We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Drop Anchor

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (952)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (314)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 7 motels in Islamorada
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Drop Anchor is a unique oceanfront nestled in the heart of the fabulous "purple isle" of Islamorada. Private accommodations range from Standard rooms to Suites, in most cases with private balconies. Each room is individually designed with a tropical flair befitting the unique island spirit of the fabulous Florida Keys. Our history is rich; we have been a landmark in for more than 50 years. We aspire to keep the "Old FL Keys" spirit alive while offering just 18 fresh, updated rooms with charming amenities for our guests' comfort is one of our top priorities. Lush palm trees sway over our beautiful pool and private beach. Our grounds feature tropical flora, relaxing sitting areas and hammocks under tall palms. The property also boasts an Oceanside dock and private boat ramp to our guests. Located in the "Fishing Capital of the World", we are within a few miles of the best dining and water sports in the Florida Keys and just over 1 hour from Miami
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Fishing
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
983Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 548
  • 289
  • 81
  • 32
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jack L wrote a review 7 Apr
2 contributions
Don’t drop anchor here! Bed had bed bugs mold in shower and it’s so called a restort more like a motel. The pool was hotter than a grill and there was hair and rocks all in the pool. So more things to note are the fridge and freezer in our room smelled highly of bleach. There was no extra toilet paper and on our day of check out we were fishing and got back late and we were charged 300$!!! With all that being said DONT DROP ANCHOR HERE!,
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Brandon V wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Booked through hotels.com and received my confirmation at 18:15. Showed up to the hotel to find out their check in period ends at 18:00. Got absolutely zero support from hotels.com or Drop Anchor. Requested a refund since my confirmation came after their check in period ended. Refund refused bc they say my contact information was incomplete. Although they don't mind taking my money with incomplete information. I asked for a credit for later use, still declined. This business would rather take my 205 dollars than do their honorable thing. Very predatory. Avoid at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Drop Anchor, General Manager at Drop Anchor
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Brandon, Thank you so much for your feedback. Please know that providing attentive guest service is one of our top priorities. That being said, we're sorry to hear that you had issues with checking-in but, the number you had on reservation was not correct. Furthermore, we also have a late arrival sign on our front office door with a contact number to call to get instructions on how to check-in once we're closed. As I explained to you when we spoke the other day, your reservation was booked through a third party and we can not make any changes to your reservation once it's booked. As a courtesy, I'll be reaching out to the third party site you booked through to see if I can assist you in this matter. Thank you again for your feedback, and we would love another opportunity to have you back at Drop Anchor as our VIP guest to make things right :) Sunny regards, Drop Anchor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kathleen S wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
This little boutique hotel is a gem. Tucked on in Islamorada, it has a gorgeous waterfront, bikes, kayaks and paddle boards along with hammocks, yard games and a beautiful pool. It was a stunning view and easy access to great restaurants and activities. The hosts Daniel and Donna were attentive and friendly. We wish we had stayed longer!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Plan early and get a unit facing the water.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Drop Anchor, General Manager at Drop Anchor
Responded 3 weeks ago
Greetings Kathleens, Thank you for sharing such kind words! We are elated to hear Daniel and Donna took the lead in ensuring you received excellent customer service, and I’ll make sure to let them know about of the kind words. It would be a pleasure to one day host you again and we trust you are looking forward to your return just as much as we are. Thank you again for staying with us :) Sunny regards, Drop Anchor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Patricia M wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Staff was great. Loved the pool. Unfortunately, as a handicapped person that stayed in one of there handicapped accessible rooms, it was disappointing. The shower floor was so slippery. I couldn't sleep in the bed as it was 4 feet high. I couldn't get in the bed. I had to sleep in my chair. :(
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Drop Anchor, General Manager at Drop Anchor
Responded 3 weeks ago
Greetings Patricia Thank you so much for staying with us and for leaving us feedback about your stay. We greatly appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. We are truly sorry to hear about your experience during your stay at our property. At Drop Anchor we strive to ensure our guest receives the best customer service, and it is evident that we fell short with you. After reviewing your complaint, I’ll make sure to get with our maintenance team to see what improvements can made in that room. We understand that you had issues with the bed during your stay, which caused inconvenience, and for this, we sincerely apologize. To rectify this situation, we would love to welcome you back to Drop Anchor as our VIP guest to show you what Drop Anchor is all about. Sunny regards, Drop Anchor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jahvoy a wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
I love the heated pool, the room was oceanfront it was so aesthetically pleasing. I stayed in room 320 the beautiful lady at the front desk was amazing her name is Tashera she was so patient and kind. I’d definitely recommend see you guys soon🥰
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Drop Anchor, General Manager at Drop Anchor
Responded 4 weeks ago
Greetings Jahvoya, It was our pleasure to ensure you felt welcome and comfortable at Drop Anchor Resort & Marina. Thank you for spotlighting our friendly staff, and i'll be sure to pass along the kind words to Tashera. Welcoming you back would be an honor, so please return soon for another fantastic time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
c0pper wrote a review Feb 2024
Catskill Region, New York19 contributions9 helpful votes
