We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Bay Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 901: English reviews
asheville, nc
Reviewed 20 January 2017

1 story very kitchy hotel. The room was adequate. Appreciated the small red refrigerator. Lots of chairs, 2 inside, 2 pairs outside, one on either side of the hammock. Facing water, but you couldn't get in the water because of the coral. On the other side of the water is a main street of Key West and there was constant...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank contradancer
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi Contradance, Thanks for your nice review. However, I am confused that you say breakfast isn't included (which it definitely is) and then you talk about the breakfast you had. Chris

Jensen Beach, Florida
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Staff is very friendly ...Gizzey at front desk went out of her way to help me. cute property & bus was very convenient way to get downtown...loved that they had a bike rack too. my only complaint is that the a/c in room was loud. I will book again next year for my stay in key west again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa S
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi Lisa, Glad to hear you are coming back next year. The giant tortoise says, "Bring me strawberries next time! They're my favorite." Chris

New York City, New York
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

As many said, this place, for what they charge needs an update. The in the wall AC unit kept us up most of the night until we just shut it off. If we weren't waterside (which was awesome,) we may not have stayed the 2nd night. The hammocks were a nice treat as we were de-stressing and the pool bar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ArmoraD
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi Amora, We are all glad you stayed a second night. You de-stressed in our hammocks over the sand looking out onto the bay. Every historic place (Ibis Bay was built out of coral in 1956) needs extra care. We work on that full time keeping it spotless. I'm sure you saw that. You experienced Key West the way it...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed at Ibis Bay during a recent trip to Key West. We were a bit concerned with a couple of the reviews, but obviously the resort management listened because we had a great stay. The location is off the beaten path, so it can be a quiet and relaxing break from Old Town Key West. Best experience we had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank NOLA4LIFE57
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi Nola, You are right, the owners and management of Ibis Bay DO listen to our guests. Fortunately what we hear from those who love our resort is that it is unique and that's exactly why they love it. We also hear Ibis Bay is not for everyone (it was built in 1956 so its Key West as it used...

Reviewed 9 January 2017

The structure is of low standard,staff is ok,but restaurant price is high. breakfest is terrible ,i have never seen anything like it. not even a fruit or something hot . the pitts. price of the so called "resort" is high ,high ,high without any service or quality. never again plus we didnt even get our room cleaned and we had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ectitalia
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

I don't understand some reviews. You make up your own mind. Our Continental Breakfast is served between 8-10am in our waterfront restaurant. Everyday it includes a variety of fresh fruits, all sorts of pastries, different toasts, cereals, yoghurt, sliced meats, cheese, cream cheese and various jellies. Coffee, a selection of tea, cows milk and almond milk. There is an a...

Audubon, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We booked a four day getaway to Key West for Christmas time. We looked online for places to stay and the Ibis seemed like a coo place. Quirky and eclectic just like Key West! It was just as advertised. If you are looking for a Hyatt type experience this is not the place for you. If you are looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank acreich
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi, Its great to hear people see what we see and it enjoy it the way we do. We aren't like the many modern white box hotels and we love that. You do too. Great to hear. Chris

Ronchi, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy
Reviewed 2 January 2017

My friends booked this hotel. While the pictures online suggest a decent place , the reality is ..... it's tired and in need of major renovations. The rooms have zero security ... the doors gape and have the one key lock .... no dead bolt etc. The air conditioning is the mounted in wall type .... noisy and tired. My...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alison P
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi Alison, I do not know of any room in the condition that you describe. We couldn't stay in business that way. We are a historic hotel so definitely not new. Our housekeeping staff and maintenance crew tend to every little problem. I am going to show this to both departments to see what room this could possibly be. To...

Florida
Reviewed 2 January 2017

I booked a 3-night stay at Ibis Bay Beach Resort as a 75th birthday present for my mom. I read several reviews, weighed the pros and cons as they were described, and figured the resort was exactly what I wanted -- and it was! The coral stone exterior to the motel is charming. The on-site restaurant is amazing. The "Life...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank progonoskis
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

How nice (you know I keep typing "mice" instead of "nice". I am tempted to leave it that way just for the giggle) to read your detailed review. We love our history and my staff wants me to put up a history board that describes who, when and why the place was built. Its a great and true story. Thank...

Vernon, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

This was our first time visiting Key West when we arrived we were pleased with our beachfront room. We were definitely happy we payed for the upgraded room since sitting out on the patio looking at the water was the best part of the resort. The pool was average and not heated so it was a bit too cold for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Danielle8288
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi Danielle, Please understand that my response is not in the least defensive. The fact is there is an epidemic of stomach flu hitting every city in America. Look on the internet and see what is happening all over. My family in NY (5 adults who did not eat in the same places) got the flu and I had it...

Mishawaka, Indiana
Reviewed 1 January 2017

This facility is built in the mid 50's, rooms are small. Window airconditioner built in wall near floor could see through wall on one side. Toilet ran non stop. Lid loose on stool. Maid service ran sometimes as late as 5PM. The breakfast bar included in the price was very limited. The tables were near the wall not letting two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rexdunn
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi Rex, Guests either like that we are a historic 1956 Key West Resort and all that goes with it or they don't. If you don't like that you will find fault with every little thing. Which you did. Our Continental Breakfast is popular. Its a good breakfast. Its self-serve. If some people are a bit slow, then the line...

955 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (711)
Viewed
Room/Suite (105)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (175)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (273)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (213)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Other (64)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,292 reviews
1.5 km away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#25 of 51 in Key West
802 reviews
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
1.5 km away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#34 of 51 in Key West
416 reviews
3.6 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: ₹ 13,080 - ₹ 24,263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Bay Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Bay Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Waterfront rooms are a bit more pricey, but are quiet with a small patio area..so NICE!”
 of 5 bubbles sheenygenie, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra and get a 'beach' room!”
 of 5 bubbles emmontoya1, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book early if you want a water view.”
 of 5 bubbles mdmeili, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get the bay front rooms, with hammocks. There is NO beach. Ibis bay is 2ft deep”
 of 5 bubbles Java2014, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a patio with water view”
 of 5 bubbles dennisdS3849MR, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5