We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth

Hotels.comUS$ 107*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
Start your review of City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
 Click to rate
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have stayed here regularly and am never disappointed The reception is always a pleasure and the staff really make you feel at home. Rooms are top class and well appointed. Excellent value for money in a perfect location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles J
CLHG_PR_Consultant, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

It is always lovely to read great reviews from guests who visit us time and time again and please accept our most sincere thanks for your continued patronage of the City Lodge Hotel Group.

Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Been at the hotel several times before, and does not disappoint with location, staff, rooms and professionalism. Unfortunately my room, bathroom specifically, had a bad odour. Rest of room was fine. Wifi reception great with 15Mbps synchronous Internet access

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouisBerg
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

We are so pleased to learn that you are a regular guest of ours and do hope that we have the pleasure of your company again. We are sorry to hear of the bad odour you endured during your stay, we hope you won't have to experience such again.

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We stayed here for one night after touring the Garden Route, before going to a safari lodge. We were amazed to find our hotel full of people in lycra, pushing bikes into their rooms. We had arrived on the eve of the Iron Man competition. Despite being incredibly busy, reception staff were excellent. We were waiting for a message from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newforestpat
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Well placed accommodation on the beachfront of PE. Walking distance of all the major beaches as well as good restaurants and the boardwalk complex. Hotel management were very courteous and accommodating. Breakfast was decent with good selection.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank justingI1664UA
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

We are absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities.

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Great hotel,Friendly Staff and awesome breakfasts.Unfortunately my 4 am wake up call to be inn time for my flight never happened and thus I missed two flights - One out of PE and my linking flight later on. Management did contact me and I am awaiting outcome of these extra incurred flight costs. One persons lack of giving service and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trevor312564
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. While we are pleased you liked the hotel, the friendly staff and the breakfast we offer, we are really very sorry to hear about the wake-up call, which certainly had a knock-on effect on your travel schedule. Please accept our sincerest apologies - we hope this matter can be fully resolved through your contact...

Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Having stayed in hotels all over the world for work, this hotel is amazing value. Room is exactly what you need for business trips, nice desk and office chair and plug points with local and international sockets. Mirrors in 3 places including where a plug is for women and hair!!! Bathroom has separate shower and bath, great shower head. Lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela d
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as our breakfast offerings; and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves on! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Reviewed 7 March 2017

Love that I get to stay so close to the beach when in PE and this hotel overlooks the beach front when you are in the lift on your way to breakfast Can get a bit noisy sometimes, during peak periods but other than that the hotel staff are helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yoemna E
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves on! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night this week for business and had a very good experience. Hotel is well located, rooms are well appointed, and the staff helpful and warm. My only gripe was the quality of the fitness room, which clearly needs some attention. The aircon was, for example, not working, which made for an unpleasant workout. Other than the fitness room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Justin. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves on! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Pinetown, South Africa
Reviewed 6 February 2017

I spend time at this establishment every year in February twice for business. I have yet to be disappointed. Room as always was well maintained and clean. I had supper in the Cafe one of the evenings and was pleasantly surprised by the food. Very good. No need to go anywhere else for supper if you are looking for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elize K
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

It is always lovely to read great reviews from guests who visit us time and time again and please accept our most sincere thanks for your continued patronage of the City Lodge Hotel Group. We are pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and are glad to hear that we met your expectations. Thank you so...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We always stay at this Hotel be it visiting family or for business. The rooms are perfect for our needs with free wi-fi available The staff are always friendly and the food and beverages are reasonably priced. Shop around a bit when booking as big discounts are available from various agencies and airlines.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlanPretoria
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
1.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.2 km away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
150 reviews
0.1 km away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#14 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.5 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
419 reviews
0.4 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel has a swimming pool for those hot summer days as well as a fitness room and a small meeting room for guest use. It is across the road from Humewood Beach, within walking distance of many restaurants, 500m from the Oceanarium and Boardwalk casino and entertainment area. The hotel is 8 minutes from Port Elizabeth’s CBD and 10 minutes from the Port Elizabeth Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth

Address: Cnr Beach and Lodge Roads | P O Box 13352, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Price Range: ₹ 5,322 - ₹ 8,628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Port Elizabeth Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Hotel Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Cape Town Central, South Africa
9 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They offer smoking rooms for smokers. Some rooms have seaviews / limited seaviews.”
elizek2014, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor is best”
795ginos, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 16 right next door to the fitness centre”
VickyTrix39, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Be careful about the food you are eating in the hotel.”
dillipd2013, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“sea facing rooms a must”
Nazeemf, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 107* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$ 253
Orbitz.comUS$ 108
Expedia.comUS$ 106
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates