We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

907 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 854: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great stay! We were able to update our room to a suite with a great view. The room had everything and more than we needed and it was large enough for our son's travel crib. Everyone was courteous and the room was very clean. We will stay here again when we go back to Daytona.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah R
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you are planning to return next time you are in the area. Christine Lane - General Manager

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel room was great ! No where else on any beach have I ever found a large room with two double beds, a microwave, A Full size fridge and Stove/ Oven ! And At such a great price ! So relaxing ! Great pool too ! Nice restaurant on site.....it evens opens early morning for those of us who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mary858
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for posting such a wonderful review. Sounds like we exceeded all your expectations and we look forward to another visit from you. Christine Lane - General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ocean front Hotel offering moderate amenities . Located beach front but doesn't offer beach chairs. Small pool area was comfortable but by 1:30 pm the sun went behind the Hotel and the pool area was all in shade.. incredibly poor planning! The views are great, the rooms spacious and clean and the staff friendly. There is a cafe on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your Tropical Winds Experience with fellow travelers. Sounds like you enjoyed everything we have to offer and as you said - we certainly do not claim to be high end but pride ourselves in providing exceptionally clean and comfortable accommodations as well as excellent customer service. The...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the best time here. Great hotel. Great people. Clean clean clean!! We stayed on first floor (because we had a small dog) and this was the most convenient room to the beach, pool, car that I have ever stayed in. The café was good and fairly priced and the hot dogs sold by the pool were great too!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali C
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. Happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you on the first floor with your small pet and that it worked out so well for you. We look forward to your next visit. Christine Lane - General Manager

Silvis, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We traveled to Daytona Beach about the weeks after the hurricane had rolled through the area. We absolutely did not know what to expect, especially seeing the continuing cleanup that was going on and with 25 hotels and resorts still closed due to damage caused. Were we pleasantly surprised!!! The manager, Christine, was gracious enough to let us check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michele V
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Wow - thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. Glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you right after the hurricane and it sounds like we truly exceeded all your expectations. Thank you for listing everything you appreciated about our property and service to share with fellow travelers. I will certainly...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beds are comfy, staff was friendly property is very nice great place for a weekend get away the ocean view was great housekeeping services were provided facility was clean and modern I would go back.i had a great weekend and slept well. Would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamara M
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your nice review. It is good to hear that you appreciated everything we have to offer and we look forward to your next visit. Christine Lane - General Manager

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The rates are reasonable for an ocean front room and our room was clean. The staff was polite on check in. Checking out the desk clerk sounded like a recording. The hotel is old but they work hard at keeping the rooms clean. We tried the cafe and it was affordable as well. The breakfast was good, eggs are eggs!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thop2
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. Sounds like you were pleased with your stay. I do apologize for the parking issue - not sure why you would not have said something about it immediately while here so we could have taken care of it. We hope to see you again in the not too distant...

Welaka, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As a single female senior..Miss Gwen makes you feel so welcome, like its your second home.. The rooms are large and very clean.. patio with a great ocean view is most relaxing.. pool and grounds are spotless and there is also a very nice cafe for breakfast and lunch.. quite and a perfect get a way!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pie51
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being such a loyal customer. Glad to hear that Ms.Gwen always makes you feel welcome and it is nice to hear that you consider us your second home. We look forward to your next visit. Christine Lane - General Manager

Telford, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I took a chance on this hotel last year and I'm very happy that I did. The room was large, had king bed, table & chairs, small refrigerator, coffee and coffee pot,nice TV, small balcony on the side, plenty of room for clothing and suitcases, safe in the wall, and EXTREMELY CLEAN. It was a nice quiet place to relax...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandypos
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and for posting such a nice review. Sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us - thank you for pointing out the EXTREME CLEANLINESS of our rooms. Our housekeeping staff works very hard and they take great pride in "their" rooms. It means a lot to us to get this kind...

Chevy Chase, Maryland
Reviewed 1 November 2016

From Christine, the Manager, to Gwen who makes you feel like you are staying with the best family friends, this hotel rocks, Service is outstanding....any need, at any time, they take care of it Views are great Staff simply the best professionals in the industry

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamcmcpherrin
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Wow - thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review. It is always a pleasure having you as our guests and we certainly do think of you as part of the Tropical Winds Family. It is nice to hear that we always meet all of your expectations and we look forward to your next visit. Christine Lane -...

495 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (376)
Viewed
View from Room (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (134)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (117)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Standard Room (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
5.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
7.2 km away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 103 in Daytona Beach
723 reviews
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#16 of 103 in Daytona Beach
1,250 reviews
5.6 km away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#12 of 103 in Daytona Beach
1,064 reviews
1.9 km away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#18 of 103 in Daytona Beach
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3600
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Price Range: ₹ 4,941 - ₹ 17,394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Indianapolis, Indiana
Indianapolis, Indiana
Greenwich, Connecticut

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always make sure it's oceanfront!”
 of 5 bubbles donnabrookes, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Oceanfront is always the best!!!”
 of 5 bubbles heathermC116MX, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“8th floor, beach side, was a great room for us.”
 of 5 bubbles hannahr849, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“first floor not the best view but the convenience to beach pool and car were worth it. (No elevator rides!)”
 of 5 bubbles alic364, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Specify floor”
 of 5 bubbles tamaramC3335WI, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay