We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sun Burst Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sun Burst Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sun Burst Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

This place is nothing like you see on the pictures. Unless they really gave us a crappy room. The refrigerator was a mess. The bed was horrible. Dirty sheets and a stain comforter and pet hair all over it. I don't mind pets i have one of my own but these things have to be change frequently. After we went... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Julio F
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

I am not sure how to begin this response as there are so many things to address and say. First of all we will address the entire situation in general. So, you checked in after hours and we left the key for you. You arrived around 7:30 pm, I know this because I was at the hotel at 8 pm... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was wonderful, the room was clean and steps from the beach which was a great perk. They had everything you needed to relax in the sand near the water. We walked to several restaurants that were nearby and of course the coffee shop just a few doors down. We will definitely be back!

Helpful?
2 Thank bigsmile1020
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself. We hope that you are able to come back soon and often! Amy & Elise More 

Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a great value this a good spot. Older and very small hotel but very clean and a really nice family that runs it. Plenty of clean beach and not over crowed. Only downside is very little parking but they have overflow near by.

Helpful?
Thank bbb456ppp
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself and hope that you can come again soon. I know parking is tight...believe me we are trying to figure that out! Thanks, Amy & Elise More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

I know the gulf beaches relatively well but had not been back in many years. Indian Shores has always been my favourite and the beach as usual did not disappoint. It is quiet, beautiful, and peaceful. Good restaurants are not too far. I found Sun Burst Inn on Trip Advisor while looking for good value inns in Indian Shores and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryfromMontreal
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make sure that everyone is happy and comfortable. The renovations out back are almost complete and hopefully next time you come back will be happy with how it looks. We are glad that you were able to unwind and relax. Give us a call again when... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

My fiancé & I stayed here when we came to visit over the weekend for just two nights (22-24)(which wasn't long enough!!!) & absolutely loved it! The staff was as friendly as could be & checked on us multiple times! Loved the little bar across the street for live music & entertainment along with the beautiful beach a couple steps... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kritt0824
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. You two are so sweet. I truly hope that you are able to come back and stay longer. If you do decide to have your wedding here please call us directly as we can help with lots. We have many weddings here and enjoy doing them. Hope to see... More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

Asked for room on the beach - got room on busy street with tons on traffic and TERRIBLE bar across the street with loud music late. Room is completely run down - photo attached. No shampoo other towels. I called front desk because the wifi wasn't working - Amy told ME to call Internet provider to get it fixed (which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Skiinggal
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. I am sorry that you are disappointed with your room, we are in the process of updating them all. However, your room was just painted right before you checked into it. We do not provide shampoo and conditioner but we do provide bath and sink soaps as well as... More 

South Bend, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Stayed here during a business trip, so I was not there during the day, but at night and early morning it was very quiet. I stayed in room #20, which wasn't bad. It was clean and had just about everything you would need for an extended stay. I think my only complaint would be that the bed was not the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rich C
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

We are very glad that you were able to come stay with us for you business trip. Also, very happy that you enjoyed yourself. Maybe next time you come down you will be able to enjoy the beautiful beach during the day. I am however, sorry that you felt the bed was hard. They are fairly newer mattresses. We hope... More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2016

We went about a year ago to go see the White Sox play Tampa Bay, when my husband found this gem to hang out with our then 2 year old son. If you are looking for something cozy and homey this is something for you. Room - It included a sofa bed/ kitchenette / living room area, and a bedroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann A
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great review. We do strive to try to make sure everyone that visits has a great time. I am truly sorry that you had to park offsite. That is part of the reason I started doing the parking passes. We found out that some of the bar patrons were parking here. We hope that you... More 

Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Ok, so the shower in room 21 could use a good scrub and in general, the place needs some updating, but location is prime...hands down! I stayed there one night with my wife and 11 year old son and had a really peaceful, quiet time. We weren't expecting any luxuries, yet we did get everything we needed to enjoy our... More 

Helpful?
Thank santiagoi1
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you had a good time and wish that you could have stayed longer. The shower in that room has been scrubbed and is scrubbed each and every time someone checks out. Unfortunatley, that room just hasn't had the bathroom updated yet. The tiles are old... More 

Butler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2016

We just returned to Penna. from a month at the Sunburst in for the 6th straight year. Over the last 6 years its become our winter home from mid Feb. till mid March. There are many fun and interesting activities in the area, something for everyone. Refer to my post from Mar. 2015 for a list. The Inn is under... More 

Helpful?
Thank DClev66
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review Denny! We love having you and Kathy here each year. You will see many changes between now with the new paint to next year when you return. Have a great year in Penn and see you again soon! Thanks, Amy & Elise More 

662 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (215)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (434)
Viewed
Beach (56)
Viewed
Beachfront Room (74)
Viewed
Effeciency Room (56)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (89)
Viewed
Penthouse (131)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Shores
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 4 in Indian Rocks Beach
749 reviews
2.7 km away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
373 reviews
8.4 km away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Barefoot Beach Resort
Barefoot Beach Resort
#1 of 20 in Indian Shores
536 reviews
3.3 km away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,212 reviews
7.2 km away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Families & pets are always welcome! We want you to relax and enjoy your stay with us. Weddings, renewal of vows and memorials on our beach are welcome. We have had more than one happy event here and, in fact, the owners renewed their vows after over 30 years of marriage. Sun Burst Inn is located in Indian Shores, Florida directly on the beautiful beaches of the Gulf of Mexico. Our hotel is within easy reach of shops, restaurants and all you need for a wonderful vacation experience with a regular bus service at your door step if you need it. Our inn has eleven units, all with either kitchenettes or full kitchens, so it's your choice depending on what you feel you need. All units in our two story beachfront facility are either directly facing the world famous Gulf beaches, or a few steps from the beach. Enjoy Florida at its best the way it used to be: quaint hotels, friendly owners AND with all the modern conveniences. That's what you'll get when you visit The Sun Burst Inn. Pristine white beaches, splashing Gulf waters, and spectacular sunsets. All just steps out your room. Visit us soon and find out what the "real" and "friendly" Florida is all about! Lounge chairs, beach umbrellas, coolers, beach towels & beach toys all supplied with NO RESORT FEE. The Gulf Beach area provides many fun things to do because we are within easy driving range of attractions like Busch Gardens, Clearwater Aquarium (Home of Winter the Dolphin), The Salvador Dali Museum, Lowry Park Zoo and for shopping there's John's Pass Village and the Ellenton Outlet Center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sun Burst Inn

Address: 19204 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33785
Region: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Price Range: ₹ 7,318 - ₹ 17,099 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Burst Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sun Burst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Burst Hotel Indian Shores
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sun Burst Inn staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Sun Burst Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“20-21 gulf side”
 of 5 bubbles rdbouldm, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beachfront is worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles DClev66, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here!”
  • The room was tiny!
  • Wall and floors were filthy!
 of 5 bubbles MNMoose55372, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Choose ground floor and/or gulf front”
  • Sunset in front of the inn
  • Sunset in front of the inn
  • Sunset in front of the inn
  • Sunset in front of the inn
  • Sunset in front of the inn
  • View of the inn as seen from the beach
  • Beach in front of the inn
  • Beach area in front of the inn
 of 5 bubbles lauraa994, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the beach. Rooms with balconies are also available.”
 of 5 bubbles 368dons, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay