We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Residence Maldives

Save
Share
Falhumaafushi 2088
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!BOOK NOW, STAY LATER
Hotels.com
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
US$ 637
View deal
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2335)
Room & Suite (467)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 03/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Residence Maldives
Updated 03/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Residence Maldives at Falhumaafushi is a world away from reality. This private island resort is anchored in one of the planet’s widest and deepest atolls, its sugary white sands lapped by sapphire blue waters, its pristine reefs the exclusive playground of its privileged guests. All 94 luxury villas lie on the beach or over the water, their traditional Maldivian architecture enhanced by anything from dedicated butlers to private pools. Dining is an international affair overlooking the Indian Ocean, The Spa by Clarins the only one you’ll find in the entire Maldives archipelago...
Read more
Room & Suite (467)467
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkelling
Kids club
Free airport transportation
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Head massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Special Offer:BOOK NOW, STAY LATER

Location

Full view
Contact
Falhumaafushi 2088
See all nearby hotels
1,394Reviews163Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,183
  • 152
  • 46
  • 11
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sue82021 wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
The Residence of Maldives far outweighed our expectations. Ambiance and hospitality was beyond our expectation. We stayed 8days and all 8days was great. the staff treated us as royalties. My hubby and I fell inlove over again. Maldives is filled with love, peace and serenity.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
JaishreeLakho wrote a review Feb 2021
Jaipur, India113 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
It is quite a long journey to reach there but once you are welcomed by very hospitable ever smiling and friendly crew we have forgot the long journey. The Residence staff were incredibly friendly, kind and attentive to giving guest a relaxed and memorable time. Chaiti, Chef balram, Hafiz and few others. We had sun rise water villas with pool in each room. From our bed we could see the sun rise and ocean together. The rooms were clean and big compared to other hotels. The sea was clean we saw baby shark, stingray and many more fishes from our room jetty. The food was a good spread they made good vegetation food also wen we asked for it. The massage in the spa was the icing on the cake of the trip. I can't recommend this resort enough. THE RESIDENCE fulfilled all of our expectations and more.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundaram Meenakshi, General Manager at The Residence Maldives
Responded 17 Feb 2021
Dear JaishreeLakho, Warm greetings and thank you for choosing to stay at The Residence Maldives at Falhumaafushi. We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay on our island paradise and had enjoyed the various services and amenities we had to offer. In particular the spacious large rooms as well as the spa treatments at the only Spa by Clarins in the Maldives. Your compliments to Chaiti, Chef Balram and Hafiz for their outstanding service has been shared with them for their outstanding service. We thank you once again for your review and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, M Sundaram General Manager
Read more
Jilly D wrote a review 3 Apr
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Visiting the Maldives has never really been on our radar, simply because we didn't think there would be enough to do. How wrong we were! Yes, it is a slightly longer journey to get to The Residence Al Dhigurah but we were looked after from the second we were met at Male airport by a company representative. Hand on heart, I don't think any resort or hotel in the world has made us feel this welcome or special before now. This is all down to the wonderfully warm, genuinely kind staff on the island. Every single waiter/ waitress/ bartender, Xaviar at the dive centre, Adam at the water sports centre, DJ San on the decks, housekeeping, front of house , gardeners. Basically the WHOLE TEAM. We stayed in a deluxe sunset villa and loved it. You can choose to be as active/chilled as you wish. If you practice yoga, bring your mat and take it out onto your private poolside deck, in addition to the onsite yoga sessions. Complimentary SUPs & kayaks, a really decent gym. Incredibly quiet Jet skis, beautiful snorkelling. Each villa comes with bikes to make getting around the island easier and more fun. It was a bonus that the restaurants/ beach bars on the sister island were open too! We stayed for 5 nights in mid March and truly did not want to leave. Already planning our return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Urmil G wrote a review Mar 2021
1,060 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
