We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Beach Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 109*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 123*
US$ 109*
Great Deal
US$ 123*
US$ 123*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

419 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 364: English reviews
Start your review of The Beach Hotel
 Click to rate
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were celebrating my mom's 84 th birthday, by taking her out to the dinner at the Beach Hotel. The evening setting ,overlooking the beach front was delightful:) On entering the main dining hall we were warmly greeted and on hearing it was my mom's birthday, she was given a small bottle of bubbly. She really appreciated the old fashioned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eljaype
Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We expected a lot from this hotel and we were disappointed. We had booked a superior room but we found it to be dark and not having a good aspect. The area is also a little scruffy and the beach was not anything to rave about. Although the staff were very friendly, this is not a hotel that I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DPALTON
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and support. It is always great to hear back from our guests and get fresh perspective. Your points have been noted and will certainly be addressed. Kind Regards

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely spot. A great place to see the business of the beachfront and still enjoy a quiet eating experience. The breakfast was lovely but the service is a bit slow - we had the salmon scrambled eggs and the were very good. Nicely prepared.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 365giannad
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Family, Thank you for your review and support. It is greatly appreciated. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us and will en-devour to increase the speed of service on the Verandah. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in the Beach hotel from Tuesday 2 May until Friday the 5th. The only part of our stay I enjoyed was the Ginger restaurant and the selection of cocktails. Our rooms had a funny smell in them. I made use of the laundry facility, but an item was missing upon return. Unfortunately it was my word against the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martjie L
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel, I am truly saddened to hear of your experience. It is by no means the ethic we try and instill in our Beach Family. Your points raised will be dealt with and corrective action implemented immediately. Thank you for your insight and support. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Reception was curt but not welcoming. No info on times for breakfasts, restaurants and booking process for e evening meals etc. Left to hunt room 22 ourselves. Thanks to other staff who rescued us and showed us to our room. Room was deffo not one you expect from 4 star more like 2 or 3 star. Ate at ginger restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CardiffKaz
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel, Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations with regards to your time spent here with us. The issues raised will certainly be dealt with and improved upon. Wishing you safe travels. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Accra, Ghana
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was there for the ironman race and the event was held facing the hotel so the location was perfect for us. Breakfast was pretty diverse and staff was always around to make sure we had what we needed. Coffee was immediately served. Location was perfect for us as it was directly in front of the race location

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ZiadOrfali
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings fro The Beach Family, Thank you for your kind review and support. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Rochester UK
Reviewed 19 April 2017

This hotel has seen better days! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was as every where in South Africa very filling. Our room was booked for a sea view room, long in advance but we had a side room with the air conditioner not working properly on the first night. There were no other rooms available apparently!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omar K
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings fro The Beach Family, Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that your stay did not go as planned. We as always appreciate the feedback and will best rectify areas of concern. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Belfast
Reviewed 15 April 2017

This was booked as just an overnight stop at the end of the garden route prior to going onto Kariega game reserve. We did not have any great expectations but we're happy with the large and comfortable room which had good sea views. Interesting to see all the preparations for the Iron Man challenge the next weekend. Dinner in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caggyot
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings fro The Beach Family, Thank you for your kind review and support. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff are friendly and the rooms are lovely, room 44 is particularly nice, with a little sitting area and perfect sea views. The hotel is right next to the board walk Centre, and just across from the beach. There are plenty of restaurants around but the Verandah in the hotel serves lovely food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings fro The Beach Family, Thank you for your kind review and support. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 11 April 2017

I stayed here for two nights. There is good and bad about this hotel, hence I gave it overall average score. The location is great, right across the beach, and next to the Boardwalk. Most of the staff were friendly. The size of the room was fine, but the decor and furniture was just dated and should be changed very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abongile S
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel Family, Thank you for you review and valued feedback. We will certainly take your opinion in good light and rectify issues raised as best possible. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
1:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
1.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.2 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
150 reviews
1.5 km away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beach Hotel is one Port Elizabeth's finest family hotels, situated on Port Elizabeth's magnificent beachfront, directly opposite Hobie Beach and next to the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Center. The Beach Hotel combines splendid service with quality accommodation, stylish cuisine and facilities for a perfect family holiday, business trip or relaxing getaway. The stunning four-star hotel offers homely comfort in its 58 spacious, en-suite bedrooms, some with stunning sea-views and others opening onto the tranquil courtyard. Guests are spoilt with choice, offering 3 onsite restaurants to suit everyone's palate. Enjoy a relaxing environment, sipping a cocktail white overlooking the ocean at The Verandah restaurant, or indulge in our famous buffets at The Crest. Resident foodies will love the fine dining cuisine at Ginger, voted one of the best restaurants in Port Elizabeth; it is definitely a must. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Beach Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Price Range: ₹ 6,747 - ₹ 9,926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#8 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Although we were booked in for a sea view room on the first night it was on the side and the air conditioning was not working efficiently”
OmarK971, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room with a sea view”
Caggyot, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are lots of hotels on the strip - stay away from this one.”
Thedoc999, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were in rooms 1 & 2 which were fantastic.”
Johnandpam103, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A strong recommendation to stretch your budget and get one of the front rooms. A view of the ocean right from inside my room (room #3).”
RobertFromTheStates, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 109* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 123
Hotwire.comUS$ 123
Agoda.comUS$ 109
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates