We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Residence Inn Wilmington Newark\/Christiana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 138: English reviews
Start your review of Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana
 Click to rate
New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was just okay for me. My room was not cleaned properly, the staff was pleasant though. The staff who cleaned the room was very difficult to understand so I was not able to communicate my needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CartyW
Centreville, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was picked for our team to stay while in the area for a soccer tournament. After staying in another Residence Inn in Richmond, VA, I was worried this hotel would not meet my needs to having 2 beds in the room for my daughter and I to sleep. I called the hotel the day before the arrival and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Regina S
Aaron S, General Manager at Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your Soccer weekend at the Residence Inn Newark Delaware. I'm happy to hear that you found our location convenient to I-95 and nearby shopping. Our staff works very hard to prepare that hot buffet breakfast for you, so I'm glad to hear you took advantage of it. I hope your...

Crisfield, Maryland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here while attending a Soccer Tournament in Hockessin. Overall, good location, easy to get to. Definitely an older Residence Inn, but the lobby / breakfast area had been completely remodeled. Breakfast was very good! Rooms are very large and spacious. Not the cleanest Marriott hotel, but it was bearable. Unfortunately our room did not have hot water, however the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
Aaron S, General Manager at Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this review

On behalf of my staff we want to thank you for staying with us. I'm happy to hear that my staff was able to respond quick to the challenge with the hot water. We are also glad your family was able to enjoy our spacious suites with a late check out. I will definitely address your concerns with the cleanest...

Skaneateles, New York
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We were visiting University of Delaware and this was a great location. Rooms are large and comfortable. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was expansive, coffee could be improved. Enjoyed the Paul Mitchell soaps/shampoos.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lori p
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 December 2016

When making reservations for this property, I was concerned because I don’t typically like staying at motels (rooms open to outside/no internal hallways). With that said, this was the nicest suite style Marriott property in the area to accommodate our family for the 5 night stay over Christmas break. When we checked in, we were pleased with the friendly staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank striving4more
Aaron S, General Manager at Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Newark, I'm glad your family of five felt comfortable in our spacious suites. I personally love the rooms with the two queen beds and the two Tv's is dose make you feel like you have your own space. At Residence Inn Newark we are committed to guest satisfaction and the comments about...

Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed here for 1 night as a stopping point between VA and NYC. I wish we would have read the reviews before staying and kept moving to the Towneplace Suites. We were on the first floor right across from the welcome center. Our upstairs neighbors spent a good portion of the night stomping and dropping large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridget T
Aaron S, General Manager at Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at our hotel. I do apologize for the issues you experience and would like to speak to you in regards to your stay. When you have a moment please reach out to me in my office at 302.453.9200

Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The Residence Inn Wilmington/Newark is a great hotel, especially for an extended stay traveler. This hotel offers a home like atmosphere with personable staff members to match! Rooms are very spacious and offer kitchens well equipped to cook a full meal and store groceries. Management is regularly available in the complimentary evening mix, which includes food and beverages, to address...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TBillington
The Villages, Florida
Reviewed 26 October 2016

This is an older Marriott property and, by and large, it shows. It could use a refurbishment (new carpets in room, etc.). The buildings have the doors to the rooms on the outside (reachable by outside stairs to landings, for example), My personal preference is to have the room door on an inside hallway. Maybe it is a matter of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Acinonyx60
Aaron S, General Manager at Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. Yes we are an original build Marriott Residence Inn with the privacy to enter your room just like you would at home. I'm glad that my staff was friendly and you enjoyed our Free Hot buffet breakfast. Thanks again for staying with us!

Mays Landing, New Jersey
Reviewed 14 September 2016

My wife and I attempted a one night stay (using Marriott Points) at this location. We arrived around 10pm on Saturday 9/10. I hotel seemed to be an older location, not very good lighting and limited parking. When we walked into the front desk area we were greeted by Leslie & Carol, but Leslie took reservation information and had us...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Samuel L
Aaron S, General Manager at Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this review

Thank you Mr. Samuel for attempting to stay with us, I do apologies for the conditions of your rooms as that is not the standarord of our hotel. I'm sorry that someone didn't get back to you sooner as I was out of the country and will be back in the office on 9/19/2016 I look forward to speaking with...

United States
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Recently stayed at this hotel, was excited because of the outdoor pool and it was a "bargain " using reward points. Will not stay there again. Have not stayed at a Residence Inn before. I was suprised. It is set up like apartments. Doors & windows open to the outside ( like a motel). Needed to walk approx 2 blocks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sally C
Aaron S, General Manager at Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and telling us about your experience. When you have a chance I would love to speak to you in regards to these issue. I look forward to hearing from you.

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
3.1 km away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
0.7 km away
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#5 of 24 in Newark
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
0.9 km away
TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark/Christiana
1.6 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana

Address: 240 Chapman Rd, Newark, DE 19702
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Price Range: ₹ 9,716 - ₹ 16,906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Wilmington Newark Hotel Newark
Residence Inn Newark
Newark Residence Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a certain configuration of beds for your room, make sure to ask ahead of time.”
83reginas, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 1012 was the room that did not have hot water”
Dkthompson, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the highway”
striving4more, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closest to the entrance are the most quiet.”
TBillington, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get room away from highway;”
mahonedawgmom, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5