We booked four nights at Drop Anchor and paid up to have a balcony and full kitchen in our room (#10). There was no hot water in the shower unless you first turned on the hot water faucet at the bathroom sink. This trick didn't work for the kitchen so there was no hot water to properly clean and sanitize dishes, silverware, pots and pans, etc. The kitchen was missing a cutting board and paper towels. The bathroom was missing toiletries. The single lamp in the room was missing a switch so the only way to turn it on and off was by plugging it in and unplugging it. The shade on the front window was broken so could not be opened or adjusted. The ceiling fan was missing the globe over the light.           We went to the front office to ask for the missing items and my husband fixed the lamp. While we were out the next afternoon, a rainstorm filled the balcony with water due to plugged drains and faulty construction. The water seeped inside under the vinyl flooring soaking the bedding, luggage, shoes, pillows and anything else we inadvertently left on the floor. We asked to be moved to another room but none were available. For the next two days we walked on a squishy, damp floor that seeped rainwater through the seams. Without remediation, mold can and may already be a health issue.            When we requested a refund for the room amenities we paid extra for—a balcony (that flooded the room) and a kitchen (without hot water)--management said no. We were extremely disappointed and it clearly indicated that guests are not valued here. Despite the nice waterfront, Drop Anchor accommodations desperately need attention. We love Islamorada and will visit again, but there are many other places to stay at this price point.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Drop Anchor, General Manager at Drop Anchor
Responded 4 weeks ago
Greetings Copper, There are not enough words to express how sorry we are for your experience. Our goal is to provide outstanding hospitality at every turn and ensure the needs of each and every guest are met, and your feedback lets us know we need to do better. We are committed to positive change and will seize all opportunities to improve the guest experience. We will also make sure to look into all your concerns with our maintenance team to ensure theres no issues going on in that room. If you're ever in Islamorada again, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back to our property as our VIP guest to show you want Drop Anchor is all about. Thank you again for your feedback
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jennifer J wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
This was our second stay at the Drop Anchor and we’ll be back again next year. The property is beautiful and the location is perfect to travel to the state parks. The views and sunset can’t be beat! We have stayed in three different rooms over our two stays. All clean and beds are comfortable. Some kitchens don’t have great kitchenware. So if you plan on cooking breakfast or lunch in you may want to travel with a couple of needed items.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Brandy wrote a review Feb 2024
Jacksonville Beach, Florida1 contribution
+1
This is the best place ever! Booked on a whim for an impromptu Key West trip with my mom and daughter. Daniel at the front desk was amazing and very helpful. The views, hues and service was excellent. Key West was fun, but I would have really preferred to have stayed at the Drop Anchor the entire time....just saying.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Melinda S wrote a review Feb 2024
Kansas City, Missouri8 contributions8 helpful votes
The Drip Anchor is a great little property that is right in the beach. We had two rooms, one was ocean front and you literally stepped from the glass sliding door to the sand. It was so nice. There are kitchens in the rooms, the beds and bedding are very comfortable and cozy. The rooms were very clean. You will love Daniel, he manages the office and the property. When you step outside you will have one of the most beautiful views imaginable. The water is beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Drop Anchor, General Manager at Drop Anchor
Responded 4 weeks ago
Greetings Melindam, It was such a pleasure hosting you and your family for your stay at Drop Anchor. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed our rooms, and the beautiful views of the Atlantic from our property. Furthermore, we're delighted to hear Daniel took good care of you and your family during your stay, and we'll make sure to pass along the kind words to him. Thanks again for staying with us, and if you're ever in Islamorada again, it would be our pleasure to host you again :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kara R wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Our stay at Drop Anchor was exactly what we were looking for to "reset". Our room was perfect for our escape from the city. It rained both days but the view and room were exactly what we needed. The bed was big and comfy and the kitchenette was perfect for our stay. Danny was an awesome host and made our late check in simple and easy. Awesome service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Drop Anchor, General Manager at Drop Anchor
Responded 12 Feb 2024
Greetings Karar, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Drop Anchor. We're very happy to hear Daniel went over and beyond to make sure your stay was perfect while you "reset." I'll be sure to pass along the nice remarks. It was a pleasure to host you, and you're welcome back whenever you return to Islamorada :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Islamorada area.
PRICE RANGE
₹19,757 - ₹32,844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
drop anchor hotel islamorada
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysIslamorada
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DROP ANCHOR (Islamorada) - Motel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Drop Anchor
Which popular attractions are close to Drop Anchor?
Nearby attractions include History of Diving Museum (3.1 km), Old Road Gallery (6.1 km), and Lobster Trap Art Gift Shop and Gallery (4.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Drop Anchor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Drop Anchor?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Drop Anchor?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Drop Anchor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Drop Anchor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mangrove Mike's Cafe, Whale Harbor Seafood Feast (Buffet), and Wahoo's Bar and Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Drop Anchor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Drop Anchor?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Islamorada Art Gallery By Pasta (5.6 km).
Does Drop Anchor have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Drop Anchor accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.