We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

The Pelican Key Largo Cottages

Save
Share
99446 Overseas Hwy Mile Marker 99.3, Key Largo, FL 33037-2460
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$244
View deal
Expedia.com
FindHotel
$229
View deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (776)
Room & Suite (173)
Pool & Beach (114)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 11/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
All 32 of The Pelican's clean and quiet cottage rooms offer different options for relaxing and enjoying all that the Florida Keys has to offer. From experiencing the unique, laid-back bayfront atmosphere, to trying your hand at world-class sportfishing, diving and snorkeling , you are sure to find an activity that suits your tastes. And if that sounds too active, head to our small bayfront beach, where you can enjoy glorious sunsets, gentle breezes, a nap in a hammock or watch manatees and dolphins play.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Vending machine
Beach
Canoeing
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Snorkelling
Fishing
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Ukrainian

Location

Full view
65Somewhat walkable
Grade: 65 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
2Attractionswithin 0.5 km
897Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 331
  • 281
  • 133
  • 58
  • 94
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Wade C wrote a review 20 Jan
1 contribution
Reviews by bgross247 and traveling soul made me want to pop in for a night. It’s obvious these clowns didnt read that this place wasn’t going to be a Hilton or other full resort experience. I’ve traveled the world and have been in some of the best properties and worse. From Guatemala to Tibet. This place was clean and neat, nice location with direct access to Ocean, No frills but quintessential slice of American past! Staff was friendly. If you are a high maintenance dont stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you so much for the review and kind words. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back very soon. As always, thank you for choosing The Pelican!
Read more
CCC wrote a review 6 Jan
Dunedin, Florida242 contributions72 helpful votes
I've stayed in mom and pop motels all up and down the Florida Keys for almost 60 years. This one is okay. The property very pretty with lots of palms and decent beach and docking. Lots of small FL themed murals around. Our room was very small and shabby, we would not have stayed for more than 1 night. There were some pretty gross stains on the walls that should have been washed or painted over. no excuse for that. The ceiling fan pull was broken, so you couldn't turn it off and leave the light on. Fan ran on high only. We called the manager who said, "Nope, can't be fixed." BS. I could swap out the whole fixture for about $60 in less than an hour. There may be nice rooms here, ours wasn't one of them. Choose wisely, grasshoppa.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Check the room out before you give them your credit card
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 2 weeks ago
We're very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your unit. I can assure you that you were not dismissed by management as I am the General Manager and we certainly would have addressed your concerns. I would like to hear more regarding your stay so please feel free to contact me at your convenience to further discuss this matter.
Read more
Traveling Soul wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Charming is not the word. The words are sleazy and scanty. The older Russian woman at the front desk was militant and rude! The rooms are tiny and dirty. We did not feel safe at this hotel. A terrible experience!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 4 weeks ago
We do not have an older Russian woman on our staff. Are you certain that you are reviewing the correct property?
Read more
bgross247 wrote a review Dec 2021
Westlake, Ohio63 contributions55 helpful votes
We checked in on Christmas Day so the front desk person being incredibly rude is completely forgiven, who wouldn’t be. But the rooms SUCKED! They are extremely tiny, smaller than a studio apartment. A queen sized bed takes up the whole room and the bathroom is uncomfortable small. The shower drape doesn’t even go all the way down on the stand up shower so the floor is soaked when you get out. There’s only two plugs in the room so it’s either charge your phone and no tv or no lights. The bed is shockingly uncomfortable. There are a lot of places to stay on this key, pick one of the other ones that please.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 4 weeks ago
We're very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The Pelican offers many different unit types with some being much larger than others. Had we known that there was an issue with the shower, we certainly could have addressed that with our maintenance staff.
Read more
Centine wrote a review Dec 2021
Houston, Texas146 contributions21 helpful votes
Very "old Florida" vibe. No frills cottages with a great bay side docks. Best place to watch the sunset. Take advantage of the kayaks, 3 manatees were so close to the property. Plenty of tables and chairs to sit on the docks. Ask for extra pillows. Rooms were very basic but clean, our bathroom was remodeled. Easy to get locked out so make sure you have a key. Window type unit AC. $.25 for ice machine. Laundry is $2. Walking distance to several restaurants. Very nice - Snooks - call for reservations. Breakfast - Mrs Mac's, we preferred High Tide - Excellent Breakfast. Also Lazy Lobster, for Lobster!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Hwy.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 10 Dec 2021
We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed our authentic "old Florida" vibe and our vintage ambience! We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$114 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hungry pelican hotel key largo, hungry pelican key largo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hungry Pelican Motel
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysKey Largo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Harry Harris Park (0.3 km) and Key Largo Community Park (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and barbeque facilities.
Which room amenities are available at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mrs. Mac's Kitchen, Bayside Grille & Sunset Bar, and DiGiorgio's Cafe Largo.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Russian, and Ukrainian.
Does The Pelican Key Largo Cottages have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.