We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University

Show Prices
#9 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
See the most recent reviews
Showing 325: English reviews
Bronx, New York
Reviewed 17 November 2015

The location was great. The price was excellent and Sam who checked us in and Sara who checked us out was excellent. The room was great, clean. I was impressed. I was more appreciative when we got a call from Sam after we checked in to make sure the room was OK and did we need anything else. I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnana B
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We want each and every guest to have a positive experience with us and calling to see if everything is good is a great way to do that. Fixing a problem right away is key to a guest's experience. Glad you enjoyed and hope you'll come back and stay again!

Newark, Delaware
Reviewed 17 November 2015

I stayed at the red roof in for 3 nights. The room was clean, and inviting. The area in Newark was great also because there are places open to eat very late at nights to early mornings. Vijay and his crew were wonderful hosts, catering to your every need. I would recommend to all visiting Delaware.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nneka H
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate you staying with us and glad to see you loved our team. See you next time!

Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

I enjoyed my my stay for the second time. This property was clean and the staff was very helpful. I visited this property during the past summer and I was very satisfied overall with their operations. If your looking for a clean and reasonable place to stay while visiting Delaware I recommend this property.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tarron J
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to give our hotel a review. We appreciate you coming back to stay with us and we always enjoy seeing our return guests! Hope to see you again soon.

Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 15 November 2015

This is Our second visit. The Staff were welcoming, upon arriving. We stayed here in June 2015 due to my sensitive allergies, I was in need of a room change. This is a Pet friendly Hotel, and Staff "Sunny" and Mgr. Patel, respected my request right away, without question. From the early morning complientary Breakfast, with Great! variety from hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review. We truly love our guests and especially seeing a familiar face returning! Glad you enjoyed and are able to tell everyone how wonderful your stay was. See you again soon!

Hurlock, Maryland
Reviewed 15 November 2015

The room was clean. I did see a cobwell in the ceiling. Front desk did call me to ask how my room was. I told them that the room was fine. The cardboard covering the hot water heater fell down. I propped it back up at the wall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valorie T
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate all feedback and will certainly share your review with our team: Management, housekeeping and maintenance. We hope to see you again on your next time through our area!

Etters, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I stay at this hote l at least twice a month when I'm in Delaware for business and I never have a bad thing to say the staff is great although I have only had the pleasure of meeting sunny...in the evenings and the morning staff...but needless to say the staff are great allays upbeat and a smile on there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brandon O
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We truly enjoy seeing our return guests and try to make it feel like a 2nd home. See you next time!

Newark, Delaware
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Excellent service, friendly and very helpful, especially Sunny, who helped me with my stay here and gave good advice and directions. The room was very clean and comfortable, The breakfast bar is very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn N
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give your review of our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed and next time you are here on business please do come stay again!

Newark, Delaware
Reviewed 11 November 2015

I can not begin to express how great this place is. Every time I visit it feels more and more like it is a 2nd home. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, the house cleaning is amazing (very nice bedding and towels) and improvements are being made all of the time. The Continental breakfast has something for everyone and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It's always our pleasure to see you return along with our other regular guests. We smile when we can share with our team a review such as this. See you again next time! ~Roxanne

Setauket, New York
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Booked the Red Roof Inn using trip advisor reviews. I personally do not understand how anybody can say this hotel is acceptable, clean or even nice. The parking lot was a mess. The hotel was completely run down. The room had a terrible smell. The room was old, outdated, and dirty. I am sure management will have an excuse saying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fpt90
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Not sure what went wrong but your experience is obviously not what we wanted you to have. As you have seen from our reviews, we are clean, comfortable and provide excellent customer service. Please reach out to our General Manager as I'm sure he would like to hear from you personally and he can share...

South Orange, New Jersey
Reviewed 7 November 2015

The check in process was unacceptable. I booked two rooms at this hotel, for the sole reason that it was the only hotel with availability because it was the University of Delaware's homecoming. Got my confirmation numbers. At check in, I was told that the "system" had given me a "DNR" code, meaning that they were not allowed to rent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lderochi
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do apologize that you had difficulty checking in. Most hotels have databases that have guests who are asked to no long stay due to problems. Obviously, you were not that same guest and with our team member using his best judgement got our GM involved right away to override...

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
6.3 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
242 reviews
9.0 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
1.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
7.3 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University welcomes you to our pet friendly, family friendly hotel. We are located off of I-95 which offers easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment, as well as quick access to the university of Delaware. We are close to many corporate areas, state parks, and the Wilmington Riverfront. Scenic Lancaster, PA is just minutes away! This Red Roof Inn offers free WiFi, business center and guest marketplace. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. Check-in age is 21 years or older. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University

Address: 1119 S College Ave, I-95 & SR 896, Newark, DE 19713-2307 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn University Newark)
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Price Range: ₹ 4,050 - ₹ 4,995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Inn & Hotel Newark
Howard Johnson Hotel Newark
Howard Johnson Newark
Newark Howard Johnson
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
#7 Business Hotel in Newark
#9 Family Hotel in Newark
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Nashville, Tennessee
8 months ago
West Hartford, Connecticut
over a year ago
West Hartford, Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms have the same view. Parking is adequate with parking in the back for larger vehicles,”
 of 5 bubbles oconnellroc, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Even numbers are the best rooms nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles choclatedrop, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you need an inexpensive room and have pets this is the place to go. Telling my friends about it.”
 of 5 bubbles chriscO9185BW, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the 1st building is the closest to the breakfast room and laundry facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles jof655, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“first floor is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 253dak, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay