We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

America's Best Value Inn Historic Clewiston Inn

Save
Share
108 Royal Palm Ave, Clewiston, FL 33440-2931
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$ 84
PricelineUS$ 84
FindHotelUS$ 84
eDreamsUS$ 84
Hotels.comUS$ 84
StayForLongUS$ 108
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (91)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)

About

#7 of 8 hotels in Clewiston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Clewiston Inn was built in 1938 by the U.S. Sugar Corporation to host company executives and visiting dignitaries. The Inn is a very elegant structure in the Classical-Revival style. The Historic Clewiston Inn is a boutique hotel offering 57 rooms, 8 lovely courtyard villas, a 200 seat Colonial dining room, a world-famous Everglades lounge & Snack Bar. The Inn is located across the street from tennis courts, and a lovely park filled with native Florida trees.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Boating
Casino and Gambling
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Fishing
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Picnic area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Cable / satellite TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi

Location

Full view
51Somewhat walkable
Grade: 51 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
61Reviews1Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 14
  • 13
  • 11
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jillian H wrote a review Jun 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
my husband and I were working and had to stay over night in clewiston so we stayed at the inn yes the inn is very old but its still beautiful and rich in history is you want a place to spring break or party not the place for you! but if you enjoy the rich history and just a relaxing time I highly recommend we are avid ghost hunters and this place is full of them they are friendy most of them they should advertise more haunted history and they would get the right clients that would stop leaving bad comments because the place is beautiful and deserves more credit its not the ritz its a 100 year old inn again do the research on it before leaving untrue staements thanks i will leave pics of several ghost i caught in one photo
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Poole, Guest Services / Front Office at America's Best Value Inn Historic Clewiston Inn
Responded 29 Jul 2020
Good Morning Jillian, Thank you so much for your feedback it is greatly appreciated! We hope after this pandemic you and your husband will come stay with us again to experience the Inn is at its best. We are so glad y'all see the true beauty and historical value of the building, I'm currently working on building us a new and improved website that will feature a section all about the history of the inn including the haunted history. Sadly the haunted history tends to scare more people away than bring them in so we try not to make it a "Top Feature". If you would like to keep updated on the Inn please find us on Facebook we have a regular account and page we update is regularly. Once again Thank you so much for the lovely feedback Jillian and we hope to have you stay with us in the near future.
Read more
Arielfl wrote a review Apr 2020
Coconut Creek, Florida1,403 contributions223 helpful votes
+1
The town of Clewiston is located on the southwest bank of Lake Okeechobee, the largest freshwater lake in Florida. It was named for Tampa banker A.C. Clewis, who financed the extension of the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad through the area in 1922. In 1932 Clewiston was incorporated and laid out according to the plans of the Southern Sugar Corp who wanted a showcase city to serve as its headquarters. The town has the nickname "America's Sweetest Town" because of the U.S. Sugar Corporation headquarters here. The Clewiston Inn is the oldest hotel near Lake Okeechobee. The Inn was first built in 1926 by architects L. Phillips and Edgar S. Wortman in a two story Classical Revival style along the waterfront of Lake Okeechobee. The hotel was constructed by the Clewiston Company, the community and real estate development arm of Bror Dahlberg's Southern Sugar Company. Southern Sugar went into bankruptcy during the Great Depression and sold their assets to United States Sugar Corporation which was founded by three former General Motors executives. The hotel survived the 1926 Hurricane and the 1928 hurricane that killed over 4,000 people when Lake Okeechobee flooded causing many people to drown. The hotel was destroyed by a fire in 1937 but rebuilt in 1938 by U.S. Sugar Corp. with thick concrete walls braced with extra thick steel reinforcing rods the could withstand any future hurricanes. U.S. Sugar Corp used the inn to house company executives, customers. and visiting dignitaries. President Herbert Hoover stayed at the inn when he dedicated the Hoover Dike built around the lake, to provide flood control after the devastation of the Hurricane of 1928. One of the most stunning features of the hotel is the the Everglades Lounge and Bar which has a 360-degree wildlife mural covering all four walls of bar. The mural was made in 1945 by artist J. Clinton Shepherd who recreated the animals and plants of the Everglades. He stayed at the Inn for many months and made daily trips into the Everglades to sketch the flora and fauna. The historic mural alone makes this a 5 star visit. I love a good ghost story and the Clewiston Inn has it's share. There have been a number of paranormal investigations here and it's believed there are four spirits who never checked out. They include Anita Conklin who lived at the Clewiston Inn in room 225 and died in 1994. People have reported having their hair pulled outside the room. Other guests mention room 118 where there have been reports of a woman in the window. In 2007 the U.S. Sugar Corporation sold the Inn to Big Lake Hotels. In 2011 the Big Lake Hotels Corporation sold the Inn to Clewiston Hospitality LLC. It is an Americas Best Value Inn. On February 21, 1991, the hotel was added to the U.S. National Register of Historic Places. The five stars is for the historic value of the hotel as I have never stayed or eaten here. The manager caught me peeking in the window and even though the inn was closed he graciously allowed me inside to look around. I got a brief glimpse of the famed Everglades room and even though the light wasn't on I was suitably awed. Returning for a drink at the bar is now high on my list of post corona activities.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