Stayed at this resort for four nights, two nights in beach villa and two nights in sunrise water villa, Dhigurah...enjoyed each and every corner, every moment and every fasciitis... number one hospitality... staff serves smile with every order.. well appointed rooms with huge bathroom and private pool. Amazing view of sea and sky from every room... fast service... immaculate.... food ok ... some dishes superb...but very good spread... lots of variety of Indian cuisine... twice had food in beach bar, Falhumaafushi... Italian food, Biryani and deserts were superb... fantastic view of sea... no word can describe the beauty... My son in law and grand son went for scuba diving, they found it just out of the world. Went for sunset cruise, spotted so many dolphins. Ambiance at Beach Club was superb... great infinity pool, very happening place. Lush green to rejuvenate you..Actually it’s difficult to describe what my eyes saw and heart felt ... taking all precautions against pandemic...Carrying so many beautiful cherish able memories with me. Would love to come again and again. Only one suggestion.. should have more buggies... sometimes they take time to come.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Haider K wrote a review Feb 2021
Dubai, United Arab Emirates14 contributions18 helpful votes
The resort as a whole was nice, and the ability to explore both islands was great. However, it is was disappointing that all the facilities at Falhumaafushi (where we were staying) were all closed; something that wasn't mentioned when booking. Dhigurah appears to be catered more to families, which was evident with the children running around during Breakfast and Dinner. We were surprised that Dhigurah had opened in 2019 as the resort, and in particular The Dining Room, looked very old. It was also disappointing that the sunrise and sunset yoga held at the spa had no view of the sunset or sunrise. Seems like an obvious and missed opportunity for the hotel. We stayed in a deluxe sunset water villa with pool on the sunset. The views were great but the room was underwhelming and in need of a serious renovation. The food was TERRIBLE. It was shocking to see the quality of food being served and that the Chefs and GM accepted that level of quality to leave the kitchen and be served to guests. We ate at The Dining Room, Falhumaa and in-villa dining. We only enjoyed the food when we asked the Chef to prepare something specific as we were fed up with the food. The food was a complete let down and an embarrassment. Some aspects of the resort were tacky and not expected from a 5* resort, for example the coloured flashing lights throughout the resort at night which completely ruined the ambience. It felt like a seedy nightclub. Again, shocking that the GM is happy with that whilst walking around the resort. Most staff were very nice, with some exceptions (Namely, Javier at the dive centre, who was rude, did not engage, did not smile, unbothered, and we had to drag information out of him). Overall the resort was very nice and loved the bridge between the two islands and the castaway island in between. We were able to spot different types of fish, sharks, rays, and turtles. The bridge and the castaway island was the favourite part. However, what should have only been a 4 hour flight to Male became an arduous trip because of the internal flight we had to take which stopped in Kadhdhoo and then Kooddoo. Whilst we understand the timing of the flight is not determined by the hotel, the effort to get there outweighed the experience at the resort and we would not recommend the resort to friends.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundaram Meenakshi, General Manager at The Residence Maldives
Responded 18 Feb 2021
Dear Haider K, Warm greetings from The Residence Maldives and thank you for sharing with us your stay review. We note the feedback that you have shared in your review and regret that you had an underwhelming stay with us. As the world still continues to battle the health pandemic, the hospitality and tourism industry continues to face unprecedented challenges in returning to pre-pandemic levels with on-going safety measures and restrictions from the local authorities hence the complete Falhumaafushi dining experience was impacted as not all restaurants on the island was opened during the stay. As such, all our guests were given the option to relocate and reassign within a similar room category on the same meal plan to our sister island, The Residence Maldives at Dhigurah. The chefs and F&B team are working on revising the menu as well as relooking our supply chain for ingredient sourcing. We also regret the experience you had at the Dive Centre and we will be counselling the staff concerned. We thank you once again for your feedback as we look to improve our services and amenities during this challenging time. Kind regards, M Sundaram General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$503 - US$1,907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MaldivesNorth Huvadhu (Gaafa Alifu) AtollFalhumaafushi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Residence Maldives
What are some of the property amenities at The Residence Maldives?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at The Residence Maldives?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Residence Maldives?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Residence Maldives have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Residence Maldives offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Residence Maldives?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Residence Maldives have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Residence Maldives accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.