We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (102)
Room & Suite (18)
Pool & Beach (12)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good26%
  • Average5%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“okaloosa island”(12 reviews)
“guard shack”(2 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Fitness centre
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
66
32
7
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
66
32
7
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsokaloosa islandguard shackundeveloped beachwhite powdery sandmilitary baseliving roomsanta rosa blvdcondo complexexercise roomclean condothese condosfull kitchenwasher dryerfort waltonvery nice place to staygreat condospring break
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Total crap. Dirty room with stained, worn and sticky furniture, ceiling coming loose in places, drawer fronts coming loose, and the list goes on. Our unit was basically a dirty and stained trucker's motel room with 5-star pricing. Very disappointing. Our son used to live...More

Thank macusers
Response from ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El MatadorResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not find your accommodations acceptable. This unit was just painted and had the sofa and patio furniture replaced. We will also make sure that we address any...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've been coming to El Matador annually since I was 2 years old (40+ years). My parents brought my sister and I, and I have continued the tradition with my husband and kids, and my parents continue to come with us. We just returned home...More

Thank Amanda J
Response from ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El MatadorResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are happy to hear that you love El Matador and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The only reason this isn’t getting one star is because the management staff is great. This unit is awful though. We’ve stayed her for over 7 years and love this place because of the privacy, large green space and the 14 miles of uninhabited beach...More

1  Thank sticks38139
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Great place, and not crowded on the beach because of the great location. Just minutes from anything you can imagine to do, and fantastic food choices. The gulfarium is a must for the kids. Will definitely return.

1  Thank Kenny C
Response from ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El MatadorResponded 5 May 2018

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay. Staff was super attentive and helpful. Clean and welcoming, no rowdy guests either. 3 teenagers with us and they always had something to do. Will absolutely be back. The pools and basketball courts were well used. All of the activities we...More

1  Thank Sheila J
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Fort Walton Beach
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Meeting Rooms
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hot Tub
Tennis Court
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$ 172 - US$ 358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 172 - US$ 358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (102)
Room & Suite (18)
Pool & Beach (12)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
brinlance1
4 May 2017|
Answer
Response from ElMatadorRentals | Property representative |
We suggest that you bring beach towels, any seasonings you cook with, coffee filters, kitchen trash bags, paper towels and dish soap.
0
Votes
Londonsmama
13 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ElMatadorRentals | Property representative |
Buildings 3 and 4 sit directly on the beach.
0
Votes
Pand_1347
19 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ElMatadorRentals | Property representative |
No, we do not have a kiddie pool.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Don't get unit 613. It's horrible."
Read review
"Beach Front"
Read review
"Look for dates after Labor Day for the best deals and the water is warm and so is the air."
Read review
"Buildings 3 and 4 are closest to the beach."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing