move along to the next hotel on your list”
 of 5 bubbles johnthefixerman, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay