We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Hen Bed & Breakfast

Save
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (4)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent90%
  • Very good10%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“friendly hosts”(2 reviews)
“mary cassatt”(2 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Pets Allowed
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Blue Hen Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
60
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
60
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastfriendly hostsmary cassatta lovely place to staymodern amenitiespeace and quietlongwood gardensmain streetamymontydelawareuniversitycomfort
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Very friendly hosts, who were accomodating to our needing to arrive much earlier than planned in order to change clothes for a wedding. They make a big effort with food and drink--lovely baked goods. The beds are comfortable too.

1  Thank Lulu J
Reviewed 5 October 2016

This is a nice B&B, and was well located for us for visiting friends in Newark DE and also heading to Chadds Ford. The building has history and charm, and the hosts were friendly, as were the 2 dogs, so sweet! The breakfasts were great!...More

Thank jofannie
Response from Amy E, Owner at Blue Hen Bed & BreakfastResponded 8 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate that very much. We apologize about the yard but because of the wet weather we’ve had for the past several days our landscapers postponed maintenance. In regard to the lighting in the living...More

Reviewed 29 September 2016

(We actually went in September of 2015 but I forgot to write a review earlier - We stayed in the Mary Cassatt Room) My husband & I decided for our first wedding anniversary we would celebrate in the first state - We picked Blue Hen...More

Thank Christine C
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I stayed 3 nights in the Cassatt room, and found it very clean, comfortable (great bed!) and private. The location happened to be ideal for me. It has a bucolic feel, even though it is just a couple of miles from town. Be prepared for...More

1  Thank LiseNau
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We spent 3 nights at this wonderful B & B to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were greeted by Amy, our innkeeper, a Happy Anniversary sign, balloon and wedding bells! Amy's personal touches included a card and We received the kind of welcome a friend...More

1  Thank jansirycsw
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Newark
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$ 100 - US$ 180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 100 - US$ 180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (4)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Bombae
30 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Bombae |
No answer after a week. Oh well, on to the next bed and breakfast. Disappointing response
0
Votes
Scarlett0714
29 September 2014|
Answer
Response from Amy E | Property representative |
We only have one room available that weekend and just for Friday night if you are still interested.
0
Votes
Scarlett0714
29 September 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Amy E | Property representative |
Hi - I've been trying to respond to your request and I had sent you one last week indicating that we didn't have availability so I hope your received it. I keep getting notifications that I haven't answered you. Hope you... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Quiet location"
Read review
"If you're unable to do steps, request a room on the 1st floor. No TV or fridge in our room, but there..."
Read review
"We saw them all and they were all appointed beautifully."
Read review
"they have a suite which is HC accessible, other rooms are upstairs"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing