We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mermaid & The Alligator

Traveller (807)
Room & Suite (330)
Dining (81)
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast More while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. Less
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Room Service
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
Price range
US$ 148 - US$ 328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Mermaid And The Alligator
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Reviews (960)
There are newer reviews for The Mermaid & The Alligator
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
923 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bamboo room audubon room treetop suite evening wine afternoon lemonade key lime complimentary wine thought of everything plunge pool quiche other guests the main house beach towels each morning tropical oasis queen room breakfast was delicious
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 923 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Leaving the Mermaid and Alligator was absolutely the worst part of the end of my trip to the keys - which is really saying something, cuz the islands are incredible! I stayed in the key lime room with my sister, and even though it is...More

1  Thank Name-birthyear
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

We drove out to key West from Miami for the weekend and had the most relaxing time in the garden room, which is small but beautifully decorated and opens out onto the garden. Would choose this room again. It seems like the Mermaid and Alligator...More

Thank Sarah451985
Response from Geri L, General Manager at The Mermaid & The AlligatorResponded 17 July 2018

You were here on a Sunday when Jose Granda plays guitar--our "jazz Sunday." I'm so glad you enjoyed him, the breakfast, your room, and all the amenities. We hope to give every guest the opportunity to chill out and relax while you're here. Please come...More

Reviewed 2 July 2018

We had a simply delightful stay in the Audubon Room - from the delicious breakfast served each morning in the garden to the peace and quiet in the evening - what more can you ask for (and all this only a stones throw from Duval...More

Thank Beverley S
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

This is our second time staying at the Mermaid & the Alligator. Once we stayed in the cottage and once in the main house. It is simply an oasis in the middle of the city. When you are in the garden, you could forget you...More

Thank Acetrucking
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Mermaid and The Alligator June 18-24. We stayed in the Garden Room and then moved to the Caribbean Queen. Both rooms were awesome but the Caribbean Queen was larger. Very clean and comfortable! The linens and the amenities were fabulous! The...More

Thank slapshot2902
Response from Geri L, General Manager at The Mermaid & The AlligatorResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for staying with us, thank you for writing, thank you for letting us know what you liked. Come back again! Geri Manager

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
9 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from GeriL61 | Property representative |
Hi there! There are a couple of beaches nearby--Higgs Beach is our neighborhood beach where you can rent beach chairs and umbrellas. Salute restaurant is right there with delicious lunches and dinners. Fort Zachary Taylor... More
5 May 2018|
Response from GeriL61 | Property representative |
It's heated to skin temperature and has spa jets our guests can control. We can lower the temp by a few degrees if requested. Geri L. Manager
16 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from GeriL61 | Property representative |
Hello, That's a good question. We have a large capacity Mitshubishi ductless A/C in the main part of the suite and a wall unit near the tub. Together, they do the job of keeping the room cool in any season. Treetop is... More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing