We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington\/South
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

658 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 645: English reviews
Chicago
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights here while visiting family at the University of Delaware. We arrived on Friday night and were exhausted from a long day of travel. We had taken a shuttle service from the airport in Philadelphia and didn't have a car. Andrew welcomed us at the front desk and we asked for information on restaurants. Andrew recommended several...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CynthiaFChicago
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear CynthiaFChicago, It is always great to read about our guests enjoying a great experience during their stay with us. Even more gratifying is when we hear that our staff made a significant and positive difference in their stay. I will certainly ensure that Andrew is recognized for providing you with the kind of professional and caring service that we...

Reviewed 28 April 2016

Had been down to south carolina for sons wedding. Stopped at 3 different hotels, different locations and needed 2 rooms. In south carolina had rented a house. On the way back home only wanted to stop one night. After driving 12 hrs. we took the Newark Delaware exit. I looked in my AAA book and saw the Embassy listed, noticed...

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank eileend153
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear eileend153, Thank you for staying with us during your travels back from your son's wedding. Obviously, I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience and that we were a positive highlight of your experience during a very special time for your family. If your travels bring you back to the Newark Area, we will look forward...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

5* nice clean rooms good size, good food , good service only down point TGIF is a rip off !! But other than that I highly recommend it, close to the train station and a 40 nunute stroll to town center, pool , gym , buissness center and ample function rooms , checking out on Friday

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason1916
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear Jason1916, Your comments are most appreciated! Very pleased to read that you had such a positive experience overall. if you would like to offer more specific feedback about TGI Friday's, please feel free to contact me directly. Otherwise, we'll look forward to having you stay with us again in the future, if your travels bring you back to the...

Williamsport
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Go to your room and lay on the mattress before you check in. They are horrid. It sagged in the middle. We both ended up rolling into each other. Didn't notice it until we went to be after midnight. I Just slept on the couch. The panel on the cabinet under the sink fell off and the refrigerator didn't cool...

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne E
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear JoAnne E, Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that overall you seemed to still have a largely positive experience with us. Also, glad to see that we were able to correct the 2 issues mentioned immediately. That said, we are revisiting your specific suite to ensure that we correct the other issues mentioned. If your travels bring...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 23 April 2016

My husband and I and a colleague stayed here while on business. We enjoyed the evening reception and then headed to Main Street for some dinner after a lovely tour of the UD campus. Will stay again next year!

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I5027JTmarym
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear I5027JTmarym, Fantastic news! Wonderful to see that you, your husband , and colleague had such a great time here in Newark and at our Hotel! We'll look forward to having you back again in 2017-or sooner! Best Regards, Colin Grice General Manager Embassy Suites Newark-Wilmington South P) 302-368-8000 email) colin.grice@hilton.com

Goleta, California
Reviewed 23 April 2016

A pleasant stay, except for the deafening roar of hundreds of enthusiastic junior high and high school kids having a convention in the center court, which echoes loudly into every guest room due to the architecture of the hotel. A delicious breakfast, if you could avoid being plowed into by the literally hundereds of very enthusiastic youths that seem not...

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhillC
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear PhillC, Thank you for your positive feedback. I am glad that you were able to enjoy a positive experience with us, even if it was challenging at times with the large number of teens staying with us concurrently. Appreciate your patience and understanding. We'll look forward to having you back again in the future! Best regards, Colin Grice General...

Reviewed 21 April 2016

Stayed here one night since we had to be at University of DE bright and early the next morning. Loved the free happy hour and breakfast in the morning, although we wished the breakfast opened before 7:00 so we could have sat down and enjoyed it. Also liked that the TGIF was attached. Our only issue was that there was...

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennifersX7815TX
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear jennifer7815TX, Thank you so much for taking the time to offer your comments and feedback! Obviously, very pleased to see that you rated us so highly on many things. However, it is still important that we do what we can to improve your sleep quality experience. That said, please feel free to contact me directly when your travels bring...

Reviewed 20 April 2016

My family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights. It was the one of the worst hotel experiences. The large group of teenagers (200+) was meeting here. Both mornings we woke up to microphoned announcements at 7:30 as well as the general noise of so many people having breakfast in the atrium at once. All the rooms go around the...

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 166junep
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear166junep, Thank you for the feedback. My apologies that you and your family experienced noise and service issues during your stay. Certainly, it seems that the weekend was challenging with the large group in-house, making it difficult to realize an enjoyable experience. This is regrettable, and we will certainly utilize your comments to help guide our efforts in similar situations...

Northern Michigan
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

We stop here every year for our senior trip. We set things up with Denise and she does a fantastic job. Their staff always treat us great and we will continue to be repeat customers. In addition, the omelette breakfast is a fantastic way to feed 50 of us at a reasonable price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ramblervball
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear ramblervball, I am so happy to read that you continue to enjoy your experiences with us, and even more gratifying is to see that our Sales Manager, Denise, continues to do such a great job getting things set-up for you! We look forward to having you back again! Best Regards, Colin Grice General Manager Embassy Suites Newark-Wilmington South email)...

Hebron, Connecticut
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Hadn't stayed at this Embassy Suites in a while but thought we'd give it a shot since they had been promising good things after their renovation. We won't be back. From no towels in the room at check in (they were all in the laundry - yes...really) to getting a smoking room when we asked for non smoking this stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear Chris K, Thank you for your comments and for coming back to experience the recent upgrades to our guestrooms. My apologies that your experience was not what you expected. We aspire for all of our guests to have a comfortable, hassle-free stay and clearly this was not the case for you. Although you have stated clearly your intention to...

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
9.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
8.9 km away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
6.5 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
247 reviews
3.3 km away
Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South

Address: 654 South College Avenue, Newark, DE 19713
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Price Range: ₹ 9,342 - ₹ 18,684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South Hotel Newark
Newark Embassy Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#7 Family Hotel in Newark
#8 Business Hotel in Newark
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner rooms, farther away from the perimeter of the atrium, may be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Charlie0821, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I like the top floors away from the elevators”
 of 5 bubbles hameld, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We like upper floor. Our rooms were very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles ARust1949, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the elevator; consider floor 3 or above as often are events in the conference rooms”
 of 5 bubbles endoland, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“My fellow travelers complained of highway noise. I was on the opposite side of the hotel. Ask for a room away from the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles MWallace7803, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5