We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kautilya Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Kautilya Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 102: English reviews
Chivasso, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago

During my annual trip to Canterbury, CT I always book this location because I had pleasant memories of when it was the Holiday Inn Express. I booked on-line through American Express Travel, but I also called the Inn to inquire about their "renovation". The clerk assured me all the rooms on the second & third floors were completed. They told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
Kautilya G, Front Office Manager at Kautilya Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are working hard to finish up our renovations. We'd love for you to come back next year when we are fully renovated!

Lyman, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here in mid-October. I am very fussy and worried about the reviews. We had stayed in the past when the property was a Holiday Inn. Since the property is in renovations the appearance is questionable. As soon as all is done, I am confident this will be a great place. We where issued the third...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
Kautilya G, Front Office Manager at Kautilya Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 23 October 2016

Was told at 11 am no problem checking in late. Showed up at 9 pm from a wedding (all family staying at this place) and they had given away my paid room reserved 4 months ago due to some lame excuse "because I had used Expedia to book!" Also they are renovating, have no water on the second floor, blah...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Kautilya G, General Manager at Kautilya Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the issues you had at our property. Please come back and see us when our renovations are complete.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived to a group gathered around the front door smoking cigarettes & drinking beer. Not very inviting... At check in our room was tagged has "dirty" in the computer system so the front desk clerk had to run upstairs to double check our room had been cleaned & was ready. Not a good first impression & unprofessional. Once inside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ewright2013
Kautilya G, General Manager at Kautilya Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize. We are working hard to fix the issues you experienced.

Orleans, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Our company has stayed here before when A Holiday Inn. How it has changed. In disrepair due to remodeling. No pool, only 1 floor open. Telephone didn't work. No newspaper, pencil or not pad. No toilet paper roll connector-- had to reach behind toilet to get the unattached roll. No hall rugs, chemical smells due to paint. noisy until after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grandmeggy
Kautilya G, General Manager at Kautilya Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are working hard to finish up our renovations. We'd love for you to come back next year when we are fully renovated!

Winslow, Maine
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is under renovation. The rooms seemed to have been painted. The furniture was a little worn. The bed was comfy. The front desks staff was very nice. Didn't have breakfast, so can't rate it. We would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TELLITLIKEITIS04901
Kautilya G, General Manager at Kautilya Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback! As you know going through a renovation is difficult so we do appreciate our kind words!

Reviewed 10 July 2016

For starters, Kautilya Inn provides a not so expensive option in the casino county of CT. It is located off the highway, and provides a decent night stay with a morning breakfast. It is in the process of being rebranded as La Quinta Inn, What we liked - Location - Price considering other options in the area - Bathrooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shyam R
Kautilya G, General Manager at Kautilya Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are working hard to fix these issues.

maine
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Perfect ...room was spotless breakfast was very good .plenty of hot water everything was great the parking lot was well lit ,it was close to a store if we did need anything .the hotel was very quiet .great stat

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maryann74
Kautilya G, General Manager at Kautilya Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!

East Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

I came across Kautilya after I was looking at other reviews and decided to give it a shot. What caught my attention was that it was 20 min from Mohegan and Foxwoods. Initially I booked the 'King Suite' through Groupon. Once I got there, we upgraded to a whirlpool jacuzzi room, even though it was a queen bed instead of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penny0323
Kautilya G, General Manager at Kautilya Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your review.

Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We stayed one night at this hotel primarily because it had a pool and good reviews, and it was a mess. When we arrived, the receptionist couldn't find our reservation so we waited for an hour in the lobby with antsy children. We finally get a key to our room and when we open the door, the room was completely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gn2125
Kautilya G, Front Office Manager at Kautilya Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are working hard to fix these issues.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plainfield
0.2 km away
Quality Inn Plainfield
Quality Inn Plainfield
#1 of 3 in Plainfield
33 reviews
9.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold
32.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 km away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
21.0 km away
Comfort Suites- Norwich
20.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Kautilya Inn & Suites

Address: 18 Pratt Road, Plainfield, CT 06374 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Plainfield)
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Plainfield
Price Range: ₹ 7,648 - ₹ 10,220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kautilya Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kautilya Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Plainfield Hotel Plainfield
Holiday Inn Plainfield
Plainfield Holiday Inn Express
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kautilya Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Winslow, Maine

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Kautilya Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles grandmeggy, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“My husband smokes so we were on the top floor but it was very nice”
 of 5 bubbles maryann74, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“The king suites are nice and spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles Imagecatcher, 5 Jun 2014 | Read review
“The 3rd floor seems to be very good”
 of 5 bubbles deambassador32, 26 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Just not 218 unless you like to hear water run while you are trying to sleep !!!”
 of 5 bubbles DolphinQueen79, 4 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay