We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Pelican Cove Resort & Marina

Save
Share
84457 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$286
View deal
Hotels.com
$286
View deal
Agoda.com
$398
View deal
FindHotel$321
Trip.com$321
Travelocity$286
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1027)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (333)

About

#9 of 19 hotels in Islamorada
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Pelican Cove Resort and Marina typifies the relaxed lifestyle of the Florida Keys. With its 63 rooms and suites on the water, pool, saltwater lagoon, cabana bar and café, marina, water sports and fishing charters, the resort transports visitors into a tropical paradise the minute they check-in. The myriad of activities, both on property and throughout the nearby islands, provide visitors with as much activity as they want with the laid-back atmosphere of a secluded luxury destination. With plenty of palms trees and shade to escape to, Pelican Cove Resort is the "Key" place to relax and change your latitude as well as your attitude. So if you like hanging around under a tropical sun staring at the sparkling blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean, Pelican Cove Resort is the place you want to be!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Diving
Fishing
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1087Reviews46Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 572
  • 317
  • 102
  • 57
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kimberly wrote a review 13 Jan
Michigan45 contributions39 helpful votes
We stayed here previously and cannot believe how poorly managed it has become in one year! Let me start with a few positive things: The women who run the bar are so kind and helpful! Abel’s (next door) was great! The kids rented fishing poles and they provided bait to use, we wish we realized this at the start of our stay! The beach area is nice and it’s nice to have kayaks/paddle boards on site. Now for the ugly!!!!!!!! -There is not one single manager available to talk to! We tried every single day and was told someone would contact us and nobody ever did all week!!!! We had daily texts telling us the office wouldn’t even be open and we would have to walk to Postcards office for anything we needed. Never cleaned the rooms our entire stay, we -Had to collect garbage and leave it in the hall, it would sometimes be a day or two before someone took it away! -beach towels were scarce! They were always out of them! -beach chairs in disrepair -our room was not very clean, dust on molding, shower wasn’t very clean, fridge wouldn’t seal shut, Keurig didn’t work. Beds were awfully uncomfortable, could feel the springs under them! The WORST: we asked for a cot for my son to sleep on. It was dropped off in our room while we were out to dinner. When we returned my husband opened it and it was fULL of cockroach poop!!! We put it outside and asked for a new one! When an employee finally came he wiped it off and said we could still use it (as a live cockroach jumped off and he smashed it)!!!!! UNACCEPTABLE!!! We asked to speak to a manager again and NOBODY was available!!! For the price we paid we could have gone on an all inclusive trip! We plan to contact the Better Business Bureau since we have been left with zero communication from Pelican Cove!!! So disappointed in this place!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this resort!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Responded 5 days ago
We're distressed to hear about your experience. Please accept our apologies for any concerns about service and cleanliness as well as for any disappointment with the beds and other amenities. This is not a typical experience, and we'll look into your comments further. If you find yourself back in town, we'd be grateful for the chance to provide you with more suitable accommodations.
Read more
Sarah H wrote a review 4 Jan
London, United Kingdom21 contributions3 helpful votes
So let’s start with the good bit. The view from our room was amazing. It was lovely to sit on the balcony and watch the wildlife and boats. The hotel itself is looking worn out. There was a big dried patch in the car park where it looked like someone had vomited but hadn’t been washed away. The room when we arrived was small, we had a double queen as there is 4 of us. There was one small self unit and some hanging space for clothes. Definitely not enough space so we ended up keeping some clothes in suitcases. We kept them on the couch as it looked filthy and and stained so would be better not to sit on it. The room was dirty when we arrived. Floor felt sandy and when we got settled with shoes off, our feet became black with dirt. Beds did look clean though and were comfy. The room does have a small fridge and microwave. There is no housekeeping. No option to book this either. There are no brooms or mops to keep the room clean yourself. There are no porters to help take suitcases to your room. The reception area is working on limited hours so you have to use the sister resort next door if you need any help. We had use of kayaks and SUP’s while we’re were there which was fun and my children enjoyed. They could be updated though. You can borrow beach towels each day, but they need to invest in more as we often had to wait for them to be washed. The sun beds are comfy, but some of them are starting to break. The swimming pool was freezing. Definitely no heat in there! The sea was actually warmer. Tiki bar was okay. It shut very very early. When we came back from dinner by 7.30 and fancied another drink, no chance!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Sarah, Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We're glad that you enjoyed our stunning views, and we hope your overall stay was relaxing. However, we sincerely apologize for any cleanliness concerns, as well as the other issues you mentioned. What you have described does not match the high standards we strive to uphold; while we are not currently providing daily housekeeping services, we always aim to deliver immaculate accommodations. Additionally, linens and extra amenities are available upon request. We appreciate you notifying us of your visit, and we wish you safe travels.