Helpful
Share
Margie452014 wrote a review Feb 2020
Fort Worth, Texas47 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
This hotel deserves a zero, but I can’t do that. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. I think they never clean the carpet or the floors. Water from the shower got on the floor. I used some hand towels to dry it and oh boy, it came up black. It was nasty and disgusting. There was mold on the doors and in the closet, the curtains in the room are torn, there was stain on the towels, broken parts in the toilet, rust everywhere. It looks like an abandon room. Look at the pictures I took. They speak by themselves. They charge $100.00 and it is a hotel worth about $25.00. It’s much worst than a cheap motel. I was going to just leave, but it was late, and I was really tired. Also, breakfast is a joke. There was a bad smell (like an open sewer) in the bathroom that gets into the room. The hot water handle came apart and off, hot water problems, trash on breakfast room, not replenish the breakfast, lady came, took a look and left, did not bring anything else, parking on the street, parking of a park, noisy street. This place needs to be shut down.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ABVIClewiston, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Historic Clewiston Inn
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear your stay did not exceed expectations, If at anytime during your stay there is an issue with your room we urge guests to contact the front desk immediately so the problem can be investigated and resolved. Also we are sorry you did not enjoy our breakfast, we only offer a continental breakfast not a buffet breakfast like most large chain hotels do but we would have been more than happy to direct you to some lovely local southern eateries our location is across the street from a coffeehouse. Once again thank you for your feedback and we will take everything into consideration as we are making changes. We hope if you choose to stay with us again we can change your opinion for the better! Thank you! Anne with Guest Services at ABVI Historical Clewiston Inn
Read more
Tami W wrote a review Feb 2020
Bellevue, Nebraska147 contributions29 helpful votes
Friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful building. No elevators and quite a few steps. Rooms are smaller but completely adequate. We kept waiting to see the twins at the end of the hallway... But never did.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from ABVIClewiston, Front Office Manager at America's Best Value Inn Historic Clewiston Inn
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our historic inn. Sadly due to us being on the national historic registry, we are not allowed to back major renovations like adding an elevator. We hope you can understand. Once again thank you so much for your feedback! We hope to have you stay with us again if you are still looking for a more spooky experience we would be more than happy to assign you one of our "haunted" rooms next time. Sincerely, Anne with Guest Services @ ABVI Historical Clewiston Inn
Read more
driftdiver1 wrote a review Dec 2019
Halifax, Canada1,057 contributions761 helpful votes
Rather than stay at one of the dingy looking motels on the Sugarland highway we decided to stay at the historic Clewiston Inn. What a mistake that was. The dated tiny room came with a stained comforter, one straight-back wooden chair, old noisy AC, and the smallest bathroom I have ever seen. And let's not forget the free continental breakfast with stale biscuits, no jams, no cold milk, terrible coffee, overcooked hard-boiled eggs, a waffle maker with no batter, etc. I have no doubt that a dingy motel would have been a better choice.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$ 76 - US$ 110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
clewiston hotel clewiston
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Clewiston Inn
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaClewiston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about America's Best Value Inn Historic Clewiston Inn
Which popular attractions are close to America's Best Value Inn Historic Clewiston Inn?
Nearby attractions include Clewiston Museum (0.2 km) and Brenda's Place (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at America's Best Value Inn Historic Clewiston Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at America's Best Value Inn Historic Clewiston Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at America's Best Value Inn Historic Clewiston Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to America's Best Value Inn Historic Clewiston Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jalapenos, Common Grounds Coffee Shop, and Main Street Subs.
Is America's Best Value Inn Historic Clewiston Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Clewiston.
Does America's Best Value Inn Historic Clewiston Inn offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at America's Best Value Inn Historic Clewiston Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Hindi.