We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,075 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Bay Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 869: English reviews
New Albany, Mississippi
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed for two weeks and was never disappointed. The hotel staff was very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was terrific. If I get the chance to go back to Key West, I will definitely choose this hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James F
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Wow, two weeks in Paradise. Thank you for choosing our resort. At this point you know the place very well, so I am glad to know you were really happy you chose Ibis Bay. See you soon?

Annecy, France
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at the Ibis for 4 three nights; comforable accommodations with a pool and one of the best restuarants in Key West, the Stoned Crab. The Ibis is about a 5 minute drive from downtown Key West. Only downside is the road construction in front.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine2010
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am very glad to hear you had such a good time. The road construction will will be finished on our side in mid-January. It will be nice to get our landscaping at the entrance back into shape. The new drive and sidewalk will also make pulling in and out of the resort easier than ever. Thanks for choosing Ibis...

viroqua
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I'm not sure why there are so many negative reviews. My fiance and I booked a value room for 5 nights and we were very pleased. Although it was small it was perfectly fine for the two of us. The room was Immaculately clean (cleaner than many 4+ star hotels I've stayed) and the atmosphere was great. Overall I feel...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank schmiga
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Because we are deliberately unconventional (its Key West after all) and a historic 50s design, people who want a traditional hotel don't always "get" Ibis Bay. It's the price we pay for choosing to be different. Obviously more people "get it" than don't so we do fine overall. We have tried to make our new website very clear about our...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I start by saying "unclearly" quite simply because I have just discovered so much more about the hotel, from reading these reviews, AFTER we stayed there. Its a delightful place, great prices too, the rooms are bright, clean and adequate. (Although the bathroom could do with a shelf) My observations are as such, we saw no mention of the new...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PHIVA2013
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Well, your comments have nudged me. We are now making up an in-room folder that will point out all the services and facilities of the hotel including the new downtown shuttle. I look forward to seeing you next time around. Thank you for your suggestions and for choosing to stay at Ibis Bay.

Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

The room is a size of a match box, the shower is the size of a child's closest door... the sink was stopped up the ac felt like the heater no wash rags we couldn't bath the first night. .. then when we spoke to the owner he said no refund we got your money you can leave, my husband...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah H
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Starting by saying his family members were senior executives at Tripadvisor, this guest threatened to write us a bad review on Tripadvisor, if we did not give him a big discount off his room. So the situations was passed to me. Why a discount? Because there were just two faceclothes in his room's towel set when he arrived. Their Value...

Amherstburg, Canada
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We recently had a five night stay at this unique "Boutique Hotel" that has a fabulous funky 50's vibe in the decor of the rooms and the resort. There is a great restaurant on site called the Stoned Crab with an open air quality that enhanced the dinning experience. We especially enjoyed our 5 Breakfasts there and the great service...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michelle W
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Sounds like you really enjoyed your time with us. We are all in love with our animals. Also, we are now just starting a free shuttle bus service to and from downtown between 7am and 10pm. So you guys save on cab fares or choosing a designated driver. Thank you for such a good review. Come back!!

Jackson, Michigan
Reviewed 8 December 2013

First i think we should start with the whole water front thing, they do indeed have rooms on the water, but its not what you think, the water smells bad, there's a couple feet of sand between your room and the rocks that go down into the water, the hotel looks old and kind of beaten up, the rooms aren't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hunter J
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Like every tidal beach in Florida, the tides, weather temprature and seaweed season can sometimes create a bit of a stink, but not often and not very strong. Unfortunately you were here when it happened. We are proud of being a Florida Fifties hotel. They are rare these days and that makes them fun. A step back in time. I...

West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 4 December 2013

A bird screamed like clockwork at 7 am both mornings for a half hour until someone fed it. No ice machines must walk over to local restaraunt. Grounds people talking loudly early in the mornings. Decent price compared to others but don't plan on sleeping in!!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dave E
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed it here for the most part. Macaws can be loud when they want something. I am sorry they woke you. Our ice machines are centrally located in our resort restaurant in the middle of the resort. Unfortunately we had to relocate them there and lock them up because fishermen were emptying our machines of ice...

Miamisburg, Ohio
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Little pricey for the room size. Stayed for a night with my wife. The Room was very small with just one person standing space around the double bed, but neat. The washroom was neat too. Location was good. But for a $145 per night, give another thought.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vivekanand K
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

You chose to stay in a Value Room. While they are compact, they are a great bargain for Key West and thats what makes them sell out first. Next time you stay with us though you will get a free upgrade as a returning guest. Your room will be much larger. You may even get a beachfront room. They are...

Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We took a trip down to Key West for the weekend. We had a great time. the room was beautiful, the staff was excellent. On our last night there we were back in our room, and by accident some red wine was spilled. It was midnight so I had to use a face cloth to wipe up the mess. We...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank lisa m
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am glad you said you had a great time, thought your room was beautiful and added that the staff was excellent. Unfortunately the red wine you spilled soaked through the sheets to the mattress. The towels you used to mop up the mess would not come clean. Ibis Bay is a non-smoking hotel. You freely smoked in your room....

938 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (694)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (105)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (175)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (256)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (213)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Other (64)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#38 of 50 in Key West
2,263 reviews
3.6 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 50 in Key West
743 reviews
1.5 km away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#33 of 50 in Key West
366 reviews
0.5 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: ₹ 14,199 - ₹ 26,282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Bay Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Bay Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We asked for a family sized room. 3 Queens sized beds on the water!”
 of 5 bubbles acreich, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for waterfront.”
 of 5 bubbles progonoskis, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles rexdunn, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you absolutely must stay here, insist to see several rooms before choosing. They are all different.”
 of 5 bubbles danielarusk, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Water front rooms are very nice, hammock and deck chairs in the sand in front of a small pier”
 of 5 bubbles gorefist4, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay