We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Bay Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 905: English reviews
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 27 September 2014 via mobile

This place got 3 stars in my book, the shuttle is a nice feature. But it stops running at 9pm....not sure how useful it is here in key west. Customer service was a little on the rude side. Rooms are small and decorated "ikea meets the beach" property grounds are nice, clear pool, nice restaurant. I feel nicer places, closer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liketotaste
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for staying here. We already extend the hours of the shuttle bus for holiday weekends and special events. We also run two shuttle buses. This week the shuttle ran until 10:45pm. But based on what you have said and some other guests too, we are considering to extend the hours all the time. Thanks for the heads up....

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 24 September 2014

Same old run down 1950's vintage motel with a new name. Lawn furniture in the rooms, you lock the sliding door with a broom handle, cable TV doesnt work, etc. It takes a lot of gall to charge $273 a night and call this a resort. Sent a crew to the USCG base for work, had to pre-pay for the...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Bob D
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Unfortunately for me, this review is not truthful. Here's why. This company booked 2 days before a big Key West event called The Poker Run. Even still, we gave them a good "workers" rate but on the condition that they were completely non-cancellable. Just like an airfare. Those rates were not the $275 Bob D says, or even close. The...

Georgia
Reviewed 21 September 2014

First, you have to know that there is no real "beach" at the hotel on Key West. We had a lovely walk out to a sand bar and access to the dock that leads into the bay. The rooms are regular beach rooms. Tile floors, small bathroom and limited space. However, the reason that I gave this "resort" very good...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Internationalgagirl
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

When my wife and I bought Ibis Bay it was notorious for being a bad place. Some of the older Key Westers still haven't caught up with all the changes we have made. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We both appreciate your business and want you to know that. Chris Holland

Reviewed 19 September 2014 via mobile

This motel is very interesting in that it's an old Key West classic. Recently extensively renovated this property sits on the Gulf side with great beaches wonderful views terrific swimming pool and a very good restaurant too. The rooms tend to be a bit small but nicely appointed and hey this is Key West what do you expect. So bring...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Don L
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi Don, You nailed it. Ibis Bay was built in 1956 and we love that so when we renovated we didn't want to change that feeling, just enhance it. You have written an amazing number of reviews so I really appreciate your opinion. Chris Holland

Barrington, Illinois
Reviewed 10 September 2014

We stayed at this hotel one night while visiting Key West. The room was incredibly small. We had trouble finding space to open both of our suitcases while we were both in the room. The resort is old and the room was old. The staff was very personable. Very few amenities. The price was outrageous for what was provided. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RPS1971
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Our website's room photos, architectural floor plans, square ft measurements AND virtual video room tours add up to be the most accurate presentation of hotel rooms that I have ever seen. We do not lie at all. Based on your comments, I believe you chose one of our Value Rooms. They are small but a good value for Key West....

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Stayed at Ibist Bay August 26th - 31st and had a wonderful time. The beach front rooms were beautiful, clean and with a magnificent view. The private deck and the hammock was very nice. The pool area was good. I would especially like to thank the staff at the bar - breakfast and evening drinks at the bar was great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janne G
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

We will look forward to your next visit to Key West. Thank you from me and my staff at The Stoned Crab restaurant. I am glad you had such a nice stay.

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Normally when we go to key west we go to the b&b near duval or simonton street....this time we wanted to try ibis bay because of the beach.....ahah awful beach you cannot even swim as it is in the marina and the water is not clear...far from duval..well they have a shuttle only until 9:00pm that takes you to the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Vale_Picci30
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

With all the positive things I read here about my staff, the resort facilities and the rooms I don't understand how one person's reaction can be so negative. I wish I knew how to please everyone, but obviously I don't. I apologize to you for not being your kind of place.

Springfield, Illinois
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Best value I could find in Key West, less than $200/night which is a bargain down there. Older property that was well maintained, set on a not picturesque bay. Nearby were several strip malls and restaurants, the roadwork is nearly complete. Hot & humid weather made the pool water 99F degrees and enjoying the $41 crab dinner at the open...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ruzz2112
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

All of our rooms are well-priced for Key West. Key West is a pricey place. Our housekeepers do a fantastic job keeping everything spotless. Our room decor is new and brightly colored in the style of Florida's Fabulous Fifties. Thanks for staying with us.

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 25 August 2014

First time in Key West. Found the Room to be spacious and inviting. Enjoyed the decor, view and location to the downtown area. Had minor problem with the electrical (which we found to be common on the island). The hotel staff attended to the problem immediatly and followed up. Bus service available as well as QUALITY scooter rentals which differs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rick k
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Our band new Yamaha scooters and jet-skis are top quality. We replace them every year. A lot of local rental companies use Chinese "no brand" motor scooters that are poor quality. I am an older biker. I won't allow that. But no matter what quality the equipment is, the quality of the people serving you is the most important thing....

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2014

First time in Key West and we stayed at the IBIS. It is a couple of minutes drive from the main centre but the free hotel bus service connects well - it may need an upgrade on how many passengers the bus can hold as it can get busy. It was a bit noisy with road-works outside and the air-conditioner...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank killman2
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay with us. You will be happy to hear that the outside road construction project is finally complete. Things have quietened down a lot and the construction dust that we had to fight daily is also gone.

956 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (712)
Viewed
Room/Suite (105)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (175)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (274)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (213)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Other (64)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,298 reviews
1.5 km away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
804 reviews
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#34 of 51 in Key West
419 reviews
1.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
3.6 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: ₹ 13,089 - ₹ 23,626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Bay Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Bay Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Waterfront rooms are a bit more pricey, but are quiet with a small patio area..so NICE!”
 of 5 bubbles sheenygenie, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra and get a 'beach' room!”
 of 5 bubbles emmontoya1, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book early if you want a water view.”
 of 5 bubbles mdmeili, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get the bay front rooms, with hammocks. There is NO beach. Ibis bay is 2ft deep”
 of 5 bubbles Java2014, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a patio with water view”
 of 5 bubbles dennisdS3849MR, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5