Read more
Lou D wrote a review Dec 2021
Cape Coral, Florida1 contribution2 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here for the Islamorada 10K and booked based on our previous stay in 12/2019. We were very disappointed: the office closed at 3:00 each day we were here- even though that was check-in time. We received an email to go to the resort next door to check in. They did not have any towels for us for the pool or outdoor activities because they ran out and they couldn’t get more because the office was closed. We couldn’t get anyone to turn on the fire pit for us even after requesting 4 times. Our bed and pillows were clean and comfortable, however it was immediately clear that our floor had not been swept and obviously not mopped for a very long time and the room itself was dirty. The sofa was so dirty we put towels down before we would sit on it. It was so disappointing - especially since we had a good experience before. Also, we had friends with us and they stayed here as well based on our recommendation. This place has plenty of potential but they need to put some money into repairs, cleaning and upkeep. Even the grounds had been let go - the lounge chairs and the furniture around the pool were extremely dirty and not cared for. We plan to come back for the race each year, but we will be looking for somewhere else to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be very careful of the parking lot - there are a lot of holes and it isn’t lit up very well.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Responded 15 Dec 2021
The issues you raise are very important to us. On behalf of our team, it was an honor to welcome you back to our property. However, we're saddened that certain aspects of your stay didn't meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies that we ran short on towels and for the cleanliness concerns you had with your room. Rest assured, we'll use your comments as a guide to help us improve for the future. When you return to Islamorada for the 10K next year, we hope you will consider giving us another chance.
Read more
Ed8940 wrote a review Dec 2021
Berlin, Maryland5 contributions2 helpful votes
Overall our stay was good here. Would we go back to this hotel? not sure. It surely needs some attention and remodeling sooner rather than later; it is surely showing its age. The biggest complaint would be that when we checked in and got to our room the sheets and bedding clearly were not changed before we arrived, there was A LOT of hair on the sheets and several stains on the bedding. They came up and replaced the sheets and those also had stains but nowhere near as bad. ALL the bathroom towels and rags had stains on them also. Every morning they start leaf blowing around 7am not sure why that early but it happened every morning directly around the rooms, I guess its their wake up call. The provided breakfast is pretty sad so don’t count on that, it’s a nice offering but the options were basically cereal, muffins, yogurt. We wanted to use the kayaks but were told we couldn’t because it was too windy (the wind was about 13 mph- they were calling for higher winds but it never got much higher, the lady working the booth said it was 30 mph winds, not sure where that was, cause our weather app said 13mph). We did use the bikes but we had to go through 4 bikes before we found one with air in the tires, one was missing a handgrip etc…again it’s a nice free feature but not in the best condition. Not much close to bike to, however. Location is the best part- the sister hotel Postcard Inn has a nice tiki bar, live music and it’s a short walk away. Other than that there are a few good restaurants/ bars nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Responded 4 Dec 2021
It was our pleasure to host your visit to the Florida Keys. Our property features a range of resort amenities, and we're glad you were able to enjoy a bike ride. However, it's unfortunate if our weather safety protocols prevented you from taking the kayaks out on the water, and we can understand your disappointment. Please know that our goal is to keep our rooms immaculately clean, and we're distressed that you had concerns with your linens. Rest assured, we will be discussing your comments so this won't happen again. We appreciate your compliment on our beautiful location on Islamorada, and we trust you enjoyed the spectacular water views. On behalf of our team, we hope you'll come back and see us again next time you desire another tropical getaway.
Read more
Sheila N wrote a review Nov 2021
North Kingstown, Rhode Island1 contribution
Pelican Cove Marina we really loved! Great view of Ocean! Wonderful experience. It is in the middle of the keys. Lots to do also. 💕 5.star resort in my book. Breakfast was great and many choices to pick from. !
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Responded 22 Nov 2021
It brightens our day to know that you had a phenomenal stay with us! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our stunning view and fantastic location, and we trust you had a relaxing getaway. Thanks so much for your kind words, and please come back to see us again at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$197 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pelican cove hotel marina islamorada, pelican cove resort marina islamorada, pelican cove resort islamorada
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Pelican Cove
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysIslamorada
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Which popular attractions are close to Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
Nearby attractions include The OceanView Motel and Sports Pub (0.5 km), Whale Harbor Marina (1.1 km), and Island Dreamz (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wahoo's Bar and Grill, Ciao Hound, and Abel's Tackle Box and General Goods.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Indian Key State Historic Site (5.3 km) and Pasta Pantaleo Signature Gallery (4.6 km).
Does Pelican Cove Resort & Marina have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Pelican Cove Resort & Marina accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.