We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cabbage Key Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bokeelia
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cabbage Key Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 342: English reviews
Tampa
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We ate lunch twice here and just loved it! The view is spectacular and is great entertainment for boat watching! The burgers and drinks are great but the best part was our server, Megan! After the second time we felt like old friends! A must place to go!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank disneyfreak20
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review

Megan was tickled pink over your kind words. Come back soon and try our hearty Reuben sandwiches. They pair nicely with a margarita, or two!

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

We just stayed in cabbage, you need your own boat (the ones they rent are old skiffs), the people are amazing and the food is decent... Bring a case of water with you, as you can only drink bottled water. The dock master gets a bad rap, we thought he was awesome! Treat him well, and he will take care...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maioh23
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review

We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed the company of our staff! Our dock master always appreciates when people see how amazing he can be! The cottages are much more geared toward the island getaway experience. You can really kick your feet up, watch the boats go by, and really “get away from it all”. We do have potable water,...

Anna Maria Island, Florida
Reviewed 11 July 2016

First of all after reading so many negative reviews I had to write a review to set some things straight. I am guessing all the complainers should have been staying at a 5 star resort where they can be pampered! LOL Cabbage Key is old Florida! I would say the people that don't like the dock master are probably newbies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy Q
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review

We all want to send a big Thank You your way! We really appreciated all the kind words you have for our island and amazing staff. Michelle and Mark both can’t wait for a return visit! We are a very unique establishment, and we can be very appealing to those who are looking to just “get away from it all”....

Reviewed 2 July 2016

We have stayed here before but at the "Doll House". This time we lodged at "Cabbage Patch" which is a 2 bedroom/2 bath cottage. Both cottages are quaint, old Florida feel, and fun to stay at. We secured our little boat to the corresponding docks each time which allowed a quick departure for the day to local beaches, state parks,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TPleischl
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review

We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Rebecca was pleased to hear her service was appreciated. We love helping our guests celebrate their special occasions, and hope to see you again for your 26th Anniversary.

Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Dockmaster is an arrogant jerk. Him alone is reason enough not to visit this place. Hotel service just as rude. They treated our family with no respect the entire time. After a couple grand and 2 days on the Island we could wait to leave to shake the unwelcoming feeling we had since the moment we arrived. DO NOT WASTE...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AJax82
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Cabbage Key strives for excellence aims for the best experience possible. We are disappointed that you did not feel as though we delivered a great experience. Your comments have been forwarded to management.

Edinburg, Texas
Reviewed 26 June 2016

I fell in love with the Old World Florida feel! We went on a Sunday, so it was very busy. The wait was not bad, though. The food was excellent (I recommend the Rueben!) Debi, our waitress was a hoot! She made the trip worthwhile all by herself! I look forward to returning!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 439deanav
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review

Debi was tickled pink to hear your compliments! We hope you try our Cheeseburgers next time and look forward to seeing you soon!

Reviewed 25 June 2016

Cabbage Key is truly a great escape. We loved our stay in the Rinehart Cottage. Evening walk on the island and boating to Cayo Costa were fun things we enjoyed doing. The Inn's restaurant has the best hamburgers! And the sunset is amazing. Can't wait to get back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MistyRaines
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your thoughtful words about our island! Come back soon for more Cheeseburgers in Paradise!

Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We were out on the intercostal and stopped here. This place is only accessible by boat and is amazing. Our tour guide ( and brother I law) suggested stopping for some refreshment. The bar was great though not air conditioned, try the cabbage creeper, a Pina Colada with a shot of Kailua, normally not what I would go for but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PBEMat
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review

We’re very glad to hear you enjoyed our open-air bar and restaurant. Every dollar that falls from our walls is donated to various local charities, somewhere around $10,000 every year! Although Jimmy Buffet didn’t actually write his “Cheeseburgers in Paradise” song at Cabbage Key, he did dedicate one of his performances of that song to some of our staff, after...

North Port, Florida
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Cabbage Key. As a native son, I have spent almost sixty years running the back roads of my home state looking for the last vestiges of "old Florida"! Let me tell you, this place is as old Florida as it gets. Come by boat or helicopter, but you can't drive! There is a restaurant that fixes old Florida recipes on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Spritfxr
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review

We love hearing from Florida natives, to see if we pass the “Old Florida” test. Stella was very pleased to hear you enjoyed her company! We hope to see you and your friends again soon!

Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

I took my in-laws out to eat last Friday for dinner to Cabbage Key and we had a fantastic time!! Our server was Debbie and she couldn't have been any better with service and personality!! We all had cheeseburgers and they were equally fantastic. Thank you Debbie for a memorable night!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CaptBokeelia
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review

Debbie was thrilled at your compliments! She says to come back soon for our nightly chef’s special, or perhaps the “Fresh Catch of the Day”!

721 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
0:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (111)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (460)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Inn Room (46)
Viewed
Odsprey Cottage (142)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Snook Cottage (162)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bokeelia
16.6 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
30.2 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,058 reviews
30.4 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 km away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
14.9 km away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,174 reviews
28.1 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cabbage Key is a 100 acre island located five miles off of Pine Island, FL in the Pine Island Sound. The Inn, built in the 1940's by the family of Mary Roberts Rinehart, now houses our famous Restaurant & Dollar Bill Bar and six guest rooms. The rooms in the Inn are all different with old Florida charm - they do not have TVs, phones, or refrigerators. We have seven cottages on the island, ranging from a 1 bedroom/1 bath cottage to 3 bedroom/3 bath waterfront units. All cottages have refrigerators, televisions (no cable) and coffee makers, some units have full kitchens. Our restaurant is open seven days a week and serves breakfast, lunch & dinner. If you want to relax on a beach...we do not have one here. But, Cayo Costa is a close kayak or boat ride away. This is a great retreat to discover "Old Florida", relax with a book, fish from our docks & watch the boats go by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cabbage Key Inn

Address: Intercoastal Channel Marker 60, Bokeelia, FL 33945
Region: United States > Florida > Bokeelia
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Cabbage Key Inn And Restaurant Hotel Bokeelia
Cabbage Key Inn Bokeelia, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cabbage Key Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Saint Louis, Missouri
Crystal River, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cabbage Key Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms come complete with "old Florida charm"!”
 of 5 bubbles rgpalmer52, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Cabins are located both on the waterfront and further inland.”
 of 5 bubbles Tanya727, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms exemplify "Old Florida"”
  • View from the Inn
  • View of the ICW from the Cabbage Patch dock
  • Departing from the dock at the Osprey cottage
 of 5 bubbles Michfsu, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cabbage Cottage has amazing views for sunrise and an awesome outdoor space, but is close to the cottage right beside it.”
 of 5 bubbles jmbennick, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Its website describes the cottages well. We went by that and were more than pleased with our choice.”
 of 5 bubbles willpercy, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5