We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 316: English reviews
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

I came here for a one week course at university of florida. I chose this holiday Inn because it was basically right on campus and had a shuttle which was a plus because I could either walk or take the shuttle and avoid renting a car. The hotel shuttle was hard to use because they usually used it for airport...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chriskjfk
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Chriskjfk," Good morning. Thank you for your patronage and feedback. It is disappointing that we failed to meet your expectations however, your commentary will be shared with my entire team, both operations and ownership. We wish you the very best in your future travels. Respectfully yours, Odyssey Leach General Manager

Reviewed 8 February 2016

That hotel stay was a disaster it was like prisoin but i had to get out of town for a while the bathroom was very dirty and the showers did not look so good i am glad i showerd at home befrore we left we did this to go to uf on a tour for my brother.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex D
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Alex D," Thank you for your recent patronage and feedback. We're truly disappointed that you felt this was the "whorst hotel on earth." Had you expressed your discomfort during your visit, we would gladly have refunded your stay as well as assisted in relocating to different accommodations. I assure you that your feedback will be shared with my entire...

new york
Reviewed 31 January 2016

I booked this because it was near the university, and I looked forward to swimming while I was there. I just assumed it would be a heated pool -- foolish me. And I just assumed the fridge in the room would work -- but no. After 2 days of requesting help with it, it was replaced on my last morning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bridgeandtunnel
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "bridgeandtunnel," Thank you so very much for your recent patronage and feedback. We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserved during your visit. Our goal is to provide an unparalleled service delivery, and we are always looking for ways to ensure that each guest experiences the very best we have...

Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

When arriving I was in shock, I thought about turning around immediately and finding someplace else for the 4 nights in Gainesville. But in I went. To say this hotel is dated is misleading , it is also dingy, smelly, noisy and lacks a proper welcoming lobby. I couldn't wait until may visit to Gainesville was over to head home....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WMStevensonIII
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "WMStevensonIII," Thank you so very much for your feedback, particularly the comment regarding our team. Indeed, the quality of any "joint is the staff," as service is what makes the difference in a lodging experience. As you're a seasoned traveler, you recognize that the elements of pricing are the functions of supply, demand, and quality. If your visit was...

Pensacola, Florida
Reviewed 19 January 2016

The reviews are accurate. Good service and location across from UF, but terrible, smelly, low ceiling rooms. There were ants in the bathroom sink in both rooms. The restaurant attached is actually quite good. I won't return until a massive redo.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie R
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Katie R," Thank you so very much for your recent patronage as well as sharing constructive feedback. Your comments regarding service and Piesanos restaurant are particularly appreciated and will be shared with my entire team. Although your overall perception is somewhat disappointing, I assure you that each of your concerns is being addressed. The property is in the midst...

Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

If proximity to the University is high on your list this place is for you. It is an older facility but has an upgraded TV and the rooms have microwaves and mini-fridges. Overall it needs a major overhaul because there are more modern facilities in the area. Close to all types of restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jerry J
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Jerry J." Happy New Year! Thank you so very much for your recent feedback. Indeed, if your desire is to be near the University of Florida or one of the other well respected venues in Gainesville, then absolutely the Holiday inn Gainesville University Center Hotel is ideal for you. We have recently upgraded all guest rooms, public areas, and...

Lilburn, Georgia
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a sports camp our daughter was attending. Upon arrival, staff was nice and helpful. We got off the elevator (5th floor) and instantly smelled a damp yucky smell. A bit better in our room, but still yucky. The bathroom REALLY smelled bad. Our daughter fell asleep quickly so we didn't say anything. As soon as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank volgirlinga
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "volgirlinga," Good evening. Thank you so very much for your recent patronage. We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your visit with us. At the Holiday Inn Gainesville University Hotel, we always aim to ensure that each of our guests feels comfortable, valued, and respected. We assure you that your concerns will be addressed and resolved,...

Lutz, Florida
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for one week on business. It felt outdated and grungy. The whole hotel needs a major update. The fridge and microwave are poorly placed. The closet is right in your face as soon as you open the door. The ceiling in my room was poorly repaired as seen in my pictures. The ceiling in the bathroom is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAB111111
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "PAB111111," Thank you for your feedback and patronage. Our sincerest apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations in terms of décor, infrastructure, and age of the property. I assure you that your service concerns are being addressed, particularly the breakfast offering. In the relatively near future, we'll present a wonderful new breakfast café which will offer a...

Glen Allen, Virginia
Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

The staff at this hotel are super awesome and very friendly! Always enjoy staying here! There are two gentlemen that work at the front desk names Ron and Tim! Both are some of the best people I've met! Go talk to them! The rest of the staff and security guards were also the best. I don't have a single negative...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DoofyBoyWonder
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "DoofyBoyWonder," Good day! We truly appreciate your wonderful feedback and recent patronage. Your comments will be shared with my entire team, particularly Ron and Tim. The team is loaded with superstars, just like these two, very committed to providing service excellence! Thank you again for your feedback. Hopefully we'll have the opportunity to host you again in the relatively...

Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewed 10 December 2015

I needed a one night stay in Gainesville FL. Read their website: theuniversityhotel.com. Called and they said two night minimum. On their website under IHG Rewards it reads, “Use points to stay virtually anywhere - even at our competitors' hotels". I’m an Elite Spire member with >300,000 points so I planned to take them up on their offer. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank don j
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Don J," My sincerest apologies for your experience however, I assure you that I have not spoken with you. If you'd like to speak with me directly, I may be reached at (352)-376-1661 or we can converse via email at gm@theuniversityhotel.com. It would be my pleasure to speak with you, return your call, or have someone else on my...

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.3 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
3.9 km away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
6.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
3.2 km away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#22 of 45 in Gainesville
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn University Center is surrounded on all sides by the University of Florida, local shops & boutiques, restaurants, in 'the Heart of Gainesville.' This 6 story 'almost on campus' city landmark offers a roof-top swimming pool surrounded by 14,000 sq. Ft. Of 'sunning' space. The fitness room is located adjacent to the pool on the third floor. Complimentary transportation is provided to the airport and local hospitals daily from 7am-11pm. Free High-speed Wireless Internet service, In-room movies, are available in all rooms. The hotel offers an open and spacious lobby with open business center. The hotel has also recently completed the Holiday Inn Relaunch and features luxury linens, fresh pillow selection, and new signage. Piesanos, an exciting new Italian themed restaurant, is open 7 days a week serving lunch and dinner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Address: 1250 W University Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Price Range: ₹ 9,744 - ₹ 28,971 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Jacksonville, Florida
over a year ago
9 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pool view is quite nice”
 of 5 bubbles 726kenr, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“steer clear of the elevators”
  • The amenities are acceptable.
  • The hair dryer is small, like a travel dryer.
  • Tried to capture the dim lighting that happens in the evening. In the morning, it was brighter.
  • Not much for the coffee service but the fridge is a nice bonus. Bigger than most.
 of 5 bubbles holabonjour, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Looks like there might be renovations going on, so maybe ask if there are any recently renovated rooms?”
 of 5 bubbles 164jessicaj, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not book at this hotel. Go to a Hilton.”
 of 5 bubbles 60anthonyj, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I paid the higher room rate and got noisy room with smelly bathroom, dirty carpets and defective plumbing.”
 of 5 bubbles lmartosm, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5