We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Mill Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Mill Inn
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 304: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Loving this quaint pub in the middle of nowhere. This place is quiet and very clean,the creaks and cracks come hand in hand with an old coach house,and for us only add to the experience. Me and the wife stayed in room 5,there's plenty of room to swing several cats,the bed was huge,and bathroom a good size too. The large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joshconnie
Bowes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second short break at The Mill Inn and was equally as good as the first. We were in the same room as before ( the largest as we had a dog) which sported a large bath which we prefer to a shower. As before the breakfasts were top notch with plenty of options and the bar meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adrianhobbs1
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Friendly staff, lovely bar, superbly kept ales and good food. I've been walking, running and climbing in the Lake District all of my adult life and somehow this was the first time I had visited the place. Our room had a great view of the fell next door and the bar was a lovely place to eat and drink. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David J
stalybridge manchester
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Well this was a christmas present of a weekend away from our children and we hgad a ball. £90 for bed and breakfast for 2 nights for the 2 of us. We arrived earlier than our check in time but to our surprise the room was ready, very clean small and cosy just what was needed. Very good choice of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daltons
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We holiday near Mungrisdale a few times a year and we have always loved visiting the Mill for an evening of drinks and tasty food. We always found the atmosphere to be warm, friendly and inviting. However, we visited in December 2016 but found the new management to be somewhat rude and unaccommodating. My hubby and his two friends ordered...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Katie W
Yve C, Manager at The Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, Katie W. We don't normally respond to TA reviews but seeing as you went out your way to leave your first ever review to let everyone know how rude I was, I thought I'd respond. At no point was I ever sarcastic...there was banter, yes, to which we all happily entered into, laughingly and jokingly....

Lancs
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We didn't stop here but ate twice whilst staying locally in our caravan. The food was just as we liked it, great pub grub, nothing fancy or pretentious just good portions and very friendly, helpful service. A large range of Whiskey if that's your tipple and several choices of local ale. We are hoping to site our caravan permanently in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank les1963
Yve C, Manager at The Mill Inn, responded to this review

Hi Les1963, Thank you very much for your lovely review of our pub. We sincerely hope that you get your caravan sited locally as we'd love to welcome you all back...the kids have the Dentastix at the ready!

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016

The pub is a classic lake district pub and serves an excellent variety of single malts and beer. The service is exceptional, everyone was really friendly, and Eve happily shared her expertise on whisky with us. The food was very reasonably priced yet of a very high standard - the fish and chips I had was perfect. We will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Rivi
Yve C, Manager at The Mill Inn, responded to this review

Hi Mark, It was a pleasure having you here and we hope to share a whisky or two with you in the future.

Guernsey
Reviewed 20 December 2016

The pub and its staff were lovely, the room was really clean and the breakfast to die for. Perfectly situated at the base of Blencathra we had several walks from there, and then the A66 is in a good location for day trips to the villages.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
Yve C, Manager at The Mill Inn, responded to this review

Hi Steve, Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed our rooms and breakfasts...we do try to feed you up for a great day on the hills!

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

After a punishing day on the Northern Fells,a pint was the order of the day.The Mill provided a warm and friendly environment with charismatic low ceilings,traditional furnishings and a roaring fire,ideal on a freezing day.The premises host accommodation which is ideal for walkers,with the fells being immediately behind the pub

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher J
Yve C, Manager at The Mill Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your pint and that the fire was there to heat you up. We look forward to seeing you again.

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We stayed in the Mill Mungrisdale for almost a week and really enjoyed it. We were put in room 6 which is quite compact for the first night and found it a bit small with our 2 suitcases. I politely asked if there was a slightly bigger room available and the staff could not have been more helpful the rest...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wannyjollis

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mungrisdale
0.0 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
517 reviews
0.0 km away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
474 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#20 of 72 in Blackpool
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Troutbeck Inn
Troutbeck Inn
#15 of 62 in Penrith
282 reviews
0.0 km away
Horse & Farrier Inn
Horse & Farrier Inn
#1 of 4 in Threlkeld
423 reviews
0.0 km away
The Royal at Dockray
The Royal at Dockray
#1 of 1 in Dockray
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mill Inn is a 17th-century country pub set in the heart of the North Lakes. Nestling in the lea of Blencathra with the Glenderamackin flowing beneath, it's a hidden gem. With 7 snug and cosy rooms for those wishing to stay along with good home-made food and real ale make it the place to be! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mill Inn

Address: Mungrisdale CA11 0XR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Mungrisdale
Price Range: ₹ 3,752 - ₹ 6,337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill Hotel Penrith
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mill Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Mill Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room one was good”
 of 5 bubbles Wannyjollis, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want a good roast lunch go elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles 122anneb, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 had a fantastic big comfortable bed”
 of 5 bubbles angus3132016, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“We are a bit disabled and found the stairs more difficult to climb this visit, but able bodied folk would have no problem”
 of 5 bubbles judith_aldous, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Great Inn for dog walkers and hill walkers”
 of 5 bubbles Paczyx, 1 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5