We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Southwinds Motel

Show Prices
#19 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Southwinds Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

608 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Southwinds Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 493: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Southwinds was amazing! We're staying in Key Largo and wanted a quick trip to Key West. Southwinds let us check in early and when we checked out told us we could keep our car there for a when after. Very clean and super friendly staff. Also a perfect location!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review of our motel. We look forward to your next visit to Key West. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

A great place to spend a few nights. The room was clean and in a gray location. It was close enough to all of the festivities of Duval Street but still far enough that it stayed pretty quiet. The staff were super friendly and helpful. All of this for one of the lowest rates available. I will definitely stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoMills83
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear So Mills83, Thank you so much for this great review of our motel. We have a great location and the best value priced motel room in Old Town Key West. We look forward to many more of your visit to our island. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations

Reviewed 26 September 2016

We loved Southwinds! The location is perfect, the staff was very nice, our room very clean, roomy, and had everything we needed for our little get away weekend! I highly recommend staying here! Parking is included which is great in the Key West! They also have bikes you can rent, so you never really have to move your car once...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dayna S
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear Dayna S, I love to read reviews that start with "Perfect". I was so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Key West. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations

Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This was above our expectations, the staff was so pleasant and went above and beyond to fill us in on the local things to do and see. The room was spotless, bed was very comfortable. Our room was #7 right on the side of the pool. Walking distance to Duval St. We would highly recommend staying with them and when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank riogirl59
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear riogirl59, Thank you for this "Awesome" review of our hotel. We look forward to hosting your next trip to Key West. All the best. Jim Heineman Vp Operations

tn
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and couldn't have asked for a better place. It had everything we needed. The prices were very reasonable,rooms were very clean. It was far enough away from all the hustle and bustle but also close enough if you wanted to be in the middle of everything. The staff especially Claudia made us feel right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plb278
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear plb278, I love to read reviews that start with"Above Expectations". I know that we have accomplished our mission when we exceed our customer's expectations. Claudia is one of the many superstars we have on our team. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Key West. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations

Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Reviewed 24 September 2016

The room had anything and everything you need. Also they have three pools on the property. Free coffee and muffins in the morning is a real treat. It is a short walk to all the shops in the popular side of town or rent one of their bikes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for this fantastic review of our motel. We look forward to your next visit to Key West. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations

Bloomsdale
Reviewed 24 September 2016

For the price we paid, I was a little comprehensive about the motel but as soon as I stepped foot on the property and saw how well it was maintained and how hard working the employees were, I knew we had made the correct decision to stay there. Claudia was great at check-in. Giving us lots of advice about rentals...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arnolds2go
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear Arnolds2go, Thank you for this great review of our motel. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Key West. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations

Reviewed 19 September 2016

Amazing, friendly staff! The place is old, but it has recently been remodeled and refurbished, and is SO CLEAN. We had such a positive experience with check in, and appreciated the map of Key West and the suggestions for where to go and what to do. We loved that there was no additional charge for wifi or parking, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa S, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this 5 STAR review of our motel. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Key West. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I've stayed her a couple of times & never been disappointed. The staff is awesome and can take care of your rentals & even book your ocean activities for you! There's an area to do you laundry, vending machines, two pools & easy access to all the things you do while on Key West. Great value for the money &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fuzzy618850
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear fuzzy618850, Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of our motel. We have some of the best amenities for the price here in Key West. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Key West. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We moved to Southwinds after having a bad experience at another hotel, and we were delighted with the change! The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the service absolutely second to none. Considering the price - which was $60 less a night than the place we were staying in - you get everything you need from towels for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emshill
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear Emshill, I was so pleased to read that you were able to have a fantastic stay in Key West once you got to our front door. We have a great staff, location and the best value going for hotel rooms in Key West. We look forward to being you hotel going forward. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
4.2 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 51 in Key West
1,648 reviews
0.5 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.0 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clean affordable motel rooms only 1 block from Duval Street at the Southernmost point of the Island of Key West. Many restaurants and shops within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southwinds Motel

Address: 1321 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: ₹ 10,202 - ₹ 24,982 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Southwinds Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Southwinds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwind Hotel Key West
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Southwinds Motel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Southwinds Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick the room by the bed type you want.”
 of 5 bubbles DoublePea, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Circular pool area- especially if you are traveling in a large group.”
 of 5 bubbles traveler200172017, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We loved our room near the office and front pool!”
 of 5 bubbles drwambo, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Good accessibility to the main amenities in Key West at night.”
 of 5 bubbles luislr2017, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Cottage like rooms with convenient store across street. Three small pools. Very close to Duval street if your there with friends to party.”
 of 5 bubbles J5606QCkarenk, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5