We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
99446 Overseas Hwy Mile Marker 99.3, Key Largo, FL 33037-2460
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$266
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/02/23
Booking.com
$266
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/02/23
Agoda.com
$235
View deal
Hotels.com$266
Travelocity$266
ZenHotels.com$274
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (828)
Room & Suite (176)
Pool & Beach (138)

About

#7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
All 32 of The Pelican's clean and quiet cottage rooms offer different options for relaxing and enjoying all that the Florida Keys has to offer. From experiencing the unique, laid-back bayfront atmosphere, to trying your hand at world-class sportfishing, diving and snorkeling , you are sure to find an activity that suits your tastes. And if that sounds too active, head to our small bayfront beach, where you can enjoy glorious sunsets, gentle breezes, a nap in a hammock or watch manatees and dolphins play.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Vending machine
Beach
Canoeing
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Snorkelling
Fishing
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Ukrainian

Location

65Somewhat walkable
Grade: 65 out of 100
14Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
2Attractionswithin 0.5 km
948Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 352
  • 291
  • 138
  • 62
  • 106
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jimmy J wrote a review Today
18 contributions2 helpful votes
Don't even bother. Rooms smell awful. Nowhere to eat or drink on property. Way to strict for a 1850s motel that they probably invested about 500 dollars on. ....at the end of the day there are better and cheaper sunsets to be seen out there. Key west better rates and fun. This place no good.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
worldtraveller33804 wrote a review Dec 2022
Cheshire66 contributions73 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
Key Largo is I believe largest island on the way to Key West and has some attractions to be visited including crocodile farm and more. Not a secret that hotels in Key West as well as Key Largo are mostly expensive ( for budget turist). The exception is The Pelican Key Largo Cottages. For the very moderate price you have cottage with queen bed, fridge, coffee/tea maker and microwave. Hotel has its own beach and even kayaks. It is only couple hours from Miami.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 25 Dec 2022
Thank you so much for the review. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back very soon! As always, thank you for choosing The Pelican!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David K wrote a review Jan 2023
Toronto, Canada10 contributions3 helpful votes
We sadly booked the worst room in the resort, only 8 square feet or so attache dto the office with the viwe of a large motor home out of the window. Be careful what you book as the website and photographs need proper scrutiny or it is easy to make a mistake. We were the last room when we checked in. We were booked for 2 nights but left after 1 despite being offered an alternative for the 2nd night. it wasn't clear if there was an increase in price for that or not but we'd had enough and left anyway. the beach was hard packed and poor and we were unimpressed with Key Largo . Be careful what you do is the moral of this story. Expensive for what was on offer
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Read the website carefully and take no notice of photos.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are very sorry to hear that you did not find what you were looking for us. We feel that it is important to point out that The Pelican offers many different types of lodging for all budgets. Safe travels in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KnoxHikerGirl wrote a review Jan 2023
Knoxville24 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed in a 2 queen (double?) room. Although small, it was very charming. We loved using the free kayaks and seeing the manatee in the bay. Mary Mac’s next door served a great breakfast. Highly recommend the Pelican and would definitely stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the great review and kind words. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael S wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The Pelican Key Largo Cottages is the perfect little oasis just off the beaten path. Once you're on the property you quickly forget how close you are to civilization. The cottages are quaint, cozy and comfy. Just A few steps away from your cottage is a private cove with calm waters and a dock to cast your fishing line or just sit and watch the boats go by. If you choose you can take a complimentary kayak for a stroll. Maybe you'll just want stretch on the sandy little beach area under the palm trees 🌴. We did all that. When we first arrived, Amanda at the front desk welcomed us as if we were special guests at her home. This place is our new little secret here in Key Largo when we come back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the review and the kind words! We're so happy to hear that you found everything that you were looking for here with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon and as always, thank you for choosing The Pelican!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gail M wrote a review Dec 2022
1 helpful vote
Very rude and inflexible manager/cancellation policy. We were planning on an extended stay here and cancelled in advance as our daughter had an emergency medical situation. Once her situation was resolved, we were back in time to actually still come for our visit. The room was not rented out, and we had already prepaid the first day but they would not let us come and use the room and kept the money as their cancellation fee. Even though we told them we would come for 3 days and they would rent out the room for an extended time they would not let us come unless we repaid for the first night which was already paid! Not very business savvy!! Unkind. Poor customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 23 Dec 2022
We are very sorry to hear that you do not agree with the cancellation policy. Unfortunately at the time that you cancelled, your reservation was not eligible to receive a refund.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The M wrote a review Dec 2022
1 helpful vote
Soft beds, spacious room, cute private beach, free kayaks and the customer service was outstanding!!! I'd recommend this place to anyone! Restaurants and shopping within walking distance, and it feels like a very safe area. Even the guests and locals were nice!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 1 Dec 2022
Thank you for the great review! We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angie-Bruce wrote a review Nov 2022
Ayr, Scotland82 contributions73 helpful votes
We stayed for one night on our way to Key West, this is a very convenient location. We were given lots of useful information at check in. We visited a restaurant that was recommended and only a few minutes walk away, and had a lovely dinner while watching the sunset. Our room was in a cottage nearest the road with a parking spot right beside it. We thought we might be disturbed by the road noise, but it wasn’t a problem at all. The room had two double beds, my only criticism would be that there was a nightstand between the beds but not at each side, so if you are sharing a bed, there is nowhere for one person to put their stuff. In the morning we took coffee down to the waterfront and sat on chairs on the jetty to enjoy the peace and relaxation. Thoroughly enjoyed our stop over.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 19 Nov 2022
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim M wrote a review Nov 2022
Key West, Florida76 contributions37 helpful votes
+1
I live in Key West and had a 3 day seminar for Leadership Monroe County in Key Largo and the Everglades. I have never stayed in Key Largo and I found The Pelican. I was very impressed with this gulf side property. Old Florida with modern amenities. Hot Water with great pressure, VERY comfortable King bed, ample towels of good quality, Free Parking and Free very good WiFi. 5 restaurants are within 2 minutes walking and all offer great selections. I did not have time to Kayak or swim however that is there for you as well. Highly recommend if you want to stop over in Key Largo for a few days. Great for all, single couples or families.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations PelicanKeyLargo, General Manager at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 15 Nov 2022
Thank you very much for the fantastic review! We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
junkshow wrote a review Oct 2022
Seattle, Washington163 contributions81 helpful votes
The room was just larger than a double bed. The Bed was small and uncomfortable for two people. No breakfast was provided. Parking was easy. Check in was easy and Irina, front desk staff, was lovely. The ocean view on the gulf side and the docks were very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 23 Oct 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review The Pelican and to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. We feel that it is important to point out that you reserved an economy (small) unit through a 3rd party booking site that clearly states that the unit is 50 sq ft. It is indeed a small unit and is priced accordingly. We hope to one day welcome you back and as always, thank you for choosing The Pelican!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$190 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hungry pelican hotel key largo, hungry pelican key largo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hungry Pelican Motel
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysKey Largo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PELICAN KEY LARGO COTTAGES - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Harry Harris Park (0.3 km) and Key Largo Community Park (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and barbeque facilities.
Which room amenities are available at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mrs. Mac's Kitchen, C&C Wood Fired Eats, and High Tide.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Russian, and Ukrainian.
Does The Pelican Key Largo Cottages have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.